We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic hosts, location, views and food.”

Review of La Portette

Beautiful, spacious living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful, spacious living room
La Portette Home made tarts to delight.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Beautiful, spacious living room
La Portette
Home made tarts to delight.
It's snowing outside......
... but it's cosy inside.
Romantic four poster bed in this huge suite in the oldest part of the house
Romantic four-poster bed
There are 4 big sofas in the large living room; sink into them and relax
Roche de Mio, one of the high points of La Plagne.
Snuggle up around the log fire in the living room with a glass of wine
View from the balcony: Mont Blanc at sunset
Wisteria outside the family suite in spring
Powderfield above Montchavin
Bright and friendly twin room. All our bedrooms have stocked bookshelves
Fairy-tale wooden beds
Curtained savoyard wooden beds - kids love them
Double bedroom with wooden four poster bed and traditional wooden walls
Double bedroom with amazing views of Mont Blanc
Small double bedroom with beamed ceiling in the old part of the house
Montorlin from above, walking home via the footpath through the trees
The living room has 2 grouped seating areas: this one faces the TV, DVD player and gamestation
The dining room is down 5 steps from the living area, with huge windows looking out at amazing views
Part of the large living room. with sofas grouped around the log fire
The balcony in summer is a great place to chill
Armchairs in the family suite
Mont Blanc
North Face of the Bellecote
Sunset over the Alps
Les Arcs
Traditional Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Montchavin, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chandana
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, lots to do, nice chalet but problems with facilties”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

La Portette has been a farmhouse since the 17th century if I remember correctly what Lisa told us and it has been converted into a large chalet with a superb lounge dining area with great views of the Mont Blanc. Lisa sent us relevant maps of how to get there and it was easy to find, in a traditional village and not a souless ski resort. As we were a large group we had the entire villa to ourselves and had opted to do our own cooking. Lisa showed us all the maps of the area and also told us about a traditional Festival in a village on the other side of our hill and how to use the Vanoise Express to get there. Lots of books, DVDs etc as another reviewer also mentioned. However our stay was beset with problems with electricity as well as the main oven was not working ( a small compensation oven was left given as a back up) and did not work during the duration of our stay. We had asked Lisa to cook us the first evenings meal and she did not charge us for it as compensation for oven not working on the day we arrived, assuming it will work from Monday. We arrived on a Saturday and had electricity outages incl the refrigerator ( although luckily no food ws spoilt) from Wed or Thurs. Then the hotwater went in all the bathrooms and kitchen except the en suite on the ground floor. Eventually we just decided to leave a day earlier. Lisa was very apologetic and on her own offered compensation, however that has not gone beyond that as she has not been in touch even though we have emailed her. A pity, as we really liked the place and them. From reading the other reviews again, I figured that most guests have their food cooked for them and also during the peak season in winter Lisa and Andy live very close to the Chalet and so it is easier for them to handle any problems. I have put in a 3 star as that's how it worked out for us. However I would still recommend to a friend as it is a great location and the Chalet is nice for a big group and of course the price was very good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, Lisa's inputs on a local festival, driving up to the Grand Routes des Alps
Liked least: Oven not working, frequent electricitny outages, no hot water from day 5 of holiday
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests and are very sorry that you had a less than satisfactory stay.

We are aware that you experienced problems with the house during your week’s self catering let. Thank you for your patience with us during your stay as we worked to sort them out! And thank you also for the many positive things you have said in your review.

The problem with the water heating was fixed on the same day it was reported: an electrician was called out who quickly identified and resolved the issue. This was the same issue that had caused the electricity to trip the preceeding day. This must have been very inconvenient and we apologise unreservedly.

The oven proved a more stubborn issue as the part required took over a week to arrive, for which again we sincerely apologise.

I am extremely sorry that these problems affected your stay; holiday time is very precious and we deeply regret that yours was in any way spoiled. I have since been in touch with you directly to agree a satisfactory outcome. (Your original email was not ignored, but was must have been lost during a short period when our host server was down at the end of August).

Personal service is our speciality and we hope that our guests, old and new, will understand that sometimes circumstances conspire. We will always do our best to resolve all problems raised quickly and effectively - and also, wherever possible, ensure no problems arise!

Liza and Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levento1
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hosts, location, views and food.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Liza and Andy are the nicest people you can meet. They made us feel at home and enjoy our stay. The dinner Lisa was excellent and my wife can't stop talking about the cake she baked. The views from the dining/sitting area is breath taking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Friendly welcome, food, views.
Liked least: The room we stayed, although larger didn't have the views the double bedrom had.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2013
Thank you so much for such positive feedback. Andy and I are enjoying our summer business which goes at a slower pace than winter and allows us time to have leisurely dinner conversations with such interesting guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe111
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay - can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My partner and I stayed in this chalet for a week at the end of the 2012-2013 ski season, and had a fantastic time. The chalet is located in Montorlin, a traditional farming village, which is a far cry from some of the ugly ski villages up in Les Arcs or La Plagne. We loved the comfortable style of the place, with big sofas, free wifi, a massive library of books, DVDs and music, and stunning views from the balcony down into the valley. Liza and Andy made us feel very much at home, and went out of their way to help us out - nothing was too much trouble. The food was also excellent. All in all, it was a wonderful week, and I can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The excellent service and relaxed, homely atmosphere
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faye M
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A great way to start the New Year, staying at La Portette and Skiing”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Just wanted to share our experience of La Portette. I found Chalet via the Alistair Sawday guide and everything that was mentioned in the book was true and more.
Liza was extremely helpful with all the bookings, dates, and managing to fit our friends in at the very last minute with a little bit of juggling. Liza organised all our ski passes which is also a great service. Ski's were fitted on the afternoon we arrived so we were ready to ski the next morning. No downtime.
Once we arrived the visit was made even better on a daily basis with the fabulous Tom and Natasha, the Chalets host and hostess. They truly were a fantastic team, and could not do enough for us.
Part of the service that La Portette offer is the drop off service to the Telecabine. This is just the best, and when you finish at the end of the day, just a quick call to Tom and he is with you very quickly. Just in time to have a quick drink before falling into the van!

The Chalet is very comfortable and perfect for just chilling out after a day of skiing. The meals prepared by Natasha and Tom were delicious.

We had not ski-ied this area before but we loved it and will definitely return to the Montchavin, Belle Plagne, Les Arc next season and also look forward to returning La Porttette.

Thanks again for a great stay,
Faye, Dean

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2013
Dear Faye and Dean, thank you so much for your kind words, and we've passed your thanks on to the super team of Tom and Natasha too! Hope to see you here again, maybe with your motor bikes in the summer.
Liza
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreyPound
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grandchildren view "Best Christmas Ever!"”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

From the initial enquiry to departure transport to the airport, nothing was too much trouble for Liza and her team Tom and Natasha. Liza was able to arrange Airport Transfers, Ski Lessons, Ski Passes, Ski Hire and Creche facilities, all at best price. Having Ski fitting at the Chalet, and pre-booked Ski Passes, meant we could go straight to the Piste on day one of our holiday without any delay. The Chalet was superb, set in a traditional French village, which with snow at Christmas was truely magical. In our extended family there was a mix of a new born baby, toddlers and the Grand parents. Tom and Natasha catered with some excellent meals for all our group and showed friendly professionalism with appropriate humour that made us all feel really welcome.
In order to provide a sense of balance I tried to consider a downside. I found it difficult and any minor negatives were massively countered by the warm hospitality and genuine concern for all the guests wellbeing and enjoyment, shown by our hosts. I would recommend with confidence.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Snow and Hospitality
Liked least: Transfer time traffic (took 4.5 hours instead of 2 hours)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, and I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We all really enjoyed sharing Christmas with you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belsele, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Reviewed July 29, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great hosts, good cooking, beautiful house & great environment
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
grimsby
Reviewed March 16, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed atmosphere, delicious food, spectacular views.
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$45
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing