We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful views”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cosy loch-side cabin in the midst of lacustrine splendour.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
45 reviews
A cosy loch-side cabin in the midst of lacustrine splendour.
Bedroom #1
The fog lifts off the loch
Sheltered porch
One of the many views from the cabin
Avich Falls Trail
Lochside footpath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Loch Awe, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Rebecca G
Letham, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awe....”
Reviewed September 21, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

There are a few highlights - kitchen modern and upgraded - sharp knives, and half decent pots and pans. The view is amazing!

That's really where it ends for me. The cabins garden was boggy and had litter strewn in it (old log bags, bits and pieces of plastic) the hot tub was set in the garden, but I am glad we didn't pay for it's use - it really looked as if it would fall to pieces. The cabin is not as isolated as it is advertised, rather it is in a holiday cabin type place... where you can hear the neighbours conversations, and I'm pretty sure they could hear us too. The decking and outside wooden parts of the cabin were rotting and moss covered - very slippery. The main area of the cabin is double glazed, but the bedroom and bathroom aren't - feels a bit damp and dreigh to be honest.
It just looks like it needs a bit of love and attention really. Decorated and loved. I feel that it is very overpriced for what it is. It could be something absolutely amazing with the money people are paying to stay there, a little investment of that money into the cabin would pay dividends.
We were booked in for 6 nights, but have come home after 4. It did say in the cabin to rise complaints before you left, but to be honest, there was nothing Irene could have done to improve our stay. I don't think we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 29, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mel S
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The peaceful heaven”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stunning landscape in the middle of beautiful forest. You don't need anything else.The cabin has got essentials and it's cosy and comfortable, tidy and clean. The Village has got Shop/Post Office/Cafe and Social Club/Pub/Restaurant with friendly staff and good food. The whole feeling of the place is exceptional. Take a deep breath and just relax. You can discover plenty of historical places and if you miss the town, Oban is nearest 'big city'.
I'm coming back this year for one more week;)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
Thank you so much for your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth C
2 reviews
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed May 13, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great location for fishing. Everything you need on the doorstep. Cafe, restaurant, pub, shop. Fantastic. Will definitely book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2017
Glad to have you back, Peter!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lisa D
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice getaway”
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Kilchurn log cabin is not luxury accommodation and does not claim to be.
As for the other reviews the bed has new mattress and the sofa has been replaced
We had a three night stay and enjoyed it very much
It is basic but cosy with a wonderful view.
However be prepared to bring loads of logs as the hot tub takes two bags to heat it for one day.
Irene who sells the logs charges £7.50 a bag but if you stop off at the garage before you turn in to Dalavich they sell the same size for £4.50.
Then of course you will need more logs for the wood burning stove.
The walk to the hot tub from the bottom of the steps could be paved better as it is just rubble (very sore on the feet and uneven)
The price we paid in total for the hot tub alone was £60 then you pay Irenes husband another £10 to heat it for your arrival this includes two bags of logs so any day after that you will need two bags of logs for each time you heat it, i suggest you do it in the late morning as it takes around 5hrs to heat.
The only thing that was exhausting was the seven and a half mile drive on the single track road to get to the cabin, you really are in the middle of no were.
Would stay again but it was a bit far out from my home.
Lisa

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: the price of the hot tub.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing