We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idiosyncratic delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mecina Fondales
Reviewed March 4, 2013

It's a beautiful area and we had come for a taster visit and to admire the almond blossom. We had chosen the wrong year, it has been very cold, but we were given a wonderfully warm welcome. We were shown past the plants, up the stairs past many paintings and along a cold corridor to our room, where the air conditioner was set to heating and there was an electric heater thoughtfully provided in the bathroom. I should mention the towels, which were nice and fluffy.
The room was large, colourfully and tastefully decorated and with a lovely view across the valley. Besides paintings and books everywhere, there were little things to delight in unexpected places, the hooks on the bathroom door were on little painted blocks of wood, and I couldn't help noticing the care taken to make the high chair attractive to its likely occupants.
Victor was very welcoming, as, indeed, was everyone we met, we couldn't have had kinder or more considerate hosts. This attention rose well above the call of duty when we awoke to a carpet of unexpected snow. We were reassured that we could stay as long as we needed to, and Victor spent a lot of time checking weather reports, and when the sunshine melted enough snow on the village road to make us think we could leave they took care to ring the garage on the top road to check that the snow plough had been. It had, so in a final act of kindness the snow on the car was cleared and we were able to leave, wishing only that we had booked ourselves in for a longer stay.
I forgot to mention the bed, extraordinarily comfortable, where we felt as snug as bugs in a rug!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dale0042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 93 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is located on the southern flank of the Sierra Nevada among tiny white villages all connected by pastoral trails. This is a great base for hiking or enjoying andalusian village life. The staff is genuinely friendly and attentive and they try hard to please their customers. The food is delicious and well presented. The dining room is pleasantly decorated with local craft and art. The rooms are large, and the decoration is also in tune with the area. The outside walls of the hotel are festooned with geraniums and the grounds are covered with flowers and plants lovingly maintained. The swimming pool is a plus, especially after a long hike. This is a great place !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Platypus077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Wow I have just arrived home from a short break in a very friendly hotel.
On arrival the owner greeted us with gusto!
All the staff walked around with a smile and were very friendly and attentive to my needs!
The bedroom was very ample in size and had a good view.
Very clean in all areas especially in the bathrooms.
I could not fault the very high standards this establishment keeps. (I own a cleaning company, it is nice to see others with the same high standards)
I will return to this hotel again!
The WIFI internet access worked well and was free of charge!
Breakfast had a good choice, which set you up for the days walking in the mountains.
Coffee was of a good standard and plenty of it! Plus tea's and hot chocolate etc....
Plenty of hot water to shower with.
Bedding was very clean and the bed itself was very comfortable (even for the taller people 6.5ft) I enjoyed a good nights sleep whilst staying here.
Evening meals were of a good standard and well worth having!
Lots of information at the main desk for any activity in the area.
Plenty of good books to read in most languages. (I started one and told the owner, he said keep it). Next time I stay I will take a few of my books, I no longer need to replenish the stocks.
I suggest you do the same, that way he keeps a vast amount of choice of subjects and authors.
In real terms I can not say anything derogatory. Just stay here with confidence!
Great artwork all over the hotel.
Ideal walking holiday for a group or individual alike!
Lee Osborne

Room Tip: My room 206 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astroleeMijas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The annoyances were small and many. The staff ate their breakfast and dinner in the guest dining room. Should their dog be in the customers' dining room too? If the front desk was not manned you would go next door to the dining room where eight faces would look at you as if to say 'Why is he disturbing us while we are eating?” The bathroom had a musty smell of drains. There was a wide screen television on loudly all the time in reception and often members of staff were sitting around watching it.

At breakfast, the guests were given long life orange juice to pour from tetra-pack containers into very small glasses, while the staff helped themselves to freshly squeezed orange juice served in tumblers. Shouldn't they be clearing our plates and glasses at breakfast instead of enjoying their breakfast and leaving us to clear as we go? The picnic lunch contained bad sandwiches.

We stayed five days in September and agonised about whether to move hotels or not. Meals were the worst. When we turned up for dinner one evening, the waiter beckoned us over to the table nearest the door to the toilets. He did not wait to see if we liked this spot, but vanished. We naturally preferred a different table. Main courses were accompanied by nicely grilled vegetables but the meat and fish were salty and the puddings uninspiring to unpleasant. And this hotel is in the Michelin guide! We mostly ate out, the vegetarian restaurant and the pizzeria in the village are both better.

Of course it wasn't all bad. It's a great location for walking (leaflets were provided - €1 for each one was added to the bill) and the countryside is lovely. The hotel is clean; the room was small but the beds were comfortable; when asked/prompted the staff did their best; once you have fished out the wasps, the swimming pool is a very pleasant area (though the grass around it needed cutting). September is low season and the place seems pretty empty, apparently lots of walking tours will turn up in October. You come in through a lobby dense with plants, which is quirky. None of the guests seemed to be enjoying themselves but the staff were happy.

This is not the worst hotel we have stayed in but it could be so much better if it were well run and if there were the normal divide between those who pay the bills and those whose job it is to look after them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ant42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed there during our hiking trip in the Alpujarra. It was easy to find, the service was very good and the food excellent, with a plentiful buffet breakfast (rare for Spain) that featured some fantastic bread. The swimming pool was a very pleasant place to hang out after a walk. The decoration was interesting and enough to give the place character, but not overwhelming. We loved the fact that there were books literally everywhere!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roeslein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

You stumble across this hotel in a tiny village in the Alpujarra and are immediately made to feel at home. It's a family run business, with quirky and sometimes flambouyant touches which are absolutely delightful. I had a large room on the ground floor with a good sized bathroom (with hairdryer!) and a terrace, all spotlessly clean and well maintained. Apparently it was once a self-catering establishment as many of the rooms still have kitchenettes, but you don't need these nowadays as the restaurant does a wonderful job. Lovely breakfasts with plenty of choices - including, during my stay, fresh cherries picked from the gorgeous cherry trees overlooking the terrace. We did indeed eat lunch under those cherry trees, and had two or three dinners in the restaurant, all prepared by the owner's son who uses simple fresh ingredients to create wonderful dishes.

There is a welcome for everyone here, including the two stray dogs who have decided to make it their home. It's an ideal base for hikers and the hotel provides packed lunches.

I thought the setting was fabulous : spectacular views, lovely gardens and a swimming pool. Very friendly and obliging staff - it's a little gem that I can thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lark01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We found driving through the Alpujaros more challenging than we had expected, but were able to relax once we found our way to this comfortable hotel. It is traditional style with comfortable rooms and beds. Breakfast was the usual Spanish spread and quite generous. When we were there in late September it was not busy and apparently their busy season is October/November when people come for walking and hiking - ours was a car tour on our way to Granada and it was pleasant to have a country stop in between cities. The dinner in the restaurant was not memorable, but pleasant enough. (Had we stayed another night we would have gone to a well-known vegetarian restaurant in the village, as its menu had looked imaginative.)
We did not use the pool but it looked inviting, and the outlook from the hotel is very pleasant.

We can recommend this as a comfortable country inn.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front on a corner which had a balcony, with a side view of the village. Perhap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HK4951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mecina Fondales
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
9.1 mi away
Alcadima Hotel
Alcadima Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lanjaron
331 reviews
3.7 mi away
El CastaNar Nazari
El CastaNar Nazari
#1 of 1 in Busquistar
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
248 reviews
3.0 mi away
Meson Poqueira
Meson Poqueira
#3 of 3 in Capileira
50 reviews
6.2 mi away
Puerta Nazari
Puerta Nazari
#2 of 3 in Orgiva
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mecina Fondales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mecina Fondales Hotel

Address: Calle de la Fuente - Las Alpujarras, 18416 Mecina Fondales, La Taha, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > La Taha > Mecina Fondales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mecina Fondales
Price Range: $85 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mecina Fondales Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Hotel at 1000 meters high over the Mediterranean sea level. With spacious and very comfortable rooms. Outer rooms with terrace or balcony and views to the countryside. Cafeteria available. Breakfast buffet. Lunches, dinners for organized groups are served prior reservation. The hotel has available a business meeting room and for celebrations. Two hectares of large gardens and an outdoor swimming pool of saltwater. Located in the Sierra Nevada National Park, La Alpujarra de Granada, Spain. The Hotel is certified as office information point of the National park, for trails and general information. It is specialized in the attention of walking holidays groups,and as a resting hotel in the summer months. The hotel has free Wifi for guests in the public areas. We put in contact with the clients with the companies of activities in nature, that allow the clients to make them with or without guides, such as trekking, photography, horseback riding, downhill cycling from the high Mountain, (high mountain bike slopes), observations and geological visits, observation of endemic flora and butterflies, birds of Sierra Nevada (birdwatching), astronomical observation courses , painting courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Mecina Fondales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing