We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Alpine escape”
Review of Alpine Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Tania
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Escape
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We've just arrived back from a week-long stay with Alpine Escapes in Chalet Johanna and i am so bowled over by our experience i just had to recommend them to all. The Chalet itself is lovely, clean and tidy and a very new build so our room was well-matained and up to date etc. The chalet is ski-in and ski-out which is terrific once you've mastered skiing and theres a lovely Green run that you can access from here. Our hosts Mike and Laura were wonderful, providing us with friendly banter, lovely food and clean rooms throughout plus lifts into and out of La Tania twice a day between 8-10am and 4-6pm. Now onto the food - it was gorgeous, Mike really is a wonderful chef! All in all a terrific stay and we'll most certainly be back soon! Recommend to all.

Room Tip: We were in Room 1, the smallest and just below the kitchen so a bit noisy in the mornings, so pick o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darstar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 152 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The only problem with staying with Jo and Neil of Alpine Escape is when you are trawling through accommodation for your next ski trip nothing else quite compares. You are completely spoiled from the moment you arrive, their attention to detail and the careful selection of their team ensure a wonderful holiday whether you are an ardent skier or not. We have just booked for our fourth time with Alpine Escape and we can't wait!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ftprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Fantastic attention to detail and great hosts. Excellent food. Couldn't fault the service. Everything had been thought of from ping pong table in the games room and soft sofas in the lounge. We stayed at Chalet Elangeni. lovely hot tub and loads of wine to choose from. We were able to ski from and to the chalet although the lifts were a short walk away. An excellent place to come with a group of mates.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was my first and to date only ski holiday
There was 12 of us and we completely filed Chalet Sophie. The rooms were perfect and it was "ski in/ski out" on the green run into the village. There was a hot tub outside, and fantastic views of the valley.
I have never been skiing before, so had nothing to compare it to. Everyone else within the group said that they had never been to such a nice chalet and the hosts were simply fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. The menu and wines offered were without fault, and although skiing is expensive, the holiday was not outrageous in it's cost and the food and wines served would have cost a fortune to have eaten out every night to that standard. So, although the holiday was not cheap, you were provided with value for money.
The only problem is now that any other ski holidays will struggle to compare

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i_want_one_of_those
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I founds Alpine Escape by chance after scouring many websites for private chalets. I didn't even read any of these reviews beforehand and just booked on a whim, hoping for the best. 6 of us stayed in Chalet Pleroma and WOW!!! We were completely blown away from the start!

We were greeted at the door by our host Bobby and chef, Kyle. A cozy fire was blazing in the lounge, really inviting and a perfectly decorated Christmas tree was in the corner! The apartment was perfectly clean and the views are absolutely stunning.

The food was unbelievable!! We cannot fault Kyle in any way. He put huge amounts of effort into every meal and we were never disappointed. Christmas dinner was unreal - there was heaps of food and each of us were even given a small gift from Santa :) Everything was always fresh, breakfasts were varied with pancakes, eggs, bacon and more! After every ski session, we came home to a freshly baked cake and coffee and tea waiting, we never stopped eating as the food was just so delicious! The wine was always free flowing and of excellent quality, an open bar a major plus.

One evening the gas froze and the stove would not work, hence Kyle could not provide dinner. After many minutes of coaxing and reassuring Jo that we really were not fussed, we finally convinced her we were only too happy to phone for pizza. She eventually agreed and kindly surprised us by paying for our whole order. First class service ALL the way.

This was a particularly special holiday for us, as my boyfriend proposed on the slopes. We arrived back at the chalet to celebratory Prosecco in the jacuzzi and an extra special dinner that night :) We have some amazing memories, made more so by the quality of the holiday we had at the chalet.

We can honestly not fault anything about this accommodation or the service of the staff. Bobby was also an excellent host, only too happy to arrange anything we liked. Jo was extremely professional from the start, answering every question in detail and even contacting us to let us know when the season's snow had begun. We had the most amazing holiday and my friends still compliment me on finding Alpine Escape to this day. We will DEFINITELY be back and we have already been checking online for availability for next season.

You will NOT be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rae R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Once again we have been lucky enough to have two weeks this season first staying in Chalet Johanna in January 2012, a snow filled week! then a week of wall to wall sunshine in Chalet Sophie in March 2012. Both trips were fantastic and the usual high Alpine Escape standards were always in evidence. Mike and Gabby spoiled us with amazing food and a very chilled relaxing week whilst Kyle and Gabby provided us with a fun filled week topped with great wines especially the Prosecco! Jo and Neil ensure a problem free experience and are able to help with all queries and really do go the extra mile. The food is always outstanding with well thought out menus and well paired wines. The chalets are clean, comfortable and stylish and well located. Planning our return trips already.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caercross6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Just spent a lovely week at this fabulous chalet. It has great views, is clean and well appointed with a hot tub and kid's area with a Wii and separate tv. Most of the rooms have their own WC and all have a shower. There is a green ski run up some steps (a bit of a warm up but doable!). Highlighting the chalet was the bubbly team of chef Kyle and hostess Gabi. Kyle's cooking was great and his enthusiasm infectious, Gabi was more relaxed and her calmness helped us all relax into an evening of food, wine and beer.
Considering the quality of the food and the free alcohol (Prosecco for the hot tub) this was really good value and I highly recommend the chalet and Alpine-Escape. Manager, Neil, took us skiing for the day and was a great host and using the ski higher rental service meant that my skis were brought to me and just left them in the chalet at the end of the week and avoided the queues to return rental equipment in La Tania. Thanks to everyone involved (especially K&G) for a great holiday.

Room Tip: We were in room 3 and it's the cheapest because you can hear people walk above you and the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LimeyCat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Tania
2.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 54 in Courchevel
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Montana
Hotel Le Montana
#1 of 2 in La Tania
308 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Chabichou
Le Chabichou
#2 of 54 in Courchevel
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#5 of 54 in Courchevel
379 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#19 of 54 in Courchevel
77 reviews
0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Christiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Escape

Address: 9 Chemin de Morettaz, 73125 La Tania, Courchevel, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel > La Tania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty Lodging in La Tania
Price Range: $698 - $1,327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Escape have nine boutique ski chalets in La Tania and Courchevel Le Praz, in the Three Valleys. Situated at 1400 metres, we offer doorstep skiing, outdoor hot tubs, contemporary furnishings, stunning views. Our concierge and driver help to make your holiday stress-free. Our catered chalets include a chef and host who provide food with the wow factor. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing