We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for its price”
Review of Fuana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fuana Inn
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hulhumale
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK for its price”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

In overall, hotel is okay for its cheap price.

Pros
1) good service by the reception,
They waited outside hotel and greeted us with welcoming drinks
2) wifi in lobby and room (a bit weak)
3) in front of a clean beach
4) value for money
5) comes with a balcony!!

Cons:
1) room is old fashioned
2) airport transfer took 30mins waiting time

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arien Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    37
    11
    9
See reviews for
4
41
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kulim, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Transit hotel. They arranged for the transfer which cost us USD16 per person. From the information counter, I gathered you could get the public transport that passes by for USD1, so that was a bit of a sore point for me. However, the room was ok, sheets were clean and the view was quite nice, although trees were blocking the sunrise. Only complaint I have was the lack of blankets. We obviously could not leave the windows open and had to turn on the air-conditioning which worked just fine. The blanket was basically the bedsheet. When we asked for additional blankets, we got another bedsheet. Still, can't complain much for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Needless to say, try to get rooms facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We decided to stay here for one night since we arrived at Male (Hulhumale, to be exact) around 11pm local time and our boat transfer to the resort was the next morning. A decent budget hotel. 15 minutes away from Ibrahim Nasir airport. Clean room. Clean toilet. Located in front of public beach. Nice view I would say. They served continental breakfast, chicken porridge also available. Everything else is ok, the only thing that made us puzzled was we had to pay 30USD for deposit, i think? It was our mistake for not asking about it when we checked out but somehow, they didnt return the money back either. So dont forget to ask what exactly you're paying for!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syazzy_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Since we were arriving at Male International Airport (also called Ibrahim Nasir International Airport) close to midnight on our Singapore Airlines flight, we had decided to spend the night at a local hotel and then go to the Holiday Inn Kandooma resort next day.

Searching through Tripadvisor and Hotels.com, I came across this small hotel approximately 15 minutes from the airport. For 1 night, I would definitely advise all visitors to stay on the same island as the airport rather than in Male. You would have to take a ferry to the city and even though its a very short ride, it still is not worth the hassle.

After arriving at the airport and clearing Immigration, we exited to the airport lobby where all of the hotels’ and resorts’ representatives were holding signs. We located our hotel representative and were instructed to wait till he had found all the other guests. Well that turned into a long, boring, 45 minutes wait.

Then exiting the airport, we wait for another 45 minutes for hotel transportation to arrive. What we later found out is that the hotel doesn’t operate its own bus but rather arranges some public bus to operate on its behalf. Well the bus showed up late and I was already cursing for choosing this hotel. We were the absolute last hotel guests to leave the airport premises.

All the apprehension kind of went away after we arrived at the hotel. It is right on the beach where the sound of waves would drown out even the noise of jet engines !! Check-in was very quick, even with eight couples all at once, and we were shown to our room.
This is basically a 3 story hotel with only 4 rooms on each floor. The rooms are pretty small and only have very basic amenities. For an overnight transit hotel, I would still rate it as exceptional. Remember, you shouldn’t compare it to a resort but rather judge it on its merits as just a place to sleep for say 8 hours.

Thumbs Up:
Location. Location Location. It is in a quiet, safe neighbourhood, right opposite to the beach. There are some other hotels listed on Hotels.com/Expedia that had much worse locations than this one (either in a run down area or not close to water). If we go to Maldives again, I would stay at this hotel just for this reason.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Seeing the staff you get the impression that they really wanna make their guest’s stay memorable. Even though everyone knows that guests book this property usually for one night only.

Water pressure in the bathroom really good. Plenty of hot water available.

Thumbs Down:

Uncomfortable bed. It was creaking all night.

Really crappy choices at Breakfast. The orange juice tasted like soap water mixed with concentrate.

Amateur arrangements for transportation to hotel from airport. If someone is charging 16$ / person for a 10 minute ride, they should at least have their own transportation where they don’t leave you at the mercy of a third party. We had to wait 2 hours at the airport because the hotel shuttle didnt show up.

No amenities supplied. Not even a new soap or shampoo or conditioner. We had a soap in the wash basin that looked like it had been used by previous guests.

For pictures check out my blog http://www.milespointstravel.com/2013/03/11/hotel-review-fuana-inn-hulhule-island-maldives/

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room with balcony at 2nd floor and above. They have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mypointstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My friend booked this Inn for a night, not knowing that the beach is a public beach which does not allow wearing of bikini. Hence, we paid her for the stay and decided to stay there for the day before our flight while she booked another hotel elsewhere.

We had problems checking in as the manager wanted to charge us USD $56 more for additional person as in the booking my friend select one person. We shown him that the price stated in Agoda was the same for 1 or 2 persons but he couldn't be bothered and said it was their policy to charge any extra person. He was really unkind and nasty, and told us to either pay up extra usd $56 or one of us can only stay in lobby and not go to the room. We got pissed off and decided to get another room in a hotel next door, even though we need to pay more in the end. We checked with the new hotel , and there was no policy for extra person, whether 1 or 2 persons is the same price for the room.

Fuana Inn is one of the worst accommodation I have ever been. My advice: Avoid at all cost !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jzsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hulhumale hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe room for a night before heading to the resort, because my flight was late. This place is just ok for an overnight stay. Ther room should have been cleaner and tv didnt function. However,the best part is the morning. You will wake up with Maldivian sunrise. Opposite this inn is a local beach which is a good introduction of Maldivian beach before heading to the real paradise. Breakfast has nothing special. Staffs are nice and helpful.

Room Tip: A deluxe room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Not too far from the airport with the coastal highway, this is the only island in Maldives where you can get by car. Great for overnight transit stay compare to Male where you need to take a ferry. My flight arrived at night and the resort pick up will only come at 6am for pick up. Cab from hotel to the jetty is around USD3.00
Hotel has a good service. Do not expect much on the room.. just a basic room with hot shower and AC.

Room Tip: Get the beach front room. Worth paying a bit extra with a view of the magnificient sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IcebergMelting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulhumale
0.1 mi away
Planktons Beach
Planktons Beach
#2 of 11 in Hulhumale
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
0.1 mi away
Coconut Tree Hulhuvilla Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Airport Beach Hotel
Airport Beach Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hulhumale
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Point Inn
Point Inn
#8 of 11 in Hulhumale
5 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kaafu Inn Guraidhoo
Kaafu Inn Guraidhoo
#1 of 2 in Guraidhoo
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuana Inn

Property: Fuana Inn
Address: Hulhumale' Beach Road Plot No.10107, Hulhumale
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hulhumale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hulhumale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fuana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Fuana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuana Hotel Hulhumale
Fuana Inn Hulhumale, Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing