We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night to forget”
Review of Hotel Elite Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Elite Inn
Ranked #67 of 86 Hulhumale B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hi! we decided to stay in this hotel because was close to the airport and cheap. We had to overnight there so we could catch our resort transfer the next day. I checked the reviews in booking and there were pretty good so we booked it. One day before our arrival, I asked the hotel how to go there by public transportation. They offer to pick us so I gave them our flight information. When we arrived to the airport, no one was there. After being waiting for a while... a man came and said he was from the hotel, that he has to bring us there but there are just 5 taxis in the island so we have to wait. After being waiting, he said we should better go by bus (15 minutes far away). So we drove by public bus to the hotel. When we arrived, the manager gave us the bill, he charged around 40 euros for our "transfer". We were so tired that we did not want to argue so we agreed. We tried to pay by card but the machine was not working so he asked for US dollars. We are coming from Europe so we said, we just can pay in EUR. He said that he will checked the conversion and he gave us a price. We thought that was way to much but we wanted to check the conversion so we paid and went to the room. During the night we checked and we saw, he cheated us in the conversion, so when we wake up, we asked for him. The other employee said the manager is not there. We had to leave so we do not loose the transfer to our resort. Unfortunatelly we could not get our money back.
The hotel itself it is not a hotel at all. it is in the middle of no where, so forget to find a restaurant, ATM, supermarkt... nothing at all.
The room is small, dark and not isolate against noisy.
I just want to forget that night and the bad experience that we had. For sure, I do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lluchmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 74 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were quite surprised to get a room without a window at the Elite Inn. We didn't expect much from the location as we were warned before. It's still one big construction site, well interesting to see that other part of the Maldives. We were surprised that there were hardly any foreigners around.
Apart from the son of the owner the staff was pretty unfriendly and hardly spoke any English. Breakfast was just some toast and a boiled egg. Rooms were smelly, which was being covered with air purifiers and our room had no windows which was explained to us with the fact that we had requested two single beds and that the Maldivian government doesn't offer that option. We survived for the one night and appreciated the vicinity to the airport the next morning. Would not return.
We really liked the "iBerry" cafe around the corner; great food and just so friendly people working there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Firstly I must say that the staff we dealt with were friendly and tried to help where possible. The issues started when we checked into the room:
1. There was a clump of pubic hair in the toilet and hair in the shower suggesting that the toilet was not cleaned before we got the room.
2. There was rubbish and old slippers(?) under the bed as well as a good measure of dust.
3. The fridge was not a "minibar" and was in fact not even switched on.
4. There were no coffee or tea making facilities in the room as advertised.
5. No windows. There is a however a door(?) leading to a small balcony and had old cigarette buds in an ashtray on the balcony wall.
6. The "sattelite" TV has 4 channels. Two indian channels, a sport channel and a news channel
7. There is construction all around the hotel so was noisy from contruction in the area all day until late.
8. The Elite Inn does not have a restaurant and has to order food from a restaurant from somewhere far away. (We could not find any restaurants on the island). The food was overdone and tatsteless so may be worth going to Male' for dinner.
9. The hotel is far from the Male' ferry so needed to get a taxi each time to and from the ferry.
10. We waited about 45 minutes in reception at 07:00 before we saw staff. When I asked where the reception staff was I was told they were sleeping.
11. The breakfast is not a la carte as advertised and is basically 3 slices of bread, some apple, jam, orange juice and your choice of coffee or tea. We didn't even bother with breaksfast the next day.
12. Only certain types of taxis are allowed between the island and airport and the hotel uses Airport Express which will cost you $16 return. Be ready for this hidden cost. These taxi drivers drive recklessly without any consideration for their passengers and our driver nearly had a head-on collision while driving 120 km/h in a 40 km/h zone.

This hotel is far from everything and is not value for money. It is really worth spending a bit more and going to the aiport hotel with easy connections to the airport and Male'.

Room Tip: We had the corner room 202 and was horrible. There is a small random window (the only window) near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Salix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Ok for a few hours, but if you are going to stay, the rooms are tiny wee boxes, staff very sweet, I stayed 5 hours, cried when I arrived. You get what you pay for. No pool, no restaurant, rooms with no windows eeeeek,

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirisydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Arrived late at night by Malaysia Airlines from Kuala Lumpur. Hotel representatives wait for us at arrival hall gate. Transfer to hotel by taxi provided by the hotel. They served welcome drinks and cold tower. Check In was smooth and our room located on the same floor with the lobby which is on the 1st floor.

The room was small with attached bathroom. All amenities was provided but the view from room was not good. Whole area of Hulhumale was new and the area was so quiet and a lot of construction works going on. Pressure in the bathroom was great.

Breakfast was adequate but not good. Transfer to Seaplane terminal was using mini bus which is no air conditioning. Overall, this is the cheapest place that i got for a night stay before flying to Hilton.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Putraskyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A very good transfer hotel, Although it's not so big.The hotel owner is friendly and try his best to make our stay comfortable. A deluxe room may be a better choice. Complimentary WiFi is available in room.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincessSerena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Анастасия А
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hulhumale hotels
0.3 mi away
Fuana Inn
Fuana Inn
#9 of 11 in Hulhumale
89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
0.2 mi away
Planktons Beach
Planktons Beach
#2 of 11 in Hulhumale
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Express Inn
Express Inn
#33 of 86 in Hulhumale
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberry Inn
Iberry Inn
#55 of 86 in Hulhumale
38 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel UI Inn
Hotel UI Inn
#2 of 86 in Hulhumale
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elite Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elite Inn

Address: Nirolhu Magu, Hulhumale 00960
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hulhumale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hulhumale
Price Range: $40 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elite Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 3-minute walk from velana Beach in Hulhumale City, Hotel Elite Inn offers rooms with free Wi-Fi access. It provides water sport facilities and can arrange for activities such as fishing, diving and island hopping trips. The hotel is an 8-minute drive from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport. Fitted with tiled flooring, air-conditioned rooms feature a flat-screen TV and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Elite Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elite Inn Hulhumale, Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing