We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
85
22
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
85
22
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking holiday vegetarian restaurant the owner warm welcome rural hotel public areas hotel is spotlessly clean plenty of hot water place to stay feel at home dining room fantastic hotel charming family run hotel father son good sized rooms sandwiches victor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 113 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2019 via mobile

A wonderful location, charming and comfy hotel in the midsts of the Sierra Nevada. It is a family-run hotel, with very welcoming staff (and Tobby, the dog :-))) that make you feel at home. The rooms are carefully decorated as is the rest of the hotel, that is beautifully influenced by the Moorish athmosphere. Definitely recommend!!!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Annabeatrizramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

This was a two night stay as part of a walking holiday that took us through various hotels in the Alpujarras region. The Hotel Mecina Fondales was by far the best. Victor & Victor (father & son proprietors) did everything to make our stay exceptional. On top of that, the hotel is in a great setting in a very quaint small town. We could not have asked for more.

As we left we received packed lunches that contained Spanish omelette sandwiches. Who knew there was such a thing, but they were fantastic. If you are heading to the Alpujarras, it would be well worth adding Hotel Mecina Fondales to the itinerary.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David6543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor F, Propietario at Mecina Fondales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por reflejar su opinión. estamos abrumados..
Solo hacemos nuestra labor, procurando su descanso y bienestar durante un par de días, que al fin es lo mas importante en ese tiempo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

This is a charming family run hotel where i have been going for a least six years every June and am always made to feel at home. The hotel is spotlessly clean with lovely en suite rooms and most with stunning views and balconies. It has a beautiful swimming pool surrounded by rose bushes and a cherry orchard with mountain views. The garden is full of flowers and carefully tended. The villages close by are in walking distance and for a walker there are many paths and Victor the owner has comprehensive knowledge and leaflets of walks in the surrounding area.
It has a pleasant restaraunt and well stocked bar with a good dining room as well as outdoor seating. I highly recommend it as a place to stay.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor F, Propietario at Mecina Fondales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Thank you Louise W. for your opinión send to Trypadvisor.
This kind of things help us to maintain and improve our efforts to offer the best services to our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

A typical Spanish rural hotel. We had a warm welcome from Victor (the owner) he personally showed us to our rooms. There is a small bar and a lovely swimming pool. We enjoyed our stay very much. This is a great base for walking in this spectacular scenery.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

Comfortable? Tick.
Friendly? Tick. Tick.
Quirky? Tick. Tick. Tick.
Everything you’d expect from a decent hotel: good sized rooms, firm beds with good quality bedding, plenty of hot water, adequate wifi - all of the usual stuff. And the grounds are beautiful - the scent of rose and jasmine fills the air, especially around the pool, where the breathtaking views of the mountains across the valley have already made your spirits soar as you made your way down the steps. Family run, one of the Victors is always on hand to help with anything or to give advice. The hotel wasn’t serving food in the evening when we were there (other than light snacks) but the breakfast selection was wide and plentiful. You can get a pizza at either of the bars in the village, or there’s always ‘L’Atelier’, the renowned vegetarian restaurant a little further up - quirky (there’s that word again), with a fairly limited menu but simply delicious taste combinations. Of course, you could always jump in the car and head for the bright (well, brightER) lights of Pampaneira, Bubión or Capileira, for a wider choice of restaurants and bars. But how about just staying put and spending the evening relaxing on the hotel’s terrace, savouring the views of the darkening mountains with the stars swinging into place above them, inhaling the scent of jasmine in the gentle company of Victor’s house white?
To sum up: Mecina is a delightfully quiet, quaint village, and the Hotel de Mecina Fondales is a very restful place to spend a few days and recharge your batteries. You can sleep, you can swim, you can sunbathe, you can snack, you can siesta - paradise.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank sambooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews