We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation spot!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cades Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ReefView Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Antigua and much of that can be attributed to our great accommodations in the Garden Apt at ReefView. It had everything we needed and was a relaxing place to return after a day exploring the island. Nick and Karoll, the property owners, really made our stay outstanding in every way. They were a wealth of information and helped us to get the most out of our time there. They had great recommendations for places to eat in their local village and beyond as well as beaches to visit during the day. We took advantage of their welcome BBQ (delicious!), the trip to Shirley Heights and a beautiful day of snorkeling. They also helped organize our day trip to Barbuda which shouldn't be missed! All in all we could not have asked for a better 7 days in paradise or for more accommodating hosts.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank snorkelsnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 267 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed at the Reefview Apartments for one week in June 2011, right at the beginning of Antigua's 'low' season. We couldn't have been happier with our choice and I would highly recommend Reefview to anyone planning a trip to Antigua.

Accommodation:
We stayed in the Seaview Garden apartment, which included a full kitchen, a larger bedroom, and the perfect porch. The apartment was surprisingly big, very clean, and included all the things you would want to feel like you are staying at a friend's beach condo for the week. This included everything from beach towels and coolers to pots and pans. The apartment was the perfect place to come home to after a full day of touring the island. We had a chance to walk through the other apartments, and they were all just as
impressive -- a lot of care and personal attention has gone into this place.

Location:
The apartments are located in small village on the south coast of the island, about 100 yards from the ocean. It is in close proximity to a bunch of great beaches, about 10 minutes from a large grocery store, and a great jumping off point to see the rest of the country. We rented a car for the duration of our trip, which allowed us to explore the entire island on our own. We found the location of Reefview to be ideal for taking off each morning and seeing the sights. The apartments are not surrounding by all-inclusive resorts, buffet lines, and tourists traps, which is exactly what we were looking for. Staying a Reefview gives you a much more 'local' feel for the island -- which can be summed as relaxed, friendly, and just a little off the beaten path.

Hosts:
Nick and Karoll were the perfect hosts. They have lived on the island for many years and know the ins-and-outs of pretty much everything. They did everything and more we could have asked of them. We were looking for a private week on the beach, away from the crowds and Nick and Karoll pointed us in the right direction each and every time. They quickly figured out what we were looking for during our time there, and helped us find it. The quality of service provided far exceeds anything you would get from a concierge desk at a major hotel, and their knowledge of the island is impeccable.

To summarize, if you are looking for a relaxing week on Antigua, away from the crowds and the huge hotels, stay at Reefview, you certainly will not regret it.

Room Tip: The Seaview Garden apartment has the perfect porch to relax on after a long day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinson1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

My girlfriend and I recently vacationed in Antigua for over a week. Since it was our first time in Antigua, and it is a small island, we decided to spend time in different parts of the island. We spent the first part of our trip in the reefview Apartments, and spent the middle and end of our trips in upscale resorts(Verandah). Our time at the Reefview was the best experience of the places we stayed.
Nick and Karoll are extremely friendly and helpful, especially compared to the other places we stayed. When we had questions before our trip we emailed Nick and Karoll and also sent emailes to the resorts we were staying at. Karoll replied to each of our inquiries within a day or two, while we never heard back from the much more expensive resorts.
Nick and Karoll have also lived on the island for many years and know it well. If you let them know what kind of activities you want to do they will find the best option for you, such as snorkeling, a day trip to Barbuda, or Bird Island. For example, my girlfriend and I wanted to check out Bird Island. The day we left Reefview Karoll gave us a number and even called a guy for us who had a ferry service over there, for only 25 dollars each. When we went to our resort later on we asked them about an excursion to Bird Island, and they referred us to a place which was more than double the price, and less time. The resort was also going to take 10% of the booking! ***As a tip, let Nick and Karoll know what you want to do in an email before you arrive and they will help to have it set up before you even get there.
We saw beaches all over the Island, but the ones by the Reefview were the most beautiful, Turners and Darkwood especially. These beaches were much quieter, calmer, had better snorkeling, and much more clear. They also have great restaurant/bars right on the beach.
Overall, our stay at the Reefview was excellent, and if we do go back to Antigua it is where we will be staying. On top of how great it was there, it was also one of the cheapest options available on the island. Incredible value. If you do go, make sure to do the first night BBQ, it is very romantic, the food is great, and it is a wonderful introduction to the island!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob_Lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We must apologize to Nick and Karoll for the very delayed review. Life has been so busy! My husband and I planned a last minute getaway in February to relax. Although we have family in Antigua, we wanted to have our own place to relax. The rates were very reasonable compared to the very expensive hotels on the island. Also, we wanted the ability to just kick back and enjoy living in the more peaceful, laid back areas of the island, away from the hustle and bustle of commercialism. We stayed in the Garden View Apartment, which is on the first floor of the building with an upper and lower level apartment. Having the kitchen was great, as we were able to make breakfast, and dinner on occasion. We liked having the ability to travel short distances to try local food and get to the Epicurian food market. If you need to be pampered in a hotel atmosphere, this place is not for you. But if you want to be in a laid back atmosphere, but not be in total isolation since you are surrounded by Nick and Karoll and other guests to keep you company and give you advice, then this is the place for you. Gorgeous views, and very comfortable and spacious apartment. We are American, and while the apartment isn't gigantic by American standards, it was definitely great for us. You have your own porch, which was great for taking in the fresh air, watching birds and sunsets, and having dinner outside. Inside, you walk into a large room that is your living room, dining area, and kitchen. It was well stocked with the cooking utensils and supplies you need, and was very clean. You then walk into a decent sized bedroom, and a large bathroom. The road that you turn off onto to get to the apartment is local and not paved, but that is part of the experience. We had peaceful nights' sleep, although one morning we could hear a cow loud and clear even though it was on a hill across the road. It didn't bother us, again, part of the experience. Nick and Karoll can provide information and excursions, and the other guests on the property when we were there were great. We think we picked the best room. The upstairs room is basically the same, but with two balconies. However, you will need to navigate a lot of steps each time you need to go in and out. The other apartment on ground level is nice, but it was a bit too rustic for our tastes. It has an outdoor shower, a smaller kitchen, and narrow steps that lead to an upper level bed area. I think it could be a fun experience, but for the right people. The location isn't close to St. Johns at all, so don't come here expecting to make quick and frequent trips there. But we liked the fact that we were away from the hustle and bustle, and like I said before, we were close enough to Jolly Harbor to get to the Epicurian.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antigua_Girl_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

What a wonderful return visit to the Reef View Apartments, it was just like coming home. Nick and Karoll made us so very welcome again and we had a fantastic time. A car is a must for a visit to Antigua so that you can really appreciate this beautiful island. Nick and Karoll are the perfect hosts, always around for a chat, offering recomendations of places to go and helpful advice. The welcome BBQ is a must and the rum punch waiting in our apartment is a lovely touch. We had a great time revisiting places that we fell in love with on our first visit and exploring new sights and places of interest. Reef View is the perfect place to unwind from our normal busy lives and ideally located for travel to rest of the island. Sitting on the balcony, views of Monseratt, rum punch in hand watching a glorious setting sun is my idea of heaven. Thank you Nick and Karoll with much love and hope to see you again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

What a perfect trip! I found Nick and Karoll's place while surfing one night and we based our whole decision to visit Antigua based on the reviews of Reefview Apartments. We weren't disappointed! Any expectations we had for our trip were definitely set low. Since coming home I've described our trip as "perfect", "amazing" and "100 times better than we'd hope." With four children, my wife and I don't have the opportunity to travel, so we needed a destination that would make the most of the week we had. Antigua, and Reefview, did that and more. Karoll picked us up at the airport, and we immediately felt like we were being greeted by a friend. That feeling continued for the whole week. We had some great conversations with them, and their advice was invaluable. We rented the cottage and found it comfortable and perfect for our needs. We had opted to rent a car on our own, although they will look after renting one for you and have it delivered for you. When Nick and Karoll make a suggestion, there is a good reason for it, and that includes suggesting they handle the rental details. Despite having rented the car through a reputable travel site back home and from an international agency, it fell through. We decided to skip the car and travel by bus. What a good decision! The bus system is efficient, safe, comfortable and cheap. We saved a lot of money this way, had a lot of fun, skipped the stress of driving in a foreign country and got to see the real Antigua. We managed to get places on the island by bus that Nick and Karoll hadn't heard of anyone managing to get to by public transit before. One thing I wished we had done was ventured out into the bay for snorkeling earlier in the week. We didn't snorkle off the beach until halfway through the week. Once I got out there I couldn't get enough! Just wade out 50 metres or so, put your head under the water and you're in another world. The fish, coral and all kinds of weird critters are right there to swim with. It was my first time snorkeling and it was amazing! I could go on and on about our trip, but this review would be pages long. Here though are a few quick tips:
1) Take advantage of the bbq.
2) Eat at Chappy's as much as you can - it's cheap and good!
3) Go to church in Urlings if you're there on a Sunday - you'll endear yourself to the people in the village and see another aspect of the Antiguan life.
4) If Nick and Karoll offer some advice, consider it seriously!
5) Don't bother with any prepaid excursions (other than ones suggested or organized by Nick and Karoll). We went on one on the far side of the island and found we had a much better (and cheaper) time finding our own things to do. If we had to do it again, we would have saved our money, invested a bit more, and put it towards an outing with Nick.
The best part of our trip? Feeling that we have gained two new friends! Thanks Nick and Karoll!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scoop1859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

'A' more friendly and welcoming Island you will ever find. The locals are so willing to call out ‘good morning’ or ‘hi’ if you are walking by. Recently the Island has unjustly been named as one of the ‘less safe’ Islands, but we saw or heard no signs in our tour around.

'N'ever leave home without a brolly, Antigua is Tropical and therefore it is supposed to rain a lot. I could not believe the number of Brits whingeing recently at some unsettled weather. If days of unbroken sunshine is what you are after, then Antigua, or any of the Caribbean Isles may not be the ideal place for you.

'T'ake the bus. Public transport is in the form of an 8-seater mini-bus that run set routes along the Islands main highways. Simply put out your hand and wave down the bus. To get off, simply ask the driver to set you off at your destination or when you have become more confident, shout ‘Bus Stop’ Cost’s are really cheap with fares between 2 and 4 EC dollars (50p/£1). From Urlings a bus route takes you all around the South Coast to Carlisle Bay, all the way round to St Johns (the capital) in the North.

'I'nvolve yourself with the local community, buy at the local shops, drink and eat at the local bars (Chappies, OJ’s and Gibson’s) come well recommended. But if you really want to live the local life, go to Church on Sunday morning. There are lots to choose from and you will be welcomed with open arms, word soon spreads and you will find you are being given free lifts and offered evening meals before you know it.

'G'et around the Island, this is a very small Island yet very diverse with sweeping bays and green hills around every corner. As mentioned the bus is a great option, but if you want to see some of the less accessible East coast attractions like Nelsons Dockyard, Shirley Heights and Half Moon Bay (voted in the top 10 worldwide beaches) a car is a fairly reasonable option. The other option is to hire a taxi, these like the bus are 8-seater varieties but have yellow number plates pre-fixed with TX

'U'rlings is the village you will be based in, this is not a high walled security patrolled area, this is a real living and breathing village, warts and all. Everything you need can be sought here, with Chappies bar on the harbour offering meals from 8 EC Dollars (£2). There is also a bakery and lots of other little small shops for beer and the local run (Cavalier)

'A' lot has already been written about Karoll and Nick your hosts, some of it true, a lot of it a touch harsh in my mind, but that’s down to your own personality. What I would say is get over to Antigua before it goes the same way Barbados has being now vastly over-developed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard_CRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cades Bay
12.9 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
2.8 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
876 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buccaneer Beach Club
Buccaneer Beach Club
#1 of 22 in St. John's
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
South Coast Horizons
South Coast Horizons
#2 of 3 in Cades Bay
43 reviews
0 mi away
South Coast Ocean View Apartments
0 mi away
Coco Rose Guest House
Coco Rose Guest House
#1 of 1 in Cades Bay
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ReefView Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ReefView Apartments

Address: | Damzells, Cades Bay, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Cades Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cades Bay
Price Range: $159 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ReefView Apartments consist of three unique and fully equipped self catering holiday/vacation homes - each with full bathroom and kitchen - set in lush tropical gardens affording spectacular panoramic views of Antigua's famous Cades Reef just 1 mile offshore as well as neighbouring islands of Montserrat, Guadeloupe and Redonda. ReefView Apartments is located on the shores of the Cades Bay Marine Reserve in a quiet residential hamlet - just 100m from a long deserted sandy beach, fringed with coconut palms, with walk in snorkeling available right off the beach. The shallows flats which front the apartments for miles in each direction are also a haven for sports fishermen - offering shots at hard fighting game species such as tarpon, permit, snook, snapper and barracuda - to name but a few.... Ideal for independent travelers, who enjoy long beach walks in beautiful natural surroundings, exploring the many interesting facets of Antigua's history and geography and immersing themselves in the local culture to provide an experience far removed from the generic experience offered by most other resorts. Owned and operated by long time Antigua residents - Karoll and Nick Williams - we are always on hand to help you get orientated and to know THE REAL ANTIGUA!!! We very much look forward to welcoming you to our little piece of paradise - down by the sea..... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reefview Apartments Hotel Cades Bay
Reef View Apartments Antigua
Reef View Apartments Hotel Antigua
ReefView Apartments Antigua/Cades Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing