We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My room on top of the Hulhumale inn was great”
Review of Hulhumale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hulhumale Inn
Ranked #33 of 78 Hulhumale B&B and Inns
nyc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My room on top of the Hulhumale inn was great”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Loved the room, my own penthouse with a terrace fan and ac at the Hulhumale Inn.
Everything new and my bed was filled with roses as I arrived from my travel agent Ruth, Secretparadise.com. The staff was great especially the young smiling sweet breakfast man with the biggest "good morning" I have ever received.

Room Tip: My room faced the front of Inn. I believe it was 304 so 204 would be great too. I did not see other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth F, Executive Travel Consultant at Hulhumale Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay at Hulhumale Inn. Whilst perhaps the description of our Deluxe room as 'penthouse' is a slight over statement I am happy to know that this is how the room made you feel and that is obviously important. It is also pleasing to know that the team were friendly and welcoming and I will ensure your comments are shared with them.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    35
    16
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
33
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Maldives is a very colorful country, the white seas and spectral colors of the crystal clear water accent the vibrant blues and greens of the buildings, cars and streets, but what really made our experience on this fabulous isle filled with all sorts of color was our stay at the Hulhumale Inn.

At first glance, it is what is offered on the front door: an Inn, however, when given a chance, it becomes much more substantial. The rooms are cozy and practically furnished, giving a homely feel, there is a constant internet connection and a terrace with a kitchen open for even the latest of midnight snacks; all this seems basic and mundane and why anyone would want to be reminded of home when on vacation is a good question; I point all this out because what makes the HI a special place are the people working there.

Yes, while the Inn doesn't offer a shower with 17 different shower heads or a water bed or a swimming pool (though why anyone would want a swimming pool in the Maldives or why that much luxury is required is beyond me); what they provide as people is priceless. The staff of the HI have helped us on a countless number of occasions; Zaheen managed all of our bookings from snorkeling to island-hopping to any other excursion we felt like going on complete from when we left to when we got back. They even arranged it on the short notice of an hour beforehand with a smile on their faces. After we went snorkeling, as it was our first time, we were almost bedridden with exhaustion and it was getting late and we still weren't fit enough to go get dinner; Sobah, the operation manager, ordered food for us and then Pasha (I think that was his name, everyone seemed to call him that), I'd call him the guy who serviced our rooms but he was resident do-everything guy as
he cooked and cleaned and ran errands, even took it out of the styrofoam boxes and arranged it on plates before delivering it for us.

What impacted me most was how much effort they put into fixing the exhaust fan of our en suite bathroom. It stopped working during the evening hours and instead of dismissing us or saying they would get someone the next day to have a look at it (like most hotels), they got a multiple number of technicians to have a crack at fixing it. Unable to fix the problem, they apologized profusely and said they would arrange for some air fresheners to be placed. They went beyond the call of duty and they genuinely cared, and that's all you can really ask for.

I must acknowledge the shortcomings of the HI, as most of the world's problems are a result of people pretending like the problems don't exist. While the breakfast took a while to be prepared and there was loud construction work going on, there was a notice saying sorry for the noise, present at the front desk. As for the slow pace of the breakfast, if there is one thing I have come to know about the people of Maldives is that they are simple and slow paced but they lead a stress-free life; while we foreign urban creatures of speed thought they were slow, they were perfectly on time according to themselves. The whole point of visiting a foreign country is to learn new cultures and lifestyles and see how diversely people live elsewhere. If you are on vacation and you need to hurry, you aren't on vacation.

Moreover, they invited us to evening tea; the tea was great as it really displayed that the HI was more than a group of people who worked at a temporary housing establishment, it was a group of people who had become a family and they offered their home and hospitality to all those willing to stay with them. I send my utmost thanks to Ruth and Zaheen and Sobah and Pasha and the other members of staff I unfortunately never managed to step out of my anti-social bubble to ask their names for making this one of the greatest vacations I've ever been on.

-Shaheer Khan
17 year old son of Dr.Iftikhar Khan
Stayed in the Maldives from the 29th of December 2013 to the 1st of January 2014"

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikhan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth F, Executive Travel Consultant at Hulhumale Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your exceptional review after your recent stay with us. It is nice to see that you have captured beautiful memories during your stay with Hulhumale Inn. Your valuable and encouraging comments will certainly motivate the team to continuously strive for excellence. Our goal is to ensure that guests who stay with us feel like we are their home away from home, which I can see in your review is what we've achieved. I will share your comments with the team and I am sure they will be happy to hear it. Hope to see you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We are living in the Maldives and had an early flight from Male plus a late arrival a week later. As the seaplanes are unreliable with their timings and only fly during daytime, we decided to book this hotel. We can highly recommend it, mainly because it decreases your stress levels during holiday. Everything was arranged perfectly and in a timely manner from the airport pick up to wake up calls, breakfast etc. The staff is very friendly and communication streams via email go quickly and efficiently. Cost is very low, but don't expect international 5* amenities. You get the basics you need for a quick overnight stay, so perfect for transit but maybe not for a full holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joerivanderwees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth F, Executive Travel Consultant at Hulhumale Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments it is pleasing to learn that you were satisfied with our communication, transfers and services provided. I will ensure your comments are shared with the team. We enjoyed having you stay with us at Hulhumale Inn and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Nothing special there. When I was there there was a water problem, noise from the repair. The breakfast was below average. The WiFi didn't work in my room. The staff were friendly but that's it. The beach is close by but the area were the hotel is somehow dirty. Perhaps this hotel is good for one night but if you plan to stay for long not a good idea. Spend more money and go to a nice resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth F, Executive Travel Consultant at Hulhumale Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for providing your comments following your recent stay at Hulhumale Inn. It was unfortunate that you arrived following our unscheduled water leak. The emergency repairs which we limited to the hours of 9.30am - 5.30pm could not be delayed, details of which we highlighted in reception. I understand from reception that you had been unable to sleep during the afternoon due to the noise from the workmen and for this I apologise but as I'm sure you will understand it is not normal circumstances. All repairs are now complete and normal service has resumed so to speak!
Regarding breakfast, as a small establishment, we are unable to offer the range that would be found in a large hotel or resort, however, I believe that fresh fruit, cereal, eggs cooked your liking and toast provide a balanced start to the day, we also try to offer traditional mashuni and roshi when available to us.
WiFi is accessible throughout the property and if I recall correctly I did highlight to you personally that the signal strength is strongest in reception and on the terrace as we were discussing why we had to have three separate pass codes.
Finally to comment on your feelings of the area being 'dirty' it is fair to say that local islands are not as pristine as the resort islands, Local islands in the Maldives have only been open to tourists for just a little over 2 years and i can confidently say that the environment has improved greatly in that period of time and I'm sure will continue to do so. The benefit of staying on a local island for many is that it makes the Maldives far more affordable and whilst there is room for improvement local island tourism should not be compared with resort tourism.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope that you will return to the Maldives in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hulhumale hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
ooty
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Recently I stayed with my family here. It was good hotel. The staff were friendly, especially the Bangladesh guy . There is no lift facility. But good for a transit.or a 2 day stay. The beach is very near by. Indian Restaurant is also near by.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajeshooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth F, Execuive Travel Consultant at Hulhumale Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Hulhumale Inn and thank you for providing your comments.
As most buidlings on Hulhumale can only be built to accomodate a maximum of 5 floors and most like ourselves are 4 floors, there is actually only one guesthouse on the island that offers a lift facility, however, as you are aware we do offer ground floor rooms and our team are always available to assisit with luggage.
Our aim is to provide our guetsts a comfortable and friendly stay and I'm glad to haer that you were made to feel welcome by the team, I will ensure your comments are shared with them.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you once more in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

we have spent only one night in this small and kind hotel, stopped in Hulhumale by a storm.
The room was nice and clean, moreover they have prepared us breakfast at 4:00 am!!
Perfect for reaching the airport by the free shuttle provided by the hotel

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank annamaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth F, Executive Travel Consultant at Hulhumale Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Despite Hulhumale Inn being an unscheduled stop for you on your visit to the Maldives it is pleasing to hear that we exceeded your expectations!
Thank you for providing us with your feedback, I will ensure it is shared with the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Easy transfer to /from airport , High standard rooms , all mod cons and in heart of 'real' Maldivian area , many shops and cafes close by and beach round the corner. Ideal for short stay or base for local activities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth F, Executive Travel Consultant at Hulhumale Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments of your time to provide us with your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hulhumale Inn and that our services and facilities met your requirements. I will ensure your comments are shared with the team. We hope we can welcome you again to our guesthouse in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hulhumale hotels
0.1 mi away
Koamas Lodge
Koamas Lodge
#31 of 78 in Hulhumale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dreams Arena
Dreams Arena
#20 of 78 in Hulhumale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Harp Beach Maldives
White Harp Beach Maldives
#18 of 78 in Hulhumale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eve Caurica
Eve Caurica
#17 of 78 in Hulhumale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vista Beach Retreat
Vista Beach Retreat
#5 of 78 in Hulhumale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rivethi Beach Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hulhumale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hulhumale Inn

Property: Hulhumale Inn
Address: Nirolhumagu, Plot 10487, Hulhumale 23000
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hulhumale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Hulhumale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hulhumale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the developing island of Hulhumale just a 10 minute taxi ride from Male International Airport, a 20 minute ferry journey from the capital city Male and a few steps away from a white sandy beach, Hulhumale Inn provides an ideal base from which to explore the capital area of the Maldives. Whether your stay is an overnight transfer, a business trip or a budget holiday, every effort is made at Hulhumale Inn to ensure guests feel at home and are offered the essential requirements for a comfortable and pleasant stay including, 24 hr tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water and internet access. Guests can take advantage of experiencing life on a local island whilst enjoying a wide range of water sports including scuba diving, wind surfing and water skiing. Adventure packages, day trips to close by local islands and resorts, snorkeling excursions, fishing trips and BBQs can all be arranged. So whether you are looking for a vibrant city trip or a relaxed beach break Hulhumale Inn can provide your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hulhumale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hulhumale Inn Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing