We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great excursion

We did the cave tour for 4 hours and throughly enjoyed the experience. The caves were great and... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
LeeM541
,
Billericay, United Kingdom
via mobile
The perfect afternoon😎

On a recent cruise of the Mediterranean we stopped at this beautiful island. After the hustle and... read more

Reviewed October 14, 2018
Momrish
,
Montreal, Canada
via mobile
Read all 130 reviews
  
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
98
23
2
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
98
23
2
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cala en porter rock formations watched the sunset life jackets fun experience beautiful island great trip guide caves irina beaches coast menorca pace boats route kit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 130 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2019

Hi All,

110 km round trip to booked cave excursion, only to be told cancelled. Made the necessary arrangements. Even gave them my mobile number and Email address in case they had to cancel. Got up nice and early to travel 55km to get to Cala n Porter. To be told they had cancelled. Due to the weather. Which wasn’t bad. I had to go kayaking with a different company 30 minutes later. Weather no different. I question their competency on giving instructions if they cannot kayak in a gentle breeze. Make sure you do not book or pay in advance.

Cheers

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menorcaenkayak, Gerente at Menorca En Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2019

Dear Customer,

We are disappointed to know that your experience with our company has not been satisfactory. We understand your anger about the kilometers traveled so that you can not finally do the kayak trip.
For us, the main parameter to be able to carry out an activity at sea is group safety and this is not an easy decision in some occasions and the scheduled day for your excursion was one of them.
The weather forecasts of the previous day were good and we contacted all customers to confirm the next day's excursion, this confirmation is always made late in the afternoon, when the weather models (we consulted 3 models) are updated.
This tour is made at a different point of our base, with what we have to prepare the material the day before and load everything in the van and trailer to move to the starting point, Cala en Porter.
Our guides go to the meeting point and arrive a few minutes before the scheduled time with the clients to be able to have the material prepared before their arrival. 10 minutes were missing for the arrival of the clients and we decided not to warn by phone to suspend the activity for the short time of margin that there was ...., perhaps we would have saved the last 15 km, nothing more.

That day, our guide when arriving at Cala en Porter saw that the conditions of the sea were not optimal, the safe ones to carry out the activity, although the meteorological models did not express it.
The wind was mild but the swell and current was not as expected. The experience and knowledge of the area of ​​our guide, after observing the sequence of the waves and the increase decided to suspend the activity in this area. It is an area of ​​cliffs with few areas of refuge, which we know by hand with different conditions of sea state.
We understand that some clients may have a different vision, their ignorance on the area and the conditions is normal and a good explanation from our guides (argued) makes understandable the decision to suspend an activity just before starting it. In fact, the rest of the clients of the excursion understood the situation.

Also for us it is a "bad" decision if we look at it from the economic side, kilometers traveled, disappointment of the client, time wasted ....., etc.

That day, in other places of the island it is possible to kayak, without any problem, in our center, in Es Grau, several rentals and group activity were carried out, but we are on the coast opposite Cala en Porter ...., the wind was also mild but the south-west swell did not affect us at all and the sea conditions were perfect in the northeast.

We are glad to know that he was finally able to do a kayak activity in Menorca, was it a sea kayak?

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

On a recent cruise of the Mediterranean we stopped at this beautiful island. After the hustle and bustle of Ibiza and Palma de Majorca this was a welcome change. We were three couples, each rented a double kayak and we set off. Gorgeous views at every turn and some magnificent yachts to ogle. We stopped for snacks several times (we had picked up water and some fresh fruit in the town of Es Grau) at small beaches where at most there were only 2 -4 people, it was like having your own private beach. Lovely, peaceful and memorable.
Highly recommended.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Momrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menorcaenkayak, Gerente at Menorca En Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Thank you for your comments and the good assessment of our kayak center.
We love knowing that customers have a good time and that they value what the area of Es Grau and Isla Colom (S'Albufera de Es Grau Natural Park) offers to be visited in a kayak.

We hope to see you on another occasion.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

The experience was good. We were 4 poor swimmers but nothing went wrong with our kayaks and we managed to return safely :) We managed to swim a little with our life jackets and also did some snorkelling. It was a good experience and anyone can do it even if you are not very athletic or have massive strength, it was not so hard to learn the procedure!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank sona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

We did the caves tour and the sunset tour and both were brilliant. The guides are experienced and very helpful, the office staff is great too. Prior to the tours I had questions and they were all answered in a timely manner. The kayacs are in good condition and the routes taken are well planned. Thanks for a great experience.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank GERMANTRAVELLER0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

We booked the sunset kayak tour from Es Grau and had a wonderful evening. The kayaking itself was quite easy (both had very little experience) and the guides kept a slowish pace so no stress. We kayaked through some caves and around the coast which was a great way to see the island. We watched the sunset from two points, on a small island beach and then from the boats and it was gorgeous. Overall the tour was well ran and we had a good, fun evening. The only small drawback was that the guides didn't speak excellent English so we couldn't follow all the commentary. Being in Spain though, maybe we should be able to speak more Spanish! Overall, we were more than happy with the tour and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank kimberleyam2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews