We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around and still fabulous”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cades Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ReefView Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2011

My batteries have once again been recharged with my second visit to what is becoming my favourite place to stay in the Caribbean.
This time I chose to take a friend with me and we stayed in the Penthouse with fantastic views. I had fully intended to hire a car and explore a bit more of the island this time.
Nick and Karoll though encouraged us to take the buses and I am so glad that we did as we got to enjoy the Antiguan way of life and meet many of the local people. We were invited for a cookery lesson to make a delicious callaloo and crab soup with interesting vegetables that I have never used before such as okra and callaloo. Then we got invited to a funeral of an old lady in Sawcolts a tiny little village just near the rain forest. Everyone was so smart and the singing was lovely. We ventured into St Johns City and really enjoyed buying local beaded handicrafts from wandering vendors and enjoying our first roti and freshly made tamarind and passion juice in a small west indian cafe. But most of all we enjoyed wandering down with our chairs to one of our favourite spots on the beach in front of the apartment and just watching the birds and boats passing by or exploring all the sandy bays along the coastline looking for shells. Nick kindly brought down our picnic cooler for us to save us two trips and it was easy to while away the hours and watch the gorgeous sunsets. Nick took us out on his boat one day for an adventure and we found many starfish and drank cocktails in the sea. These memories will get me through the winter months now until the next time I need some pampering in the sunshine.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
Thank SunLover1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 267 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2011

We are not resort people-- we visited Antigua to immerse ourselves in the culture and the fantastic wildlife of the island. Reefview was a perfectly situated base for us to do precisely that, and what a rewarding time we had.
The nearby beaches were beautiful, the local food delicious, and the people warm and helpful.
Our stay was comfortable and pleasant, the room was clean and well equipped, and the shelves were even stocked with books and games suitable for the entire family.
Don't forget your binoculars if you are a birder, you will be beside yourself!

...and Karroll and Nick do make a wicked rum punch...!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bi0geeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We arranged our vacation based on reviews we read in Tipadvisor and we were not disappointed.
We made all of the financial arrangements before leaving Canada, and as organized, Karoll was waiting at the airport to pick us up.
It was a short drive from the airport through the famous rainforest along Fig Tree Drive. We stoped to do some grocery shopping along the way and soon arrived at The ReefView Apartments.
We were greated by Nick and they showed us to our apartment which was very clean and well maintained. We did our last bit of paperwork and paid our security deposit.
That evening we enjoyed our B B Q supper with Nick and Karoll. The evening provided us with the opportunity to talk with our hosts and get a good feel for the island.
Both Karoll and Nick had a great amount of information to share with us and they very happy to answer all of our questions.
Other than for one day, we did not rent a car and it certainly was not a problem. We took local bus transportation from Reefview to all of the local beaches and into Jolly Harbour. If we happened to be out and about after the bus # 22 stopped, we took a taxi.
We loved the beaches, blue green water, loved the restaurants, great selection of wine, loved the hospitality of the local people and we felt very secure where ever we went. There was even a great local gym.
Our apartment was very comfortable and we met many nice people as they came and went at Reefview.
The water was just a short distance from our apartment and it was a great shoreline to walk along for a great distance and when we joined Nick on his daily walk with the dogs, he shared all of his knowledge about the local environment and marine life.
We spent ten great evenings in Antigua and saw ten great sunsets.
It came time to leave and we wished we could stay another ten nights.
We made arrangements for Karoll to drive us to the airport. Our security deposit was returned to us.
Karoll and Nick take great pride in Reefview and work very hard at trying to help their guests enjoy their vacation.
We wiould certainly return to Antigua and Reefview.

We loved our visit.

Montreal, Quebec

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Although we stayed here In January /February we have had problems with our computer, hence the delay. What a lovely time we had, this is a great place to stay, away from the madness of large resorts it is a peaceful escape in a small village with a small sprinkling of shops and a nice local bar/restaurant close to, then there is the beach only a five minute walk away where you will probably not see another person and if you take your snorkelling gear you will out looking at fish in minutes, walk a bit further to the left and you can get out to deeper water where you will see even more, apparently rays and turtles if you are lucky. A boat trip further out to the reef would reveal more and I wish I had done it. (bit unlucky with the weather on the second week so could not go out)
Nick and Karroll are very Knowledgeable about the island with Nick being a veritable "David Attenborough" with his wisdom on all things living, they are good company with many a story to tell and worth inviting up for the odd drink or two. We used the buses for the first week and found them to be great way to get about with a car (Jeep) being hired for the second week, very useful to get to a lot of out the way places. The issues of transferring money and paying deposits we had no problem with, small operations like this need to build in safeguards as experience has probably taught them. This is a holiday for the more open minded though you do not have to be an action man to enjoy it. We did manage the Montserrat helicopter trip and the Barbuda trip which I would greatly recommend along with Shirley Heights. I would try to give St Johns a wide birth when the cruise ships are in. We done most of the things we intended but now know there is more to see, a return trip might be neccesary.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffdobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Having stayed at Reefview Apartments last year and loved it we decided to go back this year, and we are so, so glad we did. Run by Karoll & Nick, it has got to be the most homely and friendly place to stay on the island. In our case as we were there last year, Karoll kindly organised for us to pick up a hire car at the airport, but she will collect you and organise a car for you later when you want it .The hire company they deal with is excellent and reliable - we even had a new car this time. You arrive tired from travelling, and are greeted warmly by Karoll and Nick and immediately given a cool homemade rum punch (much nicer than the bought readymade variety). You settle in and then join your hosts for a delicious barbeque dinner in their garden. They have lived on the island for many years and will tell you so much about the real Antigua. Next day - or when you choose - Karoll will give you a thorough run down on things to do and places to go in Antigua - and most important - where to eat! You must go to Sheer Rocks restaurant for wonderful food in a truly magnificent setting. However the apartments are well equipped if you want to eat in. There are several beautiful beaches, with shade, very close by, with restaurants for lunch. And the water is warm and heavenly for swimming. I There are lots of other beaches on the island - you can get around by bus but it is certainly easier by car and you can explore more. Karoll will give you books on the flora and fauna, books written by people who have lived on the island - you only have to ask and she will provide. Nothing is too much trouble it seems! Nick and Karoll, who are both well qualified divers, will take you snorkelling and will show you so much of the colourful life around the reef. And if you are nervous they are wonderful at helping you and encouraging you. And they will send you photos of the experience.
And most of all what I love about Reefview is their menagerie - two dogs, 3 cats and a blind parakee - all rescued animals - making it the most homely place you'll find. And to top it all, this year Karoll arranged for a really lovely beautician to give me a pedicure on our balcony - looking out over the sea. What a luxury! Oh I didn't mention the lovely balcony - if you are lucky enough to get the penthouse apartment - you can sit and gaze out over Montserrat with it's smoking volcano. Oh I wish I was back there!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

After staying with Nick and Karrol for a week I felt compelled to let everyone know what a great experience I had at the reefview.In a world of hyperbole and spin it's great to find a place that comes exactly as advertised. The small but perfectly kept property is exactly as it seems on the website.It's not in town,but is surrounded by working Antiguan homes a short walk from the nearly deserted beach and a stones throw from some truly amazing snorkleing,either from shore or off of Nick's snorkle boat.I had absolutely no trouble sending the money order from my bank in Canada and everything moneywise was totally on the up and up. If you are a cruiseship/all inclusive weenie then this place is probably not for you but if you are an experienced,interested traveller then you will love it.Karoll has been on Antigua for13 yrs and I found her recommendations for everything from food to car rentals to be spot on.And yes I would recommend getting a car for at least part of your stay. All in all a great travel experience for me and my friend.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank travelcanuck_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed 10 nights at Reefview apartments and thoroughly enjoyed our experience from the moment we were met at the airport, until we had to sadly leave.

The apartments are clean, comfortable and we were made to immediately feel at home by Karoll and Nick's warm hospitality. This was our first trip to the Caribbean and we were keen to avoid the typical busy tourist trap that you can get anywhere in Europe - and we succeeded. The apartments are located in a peaceful little village with plenty of amenities for your basics as well some great local eateries. They are based minutes away from what we thought were the best beaches on the island (which we couldn't believe just how quiet they were compared to Dickenson's Bay etc which we left after about 30 seconds!)

We felt completely relaxed and totally at home, Karoll and Nick were on hand for really great local advice, a good old chat and a drink, as well as very good at leaving us to our own devices.

Reefview Apartments offer great value for money on what is an expensive island, you have to remember these are self catering apartments and a small privately run business. In regards to a few previous comments about paying upfront and deposits etc we have found this is completely standard practice for independently run apartments or even small hotels we have stayed in across the world. There are only three rooms - no one can afford to have a last minute cancellation wiping out a third of their business if they can't re-fill the booking at short notice.

All in all, if you are not the sort of person that wants to follow the all inclusive cruise ship crowds this is definitely the place to be.

Thanks Karoll and Nick for making it a wonderful holiday and hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Luke and Hannah.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahdemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cades Bay
12.9 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
2.8 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
876 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buccaneer Beach Club
Buccaneer Beach Club
#1 of 22 in St. John's
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
South Coast Horizons
South Coast Horizons
#2 of 3 in Cades Bay
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Coast Ocean View Apartments
0 mi away
Coco Rose Guest House
Coco Rose Guest House
#1 of 1 in Cades Bay
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ReefView Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ReefView Apartments

Address: | Damzells, Cades Bay, Antigua
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Cades Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cades Bay
Price Range: $159 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ReefView Apartments consist of three unique and fully equipped self catering holiday/vacation homes - each with full bathroom and kitchen - set in lush tropical gardens affording spectacular panoramic views of Antigua's famous Cades Reef just 1 mile offshore as well as neighbouring islands of Montserrat, Guadeloupe and Redonda. ReefView Apartments is located on the shores of the Cades Bay Marine Reserve in a quiet residential hamlet - just 100m from a long deserted sandy beach, fringed with coconut palms, with walk in snorkeling available right off the beach. The shallows flats which front the apartments for miles in each direction are also a haven for sports fishermen - offering shots at hard fighting game species such as tarpon, permit, snook, snapper and barracuda - to name but a few.... Ideal for independent travelers, who enjoy long beach walks in beautiful natural surroundings, exploring the many interesting facets of Antigua's history and geography and immersing themselves in the local culture to provide an experience far removed from the generic experience offered by most other resorts. Owned and operated by long time Antigua residents - Karoll and Nick Williams - we are always on hand to help you get orientated and to know THE REAL ANTIGUA!!! We very much look forward to welcoming you to our little piece of paradise - down by the sea..... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reefview Apartments Hotel Cades Bay
Reef View Apartments Antigua
Reef View Apartments Hotel Antigua
ReefView Apartments Antigua/Cades Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing