We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple hotel, great service”
Review of Hotel Telemark

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Tania
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Telemark
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in La Tania
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple hotel, great service”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed at the Telemark earlier this month with our four year old. As other reviewers have said, yes the hotel rooms are basic, but they do have everything needed in them. They're functional and clean, what more do you need if you are outside skiing all day and only sleeping in your room?

The service received from David and everyone at the hotel was however not basic, with David going out of his way to get 'fresh' milk to make our little girl very happy. He also helped her practice her French every morning (which was good as it was our excuse for her not being at school that week). We really felt vey welcome in the hotel. There's a good selection of food on the menu in the restaurant and the food was absolutely fabulous. There's also free wifi in the rooms, the location is great, a short walk or ski to the slopes with the guys in the ski room fitting us out wonderfully with all the kit we needed. We would really recommend a stay with David at the Telemark and we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherW595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just arrived from my week long stay at the Telemark, which was without a doubt one of the most fantastic stays of my life.

To start the food was absolutely divine. The hot breakfast option is always a nice surprise as there is something different every morning, to get you started for the day ahead. The dinner menu was put together very well all week, with every meal being a delight to eat. All the Chefs were very creative in their takes on classic dishes.

I stayed in 2 rooms during the week, both of which were warm, welcoming and well equipped. Room no.8 is ideal for families or groups of between 5-6.

The location is fantastic with a 1min ski down to all lifts going out of La Tania. Also on the Folyeres run down from Bouc Blanc, you can cut through and literally ski within 20m of the hotel itself.

Overall all the staff at the Telemark were incredibly friendly and helpful, making the stay even more enjoyable.
Cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Room No. 8 is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to the Hotel Telemark in La Tania. The greatest benefits of the hotel, in our opinion, are - (i) the superb staff (ii) the quality (and quantity!) of the food - especially evening meals and (iii) the location - only 120 steps (I counted!) from the ski-locker door to the Folyères piste. If you are looking to make maximum use of the huge range of pistes in the Trois Vallées and if you are happy with relatively basic accommodation - but excellent value, then the Telemark may well be the hotel you would want. If, however, you want 5* luxury, plasma tv in your private lounge, spa bath, 24 hour room service etc in the wildly expensive resort of Courchevel then this is not the place for you!
Other reviewers have commented on the limited bathrooms and we agree with these judgements - a relaxing bath would be very welcome at the end of the day - but there is always plenty of hot water to help you unwind before happy hour in the bar/lounge where Doug or Becks or Jade or Violette etc will mix your favourite cocktail!
Without exception the staff at the Telemark led by Dave are superb and they are always determined to try to meet your various needs as well as offer tips and thoughts on the local ski facilities. The personnel in 2014 had changed from 2013 but it was very encouraging to see that the same levels of care and consideration had been maintained. Nothing is too much - be it a late request for a ski-service, a special meal or a "taxi" ride to and from Le Praz to avoid waiting for the ski-bus on a very snowy Wednesday night.
Every breakfast has a hot option eg: scrambled eggs on toast, bacon and tomato etc and cake/snacks are also available in the bar from 4pm onwards on your return from a hard day on the snow. If you are staying at the hotel on a half-board basis you can either opt for the 3 course daily menu or pay a small supplement where applicable and choose from the full menu - or you can even mix and match from both menus. The food is of very good quality and is always plentiful. Declan and his team will always do their best to ensure that requests are met. If the house wines are not to your liking (we found the red on offer perfectly acceptable!) you can, once again, pay a supplement to choose from the full wine list.
Proof of the quality of the Telemark and its value for money is evident from the numbers of guests from neighbouring chalets who frequently fill the bar/lounge in the evenings and who choose to eat at the hotel on the weekly night when chalets do not offer evening meals.
All your ski-ing needs -equipment hire, servicing etc - are catered for on-site and a short walk takes you to the nearest piste. From our balcony we even saw people trying to ski down the main road to avoid a few steps but this seemed a little extreme and they were obviously using rental skis! At the end of the day the "blue" (!!!???) Folyères run can become very worn and also very busy so the "green" Plan Fontaine piste through the trees is a much more pleasant experience as long as the snow cover is good; you can ski up the little alley then it's only 120 steps back to the front door!
We travelled as a couple on both occasions but, if you have younger children you might want to consider other options as the vast majority of the clientele are adults and facilities/space for children are pretty limited - you could look at "Family Friendly Skiing" and the chalets on offer; same company and quality.
One final word of advice; many (most? all?) of the negative comments made on Tripadvisor reviews seem to relate to staff and facilities before the current owners took over a couple of years ago and they certainly do not reflect our own experiences although, no doubt, they were accurate at the time and made in good faith. Please look carefully at review dates before making a judgement.
Last judgement: would we return to the Hotel Telemark? YES!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edenfieldskiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Not a bad location, about a 1 minute walk to the slopes although having previously stayed in a Hotel Le Montana last year I did find the Montana location a lot more convenient and offered better facilities.
Staff here were very friendly and helpful, with excellent food however I personally found the hotel rather basic and the bathrooms very small. La Tania is a great place to be with an excellent location in the 3 Valleys - would recommend La Tania to all. Overall enjoyed our stay but would probably return to the Montana next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiSunPow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Very lovely Chalet hotel with nice helpful staff and warm atmosphere in the bar. The new Chef does excellent cuisine and is reasonably priced. A lovely mix of ages and La Tania itself is small but very popular. A nice mix of bars and places to eat if you fancy a change from the Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayleybell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Just spent a week in La Tania at the Hotel Telemark with FFS. Helpful, friendly down to earth staff who are all just lovely. The food coming out of the kitchen is great.... Plat du Jour is very varied throughout the week, with superb presentation and service at every meal time...who would expect Paella? Yum Yum Yum ! We had a great week skiing, which was enhanced by the friendly and relaxed but efficient service from all the staff at the Telemark...(even the one with the wonky leg!). From arriving at Geneva airport to getting dropped off a week later- everything was just spot on!
Tip -don't walk around with limited clothing and the curtains and window open, in room 5 unless you want an audience! ha ha....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dnil68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Just back from a great stay over Christmas at the Telemark and from the moment we arrived until we left, we were looked after so well by the Manager David and all the staff at the hotel who were very friendly towards us. We had driven through the night so tired on arrival and the staff had helped us with our luggage and within half an hour had our ski hire sorted by the most efficient and welcoming ski technicians and our room was ready for us to have a lie down to recover from the journey.

The food is lovely and the chef who will also cater for gluten free, wheat free and vegetarian if required and the waiting staff were also helpful and cheerful.

In previous reviews, I had read complaints of no toilet rolls or hand soap. Just ask if you need anything and you will be looked after. We requested two small chairs to sit on in our room and when we got back from skiing, the chairs were there.

Doug the barman was brilliant offering a good choice of beers, wine and cocktails and the prices were very reasonable too. During our stay there was a lovely relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant and bar area.

This is a friendly run Hotel and very good value for money. The rooms are basic and some people may say too small, however they are clean, comfortable and warm with hot showers.There is tea and coffee making facilities on the landing near your room if you fancy tea or coffee in bed in the morning. There is no tv in the room but two are downstairs in the bar area.

From the hotel if you turn left and walk thirty metres, it takes you onto a nursery run where you can ski down to the bubble chair. There is little walk down to a lift which takes you into the village which is very pretty and has bars and restaurants and we enjoyed a hot cocolate or light lunch in La Tania as it is much cheaper than Courcheval which can be expensive.

Overall, this is an excellent base to stay to enjoy a friendly informal setting, great food , fantastic views and great skiing.

Thank you to all the staff for making it a memorable stay in La Tania at the Telemark.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2. Compact, with balcony and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraceStroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Tania
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Montana
Hotel Le Montana
#1 of 2 in La Tania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Les Bains
Hotel Les Bains
#13 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Verseau
Hotel Le Verseau
#8 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
2.3 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#6 of 55 in Courchevel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telemark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telemark

Property: Hotel Telemark
Address: 41 Route du Plan du Saz, 73125 La Tania, Courchevel, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel > La Tania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in La Tania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the trees just above the village and next to the nursery slope the Telemark offers virtually ski in ski out accommodation at its best. All 12 en suite rooms are comfortable with various rooming arrangements including twins/doubles and family/group rooms. All have balconies with exceptional mountain views. Its small friendly bar and comfy lounge make it an ideal spot to unwind after a hard day on the hill. Catered to a high standard using our chalet formula. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Telemark Hotel Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing