We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best holidays that we have ever had.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Strae Cabin

Strae cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Strae cabin
Strae kitchen Living / dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Strae cabin
Strae kitchen
Living / dining area
Veranda
Double bedroom
Loch shore near cabin
Otter can often seen in burn
View from burn
Pine Marten on veranda at dusk
Loch from village marina
French window opens onto veranda
Red Squirrel are common here
Loch Awe at sun set
Swan on loch
Books, games & DVD's
Triple bunks
Shower room
Floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Loch Awe, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dave_Br00...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Strae cabin was quite a disappointment. The main issue was the lack of cleanliness; we had to clean the majority of the kitchen equipment prior to using it, drawers/shelves etc were dusty and dirty with bits of food on them, windows had fingerprints and dirt across them, kitchen cabinets dirty with peeling wallpaper. It all just felt a bit grubby and rather unloved.
The second issue was the kitchen utensils; there aren't many options for eating elsewhere with the local community bar only open a few days a week and yet the equipment came across as having been picked up from a car boot. Bed linen was stained, carpet worn, sofa uncomfortable, lights broken.
As had been said previously, there were numerous similar comments in the guest book to the same effect. I did contact the owner on returning to give them an opportunity to address the issues, but got the same response about it being 'rustic'. He said it had had a full clean a couple of weeks prior; obviously very different standards. There's just no interest in improving it.
The location was very nice, quiet, lots of wildlife. The one hour round trip each day to get to the main road and back did become a bit of a drag but I guess that's what you have to expect if you want to be somewhere on the remote side.
Just a disappointment, it wouldn't take much to improve the cabin, just a good clean and some new equipment, we weren't expecting a palace! Just a shame there's no interest from the owner.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2015
Cabin has had extensive upgrade (still kept it's charm) since this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susannah...
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best holidays that we have ever had.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The five of us fitted very snuggly into Strae cabin. My eldest son loved the bed that is built into the lounge ceiling. The location is lovely, right on the edge of the forest, plenty of wildlife and the burn to watch. Loch Awe is beautiful, we hired a boat and had a great day out exploring the island with the castle ruin. We also hired bikes for 3 days, there are some fantastic traffic-free tracks along the loch and through the forests. My husband managed these with a tag-along attached to his bike. The social club is very friendly with quiz night and live music weekly. Also the bar and grill produced some unforgettable meals. We were very lucky with the weather, only having one really wet day followed by glorious sunshine when the boys swam in the loch. All in all, this was a brilliant holiday, we are thinking of returning one day which is unusual for us.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Bathroom gets rather damp.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry L
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bit tired - needs an upgrade...”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Be prepared for the 15 mile trip there and back when leaving the site to go anywhere, allow 30 mins each way for this at least.

There is no mobile coverage for a number of networks, so please do not count on that.

The bedding and furniture is uncomfortable and requires an upgrade.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The view from the Lodge.
Liked least: The bedding and furniture needs replacing as it is old and uncomfortable.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2013
Thanks for comments. The 30 minute drive from Taynuilt is extremely beautiful and is what makes this a remote, quiet, unspoiled location. Orange and T Mobile reception is poor in the area, granted. Other networks generally good however. We prefer to think of the cabin as rustic, with real log cabin charm. Whilst we wish to retain this feel for the cabin and not create a contemporary chalet we have undertaken numerous, recent works, including installing new flat screen TV / DVD, new heater to living area, replacement flooring, decoration and replacement kitchen utensils and pans.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achillies...
1 review
“Escapism....”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

if you want to escape from the world - this is the place to be....no traffic, other than the deer crossing the road n the ospray flying overhead....wonderful setting in the forest/wood for the cabin and a two minute walk to the loch.
If you're lookin for luxury - look elsewhere.! The cabin
is basic and is in need of a little tlc and updating but does the job in hand. All in all, a lovely stay - thank you

Date of stay: July 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
788debora...
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really disappointing”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived late at the cabin, and the owner very kindly waited up to give us the keys, so service was good. The cabin itself was very disappointing... It wasn't very clean and decor was basic and outdated. Heating was impossible to turn on with no instructions anywhere. The guestbook was filled with similar issues, so this has been addressed, but no action taken. Having rented the cabin for one night when having friends visit Scotland from abroad, it was very disappointing. The location, whilst being nice enough, was not remote. There were a number of cabins in a very close proximity so it didn't feel secluded at all. We traveled 2 hours (one way) off track to get to this property hoping it would be a charming, secluded cabin. As a place to crash for one night, it sufficed, but had we signed up for any longer, we would have requested a refund and left. We were 3 adults, and it was a squeeze. It sleeps 5, but even two adults for any longer than one night would have been uncomfortable. Value for money was... poor.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing
Liked least: The decor and size of the cabin.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2013
I'm sorry you were disappointed with the cabin. You claim it's décor is outdated but we prefer to think of it as rustic and most of our visitors find it very charming. With regards to the location / seclusion we wish to make it very clear that our web site is very specific (including a map of site) about location of other cabins, which are some way away and face in different directions. We assume that guests have read about our property or asked all appropriate questions before booking. With regards to size I would point out that this is a "cabin" (not a chalet or lodge) and by definition is somewhat smaller.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise B
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our stay at Sloy cabin with our dog was just what we needed for a complete week of rest...”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Sloy cabin offers you a well planned compacted accommodation for a week away from home...the kitchen is fully equipped for basic cooking...a bleach spray is always good to travel with and due to the compact size is quickly taken care of.

Well rested and a little fitter after our stay, bike hire is a must to explore the hidden area and beauty of this little part of the world.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoors is truly beautiful
Liked least: Some element did not appear to be very clean
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson_1
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Comfortable, Clean and great Value”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from 4 nights in the Strae cabin at Loch Aweside Holiday Park and thoroughly enjoyed the break. Booking was simple, access was as easy as knocking on Irene's door and picking up the key and we weren't disappointed. In our opinion the location on the park was perfect - just away from the water front enough to avoid the breeze, away from the playing field for a bit of privacy and not buried in the woods and the constant 'twilight' - we had an open view across the stream, plenty of light and only 200 yds from the waters edge. It's also one of the few cabins with it's own fire pit which really made the holiday for us - you just can't beat marshmallows toasted on the open fire.
Size wise the cabin was perfect for the four of us with a comfortable double bedroom and bunk beds for the kids (11 +14) with another two bunks available for when they fell out! Everything in the cabin worked as it should (TV, DVD, heaters, showers etc) so no complaints there but in fairness some elements could do with an update. The couch had seen better days in terms of comfort and the cooking equipment was only just capable of feeding four hungry mouths - sharp knives and some bigger pots would make a difference - especially as there's aren't really any option of eating out within a 10 mile radius. Anyway - the benefits far outweighed the slight niggles and it didn't spoil the holiday for us.
Make sure you stock up before you head down the 14 ml single track from the main road as the shop in Dalavich only has 'emergency' supplies like biscuits, pot noodles, ice cream and alcohol - no bread or milk !! Plenty of supermarkets in Oban but a great butchers and grocery store in Taynult which has all you really need!
There are some nice walks through the forest straight from your cabin door and the rental also comes with fishing rights for Loch Awe (from the site only).
All in all it was great value for money, a comfortable, cosy cabin in a great location both in terms of the site and the location on Loch Awe - brilliant scenery all around, a peaceful setting and plenty to do.
We will certainly go back to the same cabin again and as mentioned - one or two upgrades would make all the difference !

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location / Value for money
Liked least: Kitchen equipment, sofa !
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing