We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location, awesome food”
other travelers have booked this property
Simply gorgeous sunsets!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Simply gorgeous sunsets!
Stunning beach and beautiful views. Beautiful sunsets
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Simply gorgeous sunsets!
Stunning beach and beautiful views.
Beautiful sunsets
Outside, covered, Dining area
Front View of the house in the evening.
Dining table
Terrace at the front of the House
Terrace table outside the downstairs bedrooms
Amazing Food cooked for you.
The 3rd lovely double bedroom upstairs
Our first double bedroom
One of our single rooms upstairs
Another of our single rooms upstairs
The Kitchen where Ranga, the chef, cooks you an amazing meal!
The bathroom in the double bedroom
Our second double bedroom
View from the bedroom looking on to the beach.
Relax on our hammock and read our book whilst looking over the beach.
Outside lounger on the terrace
Upstairs seating on the balcony with fantastic views.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Talalla, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TikiTolo
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, awesome food”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

The location is perfect -- at the end of a beautiful, long, undeveloped beach. The ocean was great fun to swim in, with waves to dive through or body surf on. Be careful with kids, because there is definitely a current that can sweep them onto the rocks and then out to sea. But strong swimmers will have fun! The ocean/beach are magnificent!

The food was awesome. Ranga the Cook/Manager understood our likes/dislikes immediately (e.g. no garlic, but yes spicy). The meals were presented beautifully, tasted excellent. Both western and Sri Lankan.

The house is not really a villa, more like a collection of individual cinder block rooms opening onto a verandah (both upstairs and downstairs) with a dining area (open) next to the kitchen. Rooms were clean and comfortable enough with clean bedding (Barefoot brand, very nice) and towels (old). Bathrooms also cinder-block/cement, but clean. Hot water showers functioned perfectly!

Kitchen is a bit gnarly, so I wouldn't inspect it.

This is a down-to-earth place in a very beautiful setting. It is not a luxury villa, and it does not have luxury service (though Ranga was nice and very friendly). My rating is based on this understanding.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2014
Dear Beatrice.

Thankyou so much for your kind review and feedback.
It really is a gorgeous spot and we are so very glad you had a fabulous time!
The Kitchen has now been painted and had work done to it
Please come back to see us again sometime!! Warm Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomax V
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This is exactly what we had in mind when we imagined staying on a beach in Sri Lanka. The beach is perfect and so is this guest house, with the best location in Talalla. A nice intimate setting overlooking the water… with no sounds but the ocean waves crashing on shore. On top of this, a very pleasant manager/cook on site.
We looked at all the places to stay in Talalla and this is definitely the best place and the best value.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2014
Hi there Rick.

Thankyou so much for this review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope you can make it to see us again soon.

Best Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange_Tr...
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Overall a lovely place to vacation”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I stayed recently in Talalla Bay with a group of friends for 5 nights. While there were positives and negatives to the experience, overall it was a really lovely place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone.

I'll start with the positives, which definitely outweighed the negatives:
-The best part by far was Ranga, the house manager/cook/overall cool guy. His food was simply amazing and he was fun to be around. He helped us navigate the neighborhood and even took us on a short hike to a neighboring fishing village. I feel like we got to see the real, everyday Sri Lankan life instead of some touristy-resort village.
- The rooms were clean and the beds firm, but comfy.
- The location was spectacular. You're literally a few steps away from a beautiful, fairly isolated beach with clean water and big enough waves for surfing. It's really a paradise. Talalla Bay is about an hour drive from Galle, which makes for a nice day trip. It's also about 4 hours from Udewalawa Park where we went on a nice safari.
- The nearby resort allows you to schedule massages, yoga, or surfing lessons with them. Definitely a nice perk.
- Did I mention the ocean is right there? Spending your days listening to waves crashing is just priceless.
- Speaking of price - it can't be beat. You get a lot of value for your money here.

Like anywhere, there were some negatives and I'd be remiss not to address them here:
- Two of my friends slipped on the stairs leading to the upper floor, resulting in some nasty bruises and a lot of pain. When wet, the stairs are treacherous if you're not extra careful.
- We had a bit of an ant problem when we first arrive. It was quickly addressed, but it's definitely not fun to get into a place at 4am and have ants in the bed.
- The humidity combined with no a/c definitely leaves the air a bit thick and stuffy in the rooms. Not a huge issue, but it's good to know what you're getting into.

So in the end I would absolutely recommend this location. It's beautiful and relaxing - everything we were hoping for on our vacation. Thanks to the owners and the staff for a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the bugs
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2013
Dear Tracey.

Thankyou so much for your kind review and for coming to stay at Talalla Bay Beach House.
We are so happy that you enjoyed the House, its beautiful location and Ranga's cooking!

We have now sorted the stairs and they will no longer pose a problem to anyone. In Sri Lanka you are constantly surrounded by all sorts of wildlife but we think we may have found the solution to stopping the ants coming into the rooms.

Many thanks and the very best regards.
Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2013
Hi there Jacqui.

Thankyou so much and im very glad you enjoyed your time here.
Would be great to see you back sometime soon!

Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna R
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our time at Talalla. It is truly heavenly - perfect yellow sand on the beach, crystal clear waters, simple but very comfortable accommodation and absolutely delicious food provided by chef Ranga. I have travelled around Sri Lanka and can safely say Talalla is THE most gorgeous beach. In July (the low season) the weather was perfect and we only had to share the beach with fishermen and the occasional yogi from the Talalla retreat next door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Mattresses quite thin
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2013
Many many thanks for your review Anna.
I'm so glad you had a lovely time at Talalla. It is a great spot
I very much hope we can see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2013
Many many thanks for your review Tessa.
I'm glad you enjoyed the house and your stay here.
Would be good to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Simoneglt
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place ...”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Thank you Talalla Bay Beach House, a truly magical stay on one of the most beautiful beaches in South Sri Lanka. The house is hidden in a jungle back drop, high trees surrounding, very comfortable rooms facing the sea and just a few steps down to the water. We had a great time, swimming and peaceful long walks on the beach ... a perfect dream

Missing the sound of waves .... Will definitely come back soon for some more magic... :-))

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2013
Thankyou very much for your review Simone.
It was fantastic to have you here.
Hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$275
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing