We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a lovely place, quiet, a lot of nature and...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Strae Cabin

Strae cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Strae cabin
Strae interior Strae interior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Strae cabin
Strae interior
Strae interior
Strae from burn
Strae kitchen
Strae
Strae veranda
Double bedroom
Strae floor plan
Loch shore near cabin
Loch from village marina
Loch Awe at sun set
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Loch Awe, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sowhat357
Schagen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a lovely place, quiet, a lot of nature and wildlife, real chilling”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have a very nice week in the cabin, nice people in the neighbourheid, lots of wildlife. Much to see in the surrounding. Good cup of coffee with Wild Rowan ( Bryan and his wife) in the Shop. Nice dinner in the Loch View Bar. The cabin is lovely. The weather was nice,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the silence and the nature, and the nice people in the neigbourhoud
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travw18
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dirtiest place I have ever been.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I have just returned from a 4 night stay at strae and am so disappointed.we drove 15 hours and arrived an hour and a half early and the place looked like it hadn't been cleaned. I took photos and spoke to m.ment who sent the 'cleaner' over. She then made a very embarrassing phone call to another cleaner in front of me saying-she says it's dirty and got photos! It had already been cleaned! They cleaned again as we were going back out but when we came back they had literally only cleaned the things I had stated. The pluga and walls have a build up of dirt . There was food under the sofa, used toilet rolls left,dirty smears on mirrors, sofas,chairs. I had to clean the fridge and cutlery tray,there was even a mug with tea left in it! The most disgusting place! When I spoke to m.ment again he was very polite but did state you can't expect a self catering cabin to be pristine. Actually I do when im a paying customer . also we had to spend alot more than expected on eating out as kitchen was so dirty. Such a shame it could be so nice if it was clean

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2014
Guests arrived 3 hours earlier than check-in time and cabin had only been part cleaned from previous guests, who left that morning. Guests were given access to cabin on their request, as they had had a long journey. An attempt was made to complete cleaning after arrival but there was a limit to what could be done as guests had already unpacked.

We are surprised & a little upset to receive a bad review as a result of this, as early entry was on guests request.

It is also worth pointing out that we received complaints from neighbouring cabin guests regarding the fact that our guests let their dog roam free (and foul) on adjacent properties. Our House Keepers had to clear up dog mess and also had to remove 3 dirty nappies from kitchen bin.

We hope future guests will see this review for what it is. It can be clearly seen from other reviews that this is a lovely, clean cabin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilhen01
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy, Clean, Comfortable”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Cabin was clean, well equipped, easy to heat and comfortable - bed was fantastic. Location was not the best due to noisy construction nearby but this didn't affect us too much. Overall a very enjoyable weekend. Loch is a sweet smaller version of its majestic cousins nearby.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 17, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind review. Apologies for the construction work, contractors were installing new drains, which is now complete. Since your visit we have done further improvement works to cabin, including works to kitchen and bathroom. Hope to welcome you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL1234567
Stevenage
1 review
“Fantastic break, forest walks, fishing, boating and exploring the lake then back to BBQ next to a babbling brook”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 for a stay in August 2011

Had a great few days here with my teenage son, some friends and their dog. Cabin set back in forest next to a lovely stream. Cabin accommodation is everything you need as well as being comfortable and clean. We spent time walking in the forest tracks away from the lake , building dams in the steam, fishing in the lake, boating over to the ruined castle on the island, relaxing on the balcony listening to the stream and forgetting about work!

A great break away from it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Drive home
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammish M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cabin in magical place”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was a proper cabin in the forest experience, with nature all around us. Kids & dog loved the forest, loch and burn by cabin & discovered the joys of the great outdoors. We had regular day time visits from Red Squirrel and a multitude of birds and night time visits (worth waiting up for) from Fingers the beautiful Pine Marten. Seeing the Ospreys at the nest at Mackenzies Grove was a real treat also. So much to do and see here, will be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Forest surroundings
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Br00...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Strae cabin was quite a disappointment. The main issue was the lack of cleanliness; we had to clean the majority of the kitchen equipment prior to using it, drawers/shelves etc were dusty and dirty with bits of food on them, windows had fingerprints and dirt across them, kitchen cabinets dirty with peeling wallpaper. It all just felt a bit grubby and rather unloved.
The second issue was the kitchen utensils; there aren't many options for eating elsewhere with the local community bar only open a few days a week and yet the equipment came across as having been picked up from a car boot. Bed linen was stained, carpet worn, sofa uncomfortable, lights broken.
As had been said previously, there were numerous similar comments in the guest book to the same effect. I did contact the owner on returning to give them an opportunity to address the issues, but got the same response about it being 'rustic'. He said it had had a full clean a couple of weeks prior; obviously very different standards. There's just no interest in improving it.
The location was very nice, quiet, lots of wildlife. The one hour round trip each day to get to the main road and back did become a bit of a drag but I guess that's what you have to expect if you want to be somewhere on the remote side.
Just a disappointment, it wouldn't take much to improve the cabin, just a good clean and some new equipment, we weren't expecting a palace! Just a shame there's no interest from the owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2015
Cabin has had extensive upgrade (still kept it's charm) since this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susannah...
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best holidays that we have ever had.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The five of us fitted very snuggly into Strae cabin. My eldest son loved the bed that is built into the lounge ceiling. The location is lovely, right on the edge of the forest, plenty of wildlife and the burn to watch. Loch Awe is beautiful, we hired a boat and had a great day out exploring the island with the castle ruin. We also hired bikes for 3 days, there are some fantastic traffic-free tracks along the loch and through the forests. My husband managed these with a tag-along attached to his bike. The social club is very friendly with quiz night and live music weekly. Also the bar and grill produced some unforgettable meals. We were very lucky with the weather, only having one really wet day followed by glorious sunshine when the boys swam in the loch. All in all, this was a brilliant holiday, we are thinking of returning one day which is unusual for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Bathroom gets rather damp.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing