We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Experience nature in comfort”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Rakhi Retreat is a beautifully designed and built home an in idlilic natural setting
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Humpty Doo, Top End, Northern Territory

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carole B
Darwin, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience nature in comfort”
Reviewed February 9, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The house has a warm feel to it. It's very clean and fresh, uncluttered and tastefully appointed. Though I am a friend of the owner, in all honesty, the place was ideal to run my teacher training yoga retreat. The wooden floor was ideal for our purposes and the kitchen big enough for 5 of us to prepare meals together and the serving window makes it really easy to eat on the verandah. It rained non stop on the long weekend we were there so we did not get to take advantage of the beautiful land for walks nor swim in the billabong. But even from inside I felt like I was in the middle of nature, surrounded by sounds of birds and frogs..On all accounts, a really wonderful experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2018
Dear Carole, it was an honour to host you. We are delighted that you found Rakhi an ideal space to run your yoga teacher training retreat and you stayed dry during the weekend that contributed to Humpty Doo experiencing the wettest January ever recorded!
We hope to host you and your students again in 2018.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutch E
Singapore
2 reviews
“Lovely quiet paradise”
Reviewed December 31, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We rented this place over Christmas and had a blast! The house is lovely, with a natural breeze during the day. Two good sized bedrooms and a very well equipped kitchen. The kids loved to roam around in the endless yard, swing over the lagoon and go on 'adventure' while we were relaxing on the daybed. We ended up booking another night and stayed 4 nights as we loved it so much and it is very conveniently located. There is a good supermarket and some restaurants around. We highly recommend a day trip to Litchfield Park and a day trip to NT Wildlife Park from this location. It's paradise!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2018
It was a pleasure to have Marlouke and family stay at Rakhi Retreat and have the type of experience we hope to provide. They were easy going and left the place as they found it. I particularly enjoyed finding the little signs of children playing in the bush land experiencing the freedom so important at their age.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren C
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Darwin Retreat”
Reviewed October 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Being a regular visitor to Darwin, I’m always on the look out for great places to stay outside of the city and Rakhi Retreat was a fantastic option. Clean, comfy accommodation with the big draw card being the location on a big bush block surrounded by beautiful trees, plants and wildlife. Haven’t felt that relaxed in ages and can’t wait to visit again during the wet season when the lagoon is full. Rod the owner was also great to deal with. Highly recommended place to chillax!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
It was a pleasure to host Darren who was very agreeable and appreciative. He left the house neat and tidy and we would recommend him as a guest to anyone. Tanks for staying with us Darren and we look forward to you coming again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Twitchers paradise!”
Reviewed September 6, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Rakhi Retreat was a fantastic place to stay and do some NT birding. The house is beautifully finished, very comfortable and the kitchen a pleasure to cook in. The property is all natural bushland with a few different habitat types running into one another. In the morning I saw 24 different species of birds in the woodland, rainforest, paperbark forest and remnant water hole. It was just a short drive in the morning to Fogg Dam Wetlands and rainforests. The best NT accommodation for birders by far.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzi C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slice of paradise”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Gorgeous little house on some beautiful land. We booked here because it was fairly central to everything we wanted to visit. It was isolated enough for privacy, but definitely close enough to the shops for a quick run down the road when we needed something. The people who look after the rental are super friendly and gave great advice when we asked for recommendations. Would definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
Thanks for you review Suzi,

it was great to have you stay and we hope you can come again

regards
Rod
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing