We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place lovely people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfivor Surf Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfivor Surf Camp
Certificate of Excellence
HITCHIN, HERTS UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

First time at Surfivor camp and all i can say is its the best!! really laid back, really nice team the make you feel at home straight away. Rooms are nice and clean BBQ was excellent breakfast was nice, loved the yoga. Whether your a beginner or looking to improve your surfing you cant ask for better people to be with especially with Nic,Eduardo and Simon i've learnt loads many thanks.
Espinho market is defiantly worth a visit its huge. If you get the train to the camp from porto make sure you have euro coins as they wouldn't take notes in the machine, 4 euros all the way to Esmoriz with a change at camapnha. Sara met me a the station shes really lovely and soraya at the camp they both are really cool and really helpful thank you both x Paul Wilson UK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulWilson_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I don't often write reviews however, this surf camp is awesome. My friend and I had such an amazing time. It's good value for money and only a short transfer from Porto airport. Porto is a beautiful city and can recommend the Port tasting! The accomodation was excellent with only a short walk to the sea. The surf camp is in a great location with a selection of quiet beaches to choose from. We got to meet new life long friends. Good local bars and restaurants. Finaly the owners and staff made us feel so welcome and their local knowledge of the surf was excellent. We are going to go back as soon as we can! Finaly, stop reading this and go book your surf trip with Surfivor!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank u2cstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've had already severals stays at Surfivor Surf Camp and each of them was really unique and special. The surf courses are always well structured and the teachers are fun and really experienced. The beaches and line-ups are almost empty, so that there are enough waves for everyone to catch. The rooms are really neat and clean and you always feel welcome and at home. It is a perfect place to meet a lot of nice and laid back people, enjoy nice waves and weather. In between the surf sessions, you can chill in the backyard of the camp or go on a trip to Porto or visit the market at Esphino.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie-Belle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had a perfect stay at the Srufivors, the Staff is supersweet and like a family, the Breakfast is huge and good, the dorms are basic, but what do you need more when you have the atlantic and the surfing?!

I liked the familiar flair, for there are "only" 20-somewhat beds, a nice garden to hang our, beach right in front of the house, nice beach bar, tiny local shops around for your basic needs. The travel from Porto (Airport) is fast and cheap. Surfivors offer a Pick-Up Service from the train Station to the Camp.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank KaetheM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vastervik, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you are looking for a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, this is you place. I have personally visited Surfivor Surf Camp every year since they opened mayby 10 years ago, and it just keeps getting better and better. This may be the best surf camp in Portugal!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TomasBovinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Piemonte, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The first time that I went in Surfivor surf school I had been impressed from the unique impostation that Miguel and Soraya, give to the structure of the camp. Is a nice and well come mix between a nice hostel and a gorgeous holyday with friend in a villa near the sea.
Is a place where single, group, family, couple and any kind of turist or surfer could feel themselves really at home: the athmosphere is everydays like a evening summer party and that's formula is the best to facilitate new meeting and friendness.
The surf lessons are, at every level, a high quality degree, the attention fore the beginners are really detailed and the explanation are deepen.
All the surfers can receive the best technical support for board, wetsuite, maintenance and trasportation to catch the best wawes of the season.
The country around is full and rich of spots that permit to surf everydays in good condition and the teacher are capable and qualified to improve your personal level with good council and personal correction.
Esmoriz is a nice little town, with all the facilities, nices and cheaper restaurant, but never full of people and turist: very quiet, big beach clean and never crowd, local surfers everytime frienly and cool.
But the best quality of the Surfivor come from the two owner: Miguel and Soraya. They give to your trip, a nice touch of warm wellcome, helpfullnes for every things and an active work to create a perfect athmosphere in the camp and between the guest, tireless and frankly loving they are able to create the perfect mix for every kind of guest you are.
In my experience of surf camp (this is the seventh) is the best condition that I never find.
This is the reason because I come to Surfivor for the third time and next year I will have the fourth.
If you love surf or if you want to try it for the first time, If you like an international and friendly experience in a nice spot, with nice beach in a country of lovely landscape, good food, wine and coffee, this is the place good for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This summer I have been at surfivor surfcamp for the 4th time! My girlfriend, some friends and I have spent a fantastic week of surfing and relax! Nice waves, people from all over the world, fantastic BBQs and nice and professional teachers for beginners.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martino P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esmoriz
4.7 mi away
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Ce...
#7 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
6.1 mi away
Furadouro Boutique Hotel Beach & SPA
3.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Solverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel PraiaGolfe
Hotel PraiaGolfe
#2 of 2 in Espinho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
13.8 mi away
Surfivor Porto Surf Hostel
0.6 mi away
Watermark Surf House
Watermark Surf House
#2 of 5 in Esmoriz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfivor Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfivor Surf Camp

Property: Surfivor Surf Camp
Address: Rua Pero de Alenquer 555 | Praia De Esmoriz, Esmoriz 3885-607, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Esmoriz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Esmoriz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our classic Surfivor Camp since 2004 is located in the small fishing village of Esmoriz, just 25 km south of Porto. Esmoriz is an amazing surfing community with a beautiful sandy beaches and quality waves for every level, surrounded by friendly people with a true passion for surfing. Here you can enjoy the quietness and the perfect beach front location, only a stone throw away. The town of Esmoriz has a variety of typical Portuguese restaurants that serve delicious fish and seafood and there are several beach bars, cafes and little markets within walking range from the Surf Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Surfivor Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfivor Surf Camp Portugal/Esmoriz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing