We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a Place to Sleep”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodlands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Erindell Villa Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Woodlands B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 16, 2007

Without doubt, our 4 days with Shirley and Lou Spycalla at Erindell Villa Guesthouse in Montserrat were the most relaxing, enjoyable and uproariously funny days of our recent 3-week visit to 5 islands in the British, Dutch and French West Indies.

At our request, Shirley kindly arranged transportation to and from the airport as well as a rental vehicle which was brought to us at Erindell. With the "loaner" cell phone that Shirley & Lou provide, and the rental vehicle, we had the tools to be independent, but the Spycallas' charm made it difficult to tear ourselves away to see their beloved island. Shirley is a born entertainer -- a terrific raconteur, writer of prose and verse (both musical and otherwise), and a gifted musician. Lou's creativity shines in his wit and in the culinary arts. (We're told he has talents at the pool table and the golf course as well, but we did not witness these!)

The Erindell website (www.erindellvilla.com) advertises "Resort service at a B&B price" and this is absolutely true. Some of Erindell's services are, quite appropriately, fee-based (e.g., dinner). But through their making travel arrangements, volunteering to do laundry, chauffeuring people to a restaurant dinner and late-night visits to the Volcano observatory, etc. Lou and Shirley provide their guests the greatest possible gift -- the gift of their time.

For us, any future visit to Montserrat will be based on room availability at Erindell Villa.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank CCDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Erindell Villa Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 43 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2007

I went on a short 2 day visit for business and liked the island and people so much I'm taking my wife back soon. Shirley and Lou, owners of the guest house were the perfect hosts. They
know all you want to know about the island and I would encourage anyone to stay with them.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank omossjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2007

Thanks to both Shirley and Lou for such a great time over new year... it seems such a long time ago, but realy not so far. As I said at the time, as well as being a wonderful experience, I learned so much as well, about the island, the people, politics, you name it... and had a few good beers, some diving, nice walks, got beaten badly at pool and had great food. Not to forget seeing that great big old volcanoe do its thing. Well, it looks like it has quietened down a little since New Year - I'm glad for all of you for that.

Erindell is beautiful and peaceful place, and a great base for exploring the island... and it's thanks to Shirley and Lou.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jibberjabberbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

This was my first vist to Montserrat. A friend and I went there to operate HAM radio and compete in a world-wide competition. Lou and Shirley were excellent hosts. They let us put up our antennas where we wanted and even got permission from the neighbors.
Lou and Shirley made us feel right at home during our week long stay. Lou is an excellent cook. It was nice to have many things like a great breakfast, free laundry and periodic use of the internet all included in the price. It was a great visit. I recommend Erindell.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CQ-DX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

A warm and welcoming place. Lou and Shirley are warm and friendly hosts. In addition to their friendliness you get loads of information and advice on how to navigate your stay on Montserrat.
Montserrat is a beautiful, quiet, peaceful and safe Caribbean island,
highly recommended as your island destination.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jsergio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Oslo, Norway
15
Reviewed July 12, 2006

I was on my first trip to the Caribbean with my dad in May 2006, and we lived at Erindell for the whole stay at Montserrat. My father had told me alot about both Shirley and Louie, since he has been at Erindell once before. I was absolutely stunned by their kindness and warmness. They open their home to you, like you're a member of their family, and they do everything in their position to make you comfortable.

One of my greatest memories has to be the lovely breakfast, where Lou serves a big variety of breakfast, including fruits and coffee. Shirley's ghoststories is also very interesting. Montserrat is full of history, and Shirley for sure knows alot about it.

I recommend this place to everybody, either you're a first-time traveller, or have been to the caribbean before.

I'm for sure comming back!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus, Ohio
16
Reviewed June 12, 2006

This was my 4th vist in 7 years and I've stayed with my Montserratian family, Lou and Shirley, each time. I have always felt at home. Their warmth is exceptional. My love for Montserrat and my recent land purchase are, in part, a product of their hospitality. Thank you, Lou and Shirley!!

John Paulson, Columbus Ohio

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Erindell Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erindell Villa Guest House

Address: Gros Michel Drive, Woodlands, Montserrat
Location: Caribbean > Montserrat > Woodlands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Woodlands
Price Range: $55 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erindell Villa is a delightful little guesthouse with a large swimming pool. It is nestled among colourful tropical gardens in Woodlands, Montserrat - the "Emerald Isle of the Caribbean". Renovated in 2009 thanks to the Montserrat Tourist Board’s Challenge Fund Grant, we are close to the volcano observatory, bus routes, Woodlands Beach, hiking trails and the village of Salem. Each fully-equipped room features a private entrance, two comfortable twin beds with Simmons Maxipedic mattresses (can be made up as a king bed), a private shower with hot and cold water, iron, ironing board and hair drier. Our complimentary services and amenities include a hearty continental breakfast served ANYTIME, a basket full of snacks (for stays of two nights or longer), a bowl of fruit, sodas and juices, unlimited tea and coffee, maid service, laundry service, Internet access, long-distance calls via Skype, all linens and towels, beach towels, beach mats and beach umbrella, snorkeling gear and a cell phone for your personal use. There’s no catch – it’s all free! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing