We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, comfortable and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au Relais de la Lieure
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were looking for a place reasonably close to Giverny that would provide a comfortable stopover en route from England. We had an early start from Devon and this hotel, while not glamorous, fulfilled the criteria to a tee.

It is easy to find in a small village some 25km or so from Rouen. The welcome was warm and efficient, and we quickly settled into our room. Two features that every weary traveller seeks were immediately identified. A comfortable bed, with extra pillows located in the wardrobe, and a very spacious bathroom. The shower poured good quantities of hot water and the cubicle was large enough to swing a good sized kitten, should you so desire.

The half board dinner consisted of four good courses, each with a good choice and competently cooked. Looking at our fellow diners, this Logis appeared to attract travelling businessmen, many of whom seemed to have visited on more than one occasion, as well as a few holiday-makers.

We retired well fed and slept without disturbance. What more could one ask from a stopover?

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kbp61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 44 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We appeared to be the only people staying at the hotel but despite this we were welcome and enjoyed a pleasant evening ;meal. Our room in the annexe was larger than we usually expect and very comfortable with an excellent en suite shower room. Breakfast was the usual french breakfast but with the addition of home made jam and apple compote.
Outside there is a fish pond with some very well fed fish and also a very friendly cat who demand her full share of attention.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Williams_Walsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Tucked away in the heart of the Normandy countryside this makes a good stress free stopover. The rooms are in a modern annexe, not exciting but clean and large and very peaceful.
The dinner is good (we went half board) and breakfast ok.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loopyloolooloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have just stayed here for the third time in 12 months; we travel from the UK with our 3 dogs to the SW of France. The room is clean recently redecorated with comfortable bed and very adequate shower room on the ground floor of a modern annex. The dogs enjoy the run of the orchard when they arrive to stretch their legs. Monsieur and Madame the proprietors are delightful, friendly and run a busy, clean and efficient establishment. We stay demi-pension, and enjoy a good 4 course dinner from a small but well cooked menu. Similarly, breakfast is buffet-style with fruit juiices, cereal, yoghurt, fruit purees croissants and bagettes or toast and ham and cheese. Fresh coffee and a choice of teas - more than adequate and very good value all round for the price. We will be returning again in the autumn.

Room Tip: We always have the same room, so can't advise on the others. We overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Peaceful, clean, hotel. Staff very friendly (not much English spoken) and rooms comfortable and large. Very good restaurant. All in all a perfect combination.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kebabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Pat60250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BlueHermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menesqueville
3.8 mi away
Hotel Du Grand Cerf
Hotel Du Grand Cerf
#1 of 3 in Lyons-la-Foret
270 reviews
3.7 mi away
Les Lions de Beauclerc
Les Lions de Beauclerc
#3 of 3 in Lyons-la-Foret
77 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel La Licorne
Hotel La Licorne
#2 of 3 in Lyons-la-Foret
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant La Chaine d'Or
2.1 mi away
Gite de Charleval
Gite de Charleval
#1 of 1 in Charleval
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Relais de la Lieure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Relais de la Lieure

Address: 1 rue du General de Gaulle, 27850 Menesqueville, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Menesqueville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Menesqueville
Price Range: $88 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Au Relais de la Lieure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Relais De La Lieure Eure/Menesqueville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing