We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dunmore Hotel & Residences
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunmore Town
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best.”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Everything about this resort is the best...the beach, the food, but most importantly the people.
This was our 3rd trip to the Dunmore and we look forward each time to seeing people we now consider friends. Bob, Erica, Ann, Henry - thank you for all you do to make us feel so welcome when we return each year. This would just be another luxury resort without the hearts of these wonderful people, instead it is a uniquely special place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heavenisspringlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    10
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
74
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Dunmore did it again! We had such a fantastic stay in 2012, that we came back in March 2014. Fabulous. The food, room, pool, beach...every aspect of the resort was top notch. But the service delivered by the wonderful staff is really what makes a stay there special. Really everyone is great - but extra kudos to Henry. More than a bartender - he is like an ambassador. Thanks to all of the staff!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We recently stayed for our second time at the Dunmore Beach Hotel. Again, a wonderful experience with such a warm, welcoming and extremely attentive staff. The food is now the best on the island. The grounds are beautiful, well-maintained and the hotel's beach location makes this the place we'll return to again and again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank swanofalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Having enjoyed several delicious meals at the Dunmore's beautiful terrace restaurant overlooking the stunning pink sands beach on a previous visit to Harbour Island the hotel seemed the obvious choice for a long weekend at the beginning of February.

The hotel did not disappoint. Indeed it surpassed all my expectations and after four days I had to tear myself away with a tear in my eye.

The new general manager Mary and her amazing team create a welcome and sense of belonging that is hard to beat. The attention to detail is superb but it is the soul of the place created by the people who work there that is so magical. Bob, Rashida and Stephanie on the front desk, Erica and her many attentive colleagues in the restaurant, the chefs in the kitchen, Lynn and Henry at the bar and the wonderful Daniel on the beach all made us feel like family (as another reviewer has mentioned). I cannot imagine wanting to spend time in the sun anywhere else and having heard a few of Mary's ideas for the future I know that I shall want to return again and again.

To the detail. Our cottage was the most simple and yet it was beautifully appointed with all the towels, robes and toiletries you could desire. The room was tastefully furnished in the style seen throughout the hotel and a small terrace outside provided all the external space that was needed. The bathroom was on the small side but dressed beautifully in keeping with the room. The bath / shower was a little dated but I liked the fact that they had not just replaced it - when something works why fix it?

The restaurant were amazing when it came to managing my coeliac dietary requirements. Even flying in gluten free flour from Miami so that they could bake bread for me. Nothing was too much trouble and they even prepared me a lunch platter to take for the wait at North Eleuthera airport.

Dinner on Friday night was enlivened by a local band who played and sang at just the right level to entertain without drowning out conversation. They apparently normally play on Saturday but another guest was celebrating his birthday with a large group of friends and so the hotel had the band play on the Friday. That is the kind of thoughtful service that makes this place so special.

It's great to be able to write something so positive but the down side is that word will be out. If you want an exceptional level of service in this part of the world this is where you need to come. We dined out only once and despite choosing what we knew to be a fine restaurant the service was so disappointing by comparison to the Dunmore that we didn't venture out to eat again!

I will be back as soon as I can. No fancy new car for me this year just another trip or two to the Dunmore!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JeffersonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We just got back from a stay at The Dunmore.

Pros:
Wonderful accommodating staff
The actual grounds are beautiful
Beautiful Beach front
Nice casual chic design

Cons:
For the price of the room, the bathrooms were an old outdated design and had inexcusably nasty grout.
Food was sometimes good, sometimes not. Twice I ordered fish, twice it was not great. My husbands cheesesteak and chicken were good.
No room service


Overall The Dunmore is a nice resort. The staff and the grounds make it special. Other than that they need to upgrade for the price. Our flight was canceled and we were booked in another hotel on the island and the food was better and the rooms were impeccable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SSemone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Immaculate and large rooms and suites, friendly and attentive service (without being overbearing!) fantastic food, perfect spot on an amazing beach - the Dunmore is absolutely the best on Harbour Island! We´ll be back!

Room Tip: We were in the Pink South junior suite and had a great view of the ocean and a very private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at The Dunmore in 5 months. We thought we couldn't be treated any better than this past August but we were! The staff is so warm and friendly, taking care of all our needs. We must acknowledge Bob, Erica, Rasheda, Henry, Cindy, Warren, Delius, Tamika, DeAundra, Anne, Kaidence, Lynn, and Daniel - they provided us with outstanding customer service and made us feel very welcome. On our last day, we didn't feel well so we rested in our luxurious bed in our cottage. Rasheda (front desk) politely called to check on us. Without us even asking, Chef Warren prepared a complimentary, special meal and Erica (Director of the Dining Room) delivered it to our room. When my wife thanked her and told her that they all made us feel so loved, Erica simply replied with, "You are family!" This meant so much to us. We really do feel that The Dunmore is our second family and home. We've already booked our summer trip and can't wait to return. The casually elegant hotel, intimate setting, food, gorgeous beaches and kind locals are incredible - and we have traveled to many beaches around the world - Bora Bora, Kauai, Maui, Anguilla, St Barth, South Beach, Cozumel, Puerto Rico, Grenadines, Cat Island-Bahamas, Long Island-Bahamas, Abaco-Bahamas and Paradise Island. Harbour Island is a special place with special people! Thanks again to The Dunmore for getting our New Year off to an amazing start! See you this summer!! --Kristi and Hugh

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Hugh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunmore Town
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#3 of 9 in Harbour Island
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#5 of 9 in Harbour Island
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
272 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunmore Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunmore Hotel & Residences

Property: The Dunmore Hotel & Residences
Address: Colebrook Lane, Dunmore Town, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island > Dunmore Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunmore Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dunmore Hotel & Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunmore has been completely renovated! The former Dunmore Beach Club has been transformed far beyond the name change. Luxury amenities have been added throughout the historic resort, including a grand oceanfront pool, state-of-the-art fitness facility and a new restaurant serving fine Island cuisine. In-room additions include Molton Brown(R) products, custom furnishings, flat-panel TVs, telephones and Wi-Fi. Experience the new sense of luxury that enhances the tradition and charm of this quintessential Harbour Island destination! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dunmore Hotel Dunmore Town
Dunmore Beach Club
The Dunmore Hotel & Residences Dunmore Town, Harbour Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing