We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Night in Harbour Island!”
Review of The Dunmore

The Dunmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vero Beach, FL
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Best Night in Harbour Island!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have been coming to HI for almost 30 years but have not been to Dunmore Beach Club in almost 20 years. After reading recent reviews, I thought it was time to give them another chance while there for the week celebrating my best friend's 60th birthday. We booked in advance for Saturday night-our last night on the island. Requested a table on the terrace which was perfect. When we arrived we were surprised with a fantastic duo playing out on the terrace right by our table. The setting was fantastic (full moon and all) and the service was great. They clearly have the best bartender on the island along with great food as well. We danced the night away, however, we were the only ones dancing, but who cares.....
They have done such a great job with the renovations there and it now is the best setting in HI. We had stopped by several times throughout the week for cocktails, appetizers, and lunch, but Saturday night was THE BEST!
We will be back for sure!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BethIRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    24
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woolwine, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice total experience”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We went for lunch on the recommendation of Michele at the Beach House. It was a very goo recommendation. I had the mahi mahi sandwich and it was perhaps as good as it gets. The atmosphere is excellent and the outside seating so toucan see the ocean is great ambiance.
Service was good. The others in my party were well pleased with their meals.
I think it is one of those places you owe it to yourself to experience.
One anecdote, my sister asked for some pepper for her soup. She wanted cracked black pepper. What she got was a small cup of orange liquid! Funny how even when everyone speaks English how things can be misinterpreted.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodandwine60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“romantic view, great food”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We ate on the covered patio, overlooking the ocean. The service was impeccable. Henry the bartender provided excellent drinks and friendly advice. The food was fresh and fabulous. This is a great place for a romantic dinner a deux.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 219MaryG219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stone crabs...”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Grab a rum punch at the bar and sit outside to enjoy the view before dinner. There was a great three-piece band playing exactly what you would expect in the islands. Sets a nice mood. If you are a stone crab claw fan, get them. Tuna with wasabi mash also good. Scenic ,family oriented and lovely staff.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Very attractive and like everywhere on the Island very expensive for lunch or dinner”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Dunmore has been done over...and is very appealing.
Restaurant was very good....although service very slow.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Snowbunny91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dunmore also viewed

Harbour Island, Out Islands
Harbour Island, Out Islands
 
Harbour Island, Out Islands
Harbour Island, Out Islands
 
Harbour Island, Out Islands
Harbour Island, Out Islands
 

Been to The Dunmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing