We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice lodge”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ben Lui

Ben Lui Log Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ben Lui Log Cabin
Fully equipped kitchen Stylish open plan living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Ben Lui Log Cabin
Fully equipped kitchen
Stylish open plan living
Lovely cosy atmosphere. Logs £15 (1-2 nights) £25 (3+ nights)
Sliding doors onto the balcony
A glass of wine on the balcony?
Beautiful, light and airy main bedroom with double bed
Comfy sofa and flatscreen TV/DVD
Bathroom with electric shower
Cosy triple bunkroom - great fun for kids.
Comfortable and practical living for couples and small families
Freshly painted inside and out in May 2013. A shed for your bikes and lots of new wood stores!
Beautiful situation amongst the trees
Quiet and peaceful
Spring morning by Loch Awe
Dalavich Oakwood Trail - miles of remote hiking
Tranquil shores of Loch Awe only 50 yards away
Loch Awe from the Munro, Ben Lui
Kilchurn castle
End of a good day's fishing
Rural and picturesque village of Dalavich
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Loch Awe, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
olchowska...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice lodge”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the property for a week in july 2016 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The log cabin is equipped with all you need for a comfortable stay and prepare your meals.
We stayed there with our 15months old doughter plus 4 adults dog and a cat ;)))
We enjoyed our holiday over there!!!! All good organized by the owner!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace and the garden
Liked least: Midges haha
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeace20...
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
1 review
“cosy well equipped,nice location”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

great log burner, pub shop and bike and boat hire a short walk away, nice forest walks nearby, only downside was the Midgies, and the guy next to us doing major construction work on his cabin, the noise was so bad ,hammer ,saw ,drill all day, that I went a long walk to escape it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fishing, log burner,
Liked least: midgies ,construction noise
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tharaka A
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and explore Loch Awe”
Reviewed March 2, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the property for two nights towards end of February, 2016 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The log cabin is equipped with all you need for a comfortable stay and prepare your meals.
The property can be reached both from Oban and Taynuilt and both are scenic routes. We visited Oban and Kilchurn castle on our way to Ben Lui, both places are not far away from log cabin. The surrounding area has many walking trails to explore and a beautiful water fall.
Owner Matt provided us with all the details and maps, that was very helpful for us to plan the trip. We will come back again, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaOD201...
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location. Cosy & homely accomodation.”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cosy & homely cabin with everything you need in gorgeous location with lovely views. All local people lovely, friendly & helpful. Great spot if you want peace & quiet. Lovely walks & bike trails on doorstep. Great base for visiting Oban, Mull, Glencoe & Ben Nevis mountain ranges & Fort William. Will definitely be visiting again & would recommend to anyone else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location & cabin
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissLou19...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I visited Ben Lui in June to get away and relax for a weekend with my boyfriend and my dog. We weren't disappointed. With a car loaded with lovely food and drinks we easily found the lodge using the map provided by Matt.
The lodge was very well stocked and the log burner heated the room up very quickly and again there were very helpful instructions from Matt.
We used a couple of the laminates provided outlining a few of the walks in the area (again very helpful).
We are already planning on going back and I would love to visit in the winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and value for money
Liked least: spiders in the lodge!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipperju...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing little cabin.”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had such an amazing time in Scotland and what made it even more amazing was the cabin and it's location. It was in a very quiet part of Loch Awe with a lot of wild life to look out for. Our 2 children absolutely loved it, when ever we were out exploring and looking around they were always excited about getting back to our little cabin home, as my 3yr old boy would call it. We will definitely be going back. Thank you Matt for being helpful with our Scotland holiday. Very stress free.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinasandy...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“relaxing”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

my family had a great time i was worried that the grandkids would be bored without the usual holidaythings like swimming pools and hotel entertainment but they loved it in fact they have asked to go back kids aged 9 &10 i would totally recommend the cabin home from home would have given holiday 5 stars if club had been open

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: club not being open
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing