We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could not have picked a better place, it was AWESOME!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cades Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ReefView Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Karroll and Nick sure do know this island. The vacation started off with Karroll picking us up at the airport, and whisking us "home", after stopping at some roadside stands to get some fresh fruit. When we got to the apartments, we were treated to an evening BBQ on the deck, with some excellent rum punch. The next day was wonderful, as we started off with a morning walk on the beach, and ended with the party at Shirley Heights (a must do). The week was fantastic. Lobster at Chappy's was fantastic. Scuba diving with Paul at Jolly Dive was superior. We went zip lining at the Antigua Rain Forest. We also visited 12 different beaches. We had all of them to ourselves (Deep Bay beach was the best). Karroll was able to direct us to all the best places to go. We watched the sunsets from our balcony. The view of Montserrat from the balcony was spectacular. We could not have had a better holiday. Thanks Reef View. Made for a great 20th Anniversary!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadian_traveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 267 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2009

We spent our 30th anniversary at Reef View apartments and had a glorious week. Karroll is a fabulous innkeeper. Her knowledge of the island and willingness to share made our vacation really super. The apartment was clean, nice and well furnished with all of the necessities plus some. We really enjoyed eating authentic Antiguan food at Chappy's and fishing off the beach near the apt. Everyone we met was very friendly. Dinner and dancing on the cliffs overlooking English Harbor will be one of my fondest memories. Greg's fondest memory is no doubt either catching or eating the large Mango snapper. OK, so the boat ride out to the deserted island, snorkeling, shopping in St. Johns and sightseeing were really fun too. What really made the week fun though were the people. We found Antigua to be such a warm and welcoming place and Karroll is a bit of sunshine. Reef view is in the fishing village of Urlings and is not a self-contained resort. For us, this made our trip much more interesting and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaBlueHeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

I just returned from Antigua, and stayed at Reefview Apartments. What a lovely week!!! Karroll and Nick are wonderful hosts; the penthouse apartment is quite nice in its simplicity. Great views, lovely breezes. I enjoyed the companionship of Ozzie and Cassius, but met the rest of the group, too!

Make no mistake: this area of St. Mary's Parish is home to wildlife and more - so be ready for a wakeup call from the local roosters and warnings of visitors from the neighboring donkeys, birds and dogs! I enjoyed this aspect of island life too, but it may not work for everyone.

To get around, bus service is easy and relatively fast. I planned to rent a car, but after observing driving habits of the locals (not to mention few stoplights, no roadstripes and fewer streetlights), quickly decided against it. Roads are not always nicely paved, so be on alert. Walking and bus service are great! If you wants snacks or groceries, Jolly Harbour has an epicurean (grocery store to Americans). Lots of fun places are nearby, too (Darkwood, the Nest); beaches abound. Don't hesitate to sign up for snorkeling with K&N; it's amazing to observe the marine life. (Karroll, I hope you've recoved from your shark encounter ;-0!) The local museum downtown holds a treasure for those interested in researching island information, as does the small library (free Internet computers available). Nelson's Dockyard is a treasure trove, as is Shirley Heights, Betty's Hope, Fort James - lots to see and do. Or do nothing - that's great, too! Beautiful views, blue waters, and comfy lodgings. A great place to relax and restore your soul!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed 11 days at Reef Views apartments in July 2009. We spent 850 dollars per week. The apartment is 200 meters from Cades bay beach, which is not maybe the best beach in Antigua, but to have a stroll is very nice.We also rented a car from Italy (Karoll did it for us and we found the car at the airport).
Karoll and Nick are very friendly and they can tell you a lot of information about beaches, restaurant and places to see in Antigua. If you like to make some trips, Karoll will organize and book it for you.
They have also 2 dogs and 3 cats and one parrot that will give your their special welcome:-))
The Penthouse flat is quite big for 2 people and we had great time there.
If you do not like resorts or club, these apartments are a good alternative and considering the prices in Antigua they are also quite convenient and you have all the freedom to really live the island and to try restuarants, bars and stands.
If you like boats, Nick has also one and they will be available to take you where you like for a private trip. Finally, I would recommend Reef View Apartments.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

"My boyfriend and I stayed at Nick and Karoll's fabulous vacation compound for a full week and couldn't have been happier with the accomodations. We had our own private courtyard and the cutest of cottages to relax in when we weren't snorkling, fishing off the oceanfront within a few yards of the house, or drinking wadadlis. Karoll and Nick are very gracious hosts and quite knowledgeble about just about everything on the island. We would wholeheartedly recommend a stay at the Reefview to any of our friends. Cheers, Peggy and Paul, Rhinebeck, NY"

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggyandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Karoll and Nick are very good hosts - both are enormously knowledgeable about the island, its history, politics, wildlife, environment. Others have said it more eloquently in their reviews, so we won't go on and on........but the others are correct - Nick is a good hand at the grill, and on the boat, in the water. Karoll knows more about the island than most born there and is very accommodating and helpful.

The apartments are nicely, intelligently furnished and supplied. Each has a good view of the area - sea and sky! And clean. We stayed in the newest, Tree House, and enjoyed the outside shower and the constant breezes coming through the upstairs bedroom windows. Woke early each morning to sound of chickens and donkeys - loved that! Beats sirens, lawnmowers and leaf blowers any day.

We usually snorkelled in the mornings at one of the zillion, absolutely gorgeous beaches - getting to them by bus most times - then ate lunch and dinner at one of the local stands or "joints" (Chappy's was a 5-10 minute walk away, delicious food and friendly). We rarely waited for a bus more than 10 minutes or so.......and they are so cheap that we never did rent a car. Though probably will next time just to see a few other parts of the island.

As someone else said - if you want a resort and club feel, go elsewhere. If you want a friendly, local, interesting place to stay, ReefView is your spot. We will return to ReefView when we go back to Antigua.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnorkelHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I found Reef View through the reviews on this site, and figured since the previous reviews were so helpful, I should share my experience. We stayed here for a week in June, and had a wonderful time. I was a little concerned with having to pay everything upfront with a wire transfer, but the reviews on this site reassured me that I shouldn't worry, and I am happy to say there were no issues. We stayed in the Penthouse, which has great views from the balcony, kitchen, and shower. Karoll was a most welcoming and helpful host, with great tips for what to do around the island. So much has already been said that I probably don't need to repeat but to say that the reviews listed here are accurate overall. It is not perfectly quiet with tree frogs, roosters, some construction, but even given that the setting is peaceful overall. I love animals, so having the cats and dogs around was sweet. The apartment had everything we needed. I couldn't tell from the reviews or maps whether we could walk for groceries or not - you can't. You can take the bus, but we found the car rental to be a much more convenient option. Karoll arranged the rental, and the car was dropped off at the apartment, a very convenient service. Overall, this was a great place to stay and I would go back. Actually, I wish I were there now :)

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cades Bay
9.2 mi away
Buccaneer Beach Club
Buccaneer Beach Club
#1 of 22 in St. John's
362 reviews
6.9 mi away
Antigua's Yepton Estate Cottages
1.1 mi away
South Coast Horizons
South Coast Horizons
#2 of 3 in Cades Bay
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Coco Rose Guest House
Coco Rose Guest House
#1 of 1 in Cades Bay
29 reviews
0 mi away
South Coast Ocean View Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ReefView Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ReefView Apartments

Address: | Damzells, Cades Bay, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Cades Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cades Bay
Price Range: $159 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ReefView Apartments consist of three unique and fully equipped self catering holiday/vacation homes - each with full bathroom and kitchen - set in lush tropical gardens affording spectacular panoramic views of Antigua's famous Cades Reef just 1 mile offshore as well as neighbouring islands of Montserrat, Guadeloupe and Redonda. ReefView Apartments is located on the shores of the Cades Bay Marine Reserve in a quiet residential hamlet - just 100m from a long deserted sandy beach, fringed with coconut palms, with walk in snorkeling available right off the beach. The shallows flats which front the apartments for miles in each direction are also a haven for sports fishermen - offering shots at hard fighting game species such as tarpon, permit, snook, snapper and barracuda - to name but a few.... Ideal for independent travelers, who enjoy long beach walks in beautiful natural surroundings, exploring the many interesting facets of Antigua's history and geography and immersing themselves in the local culture to provide an experience far removed from the generic experience offered by most other resorts. Owned and operated by long time Antigua residents - Karoll and Nick Williams - we are always on hand to help you get orientated and to know THE REAL ANTIGUA!!! We very much look forward to welcoming you to our little piece of paradise - down by the sea..... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reefview Apartments Hotel Cades Bay
Reef View Apartments Antigua
Reef View Apartments Hotel Antigua
ReefView Apartments Antigua/Cades Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing