We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Main Street Cafe

Main Street Cafe
Ranked #7 of 33 Restaurants in Mordialloc
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: local identity
Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Went here for breakfast today with a group of 13. We had booked earlier and the table was ready 5 minutes after the booking so no problem at all.
We were here for breakfast and the food was delicious, came out hot and all together.
Poached eggs with smoked salmon and avocado on toast fresh and perfect
Cafe was packed but staff were happy and not stressed out. Will def eat here again

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harriet2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    55
    21
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent choice and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Really good for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Open 7 days a week, 7am till late. Burgers, pasta, curries, seafood, risotto, a really varied menu and and with vegetarian choices too. Licensed. Good atmosphere, but does get rather noisy! We went on a Monday evening in early spring and the restaurant was busy; we returned later in the week and the place was packed. We had to wait for a table to become free so it's best to ring and reserve. The waitress adised booking especially for a weekend evening. This bistro/restaurant deserves its good local reputation - in a street full of eateries, it was the only one full to bursting and not expensive either - a meal for 2 consisting of 2 main courses, shared starter and desert plus a bottle of wine came to £50.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhyllRutland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food and Atmosphere - TICK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Located outside the entrance to the train station - is what is probably the most consistently busy cafe/restaurant in the area. In the warmer months you may struggle to get a table here, however patience and bookings help immensely.

We've been here many times, mostly for breakfasts (which is where I think Main St Cafe shines) - pumping out good sized servings of all the usual suspects - but with cool names.. Like the staples of eggs on toast ("2 Up"), Life Saving Club Omelettes (each sale they donate to the local life-saving club), there's the Hungry Hippo (a big brekky), Smashi Tashi, etc full menu http://mainstreet3195.com/CMS/files/1413/5363/8722/MS.Menu.151112_lunch.pdf

Recommendations for "big brekky" (aka hungry hungry hippo), or the veggie Patch. Chuck in some extra sides (aka "brekky bling") like hash browns and smoked salmon and, well, i'm in a food coma..

Coffee should be king in any cafe, but here I've found it to be a bit hit and miss. On the mornings that I've been there for brekky, the coffee quality has been just fine (in lattes, mochas, espressos, and even the non-coffee option of hot chocolate was good). On one occasion, though, we waited nearly 20 mins to get our drinks, which arrived only marginally before our meals. On other occasions the service was prompt: I know there's only so many coffees a barista or two can make simultaneously, so a full cafe of orders coming in simultaneously will surely create a bottleneck at the espresso machine's. A freshly squeezed orange juice was good, if not on the small side..

Other reviews and blogs mention poor quality, watery coffee - and I'll say that I have had such an experience here ONCE, in the afternoon on a weekday- i'm guessing that might have been trainee time?

We'll be back here again. I've had a few items at dinner time and can say that I was not disappointed - just not overly impressed - I'll keep this place for breakfast and brunch only.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JustDegusting C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langwarrin, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another good cafe for the locals and visitors.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was my 3rd visit inside a month.One breakfast,one lunch and one late afternoon.On each visit I found the café full of customers seemingly enjoying their experience.The traditional breakfast ,whilst not cheap,was large and cooked lovely.The lunch could be described similarly.There was plenty of choice on the menu for all meals.The staff were friendly but a request for hotter coffees fell on deaf ears.On each occasion the café was full so I suggest for breakfast and a reasonable lunchtime booking you book.A very nice local café well worth investigating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blunt-of-Langwarrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food and nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

A casual, very clean and nice café with very friendly staff. Coffee excellent and meals very tasty.
Did not have to wait very long to be served or for the meal. I recommend the meals to share from the menu. A very nice place for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marg184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Cafe also viewed

Mordialloc, Kingston
Mordialloc, Kingston
 
Mordialloc, Kingston
 
Mordialloc, Kingston
 

Been to Main Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing