We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“comfortable, homely, adaptable house with amazing...”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of The Song House

The Song House and Iconic Muckish Mountain in the Background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Song House and Iconic Muckish Mountain in the Background
Twin Room Cosy Fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Song House and Iconic Muckish Mountain in the Background
Twin Room
Cosy Fireplace
Bunk Beds
The Song House Garden
The Song House Garden and View Across Fields
The Fire Pit In Use
Beautiful walks in the wilderness nearby
Fantastic Views Everywhere
Beautiful and Expansive Local Beaches
Mount Errigal
Ray church - 6th Century Ruins
Ray church- the tallest single stone cross in Ireland
The Song House Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Falcarragh, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
gypsymeg
suffolk, uk
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“comfortable, homely, adaptable house with amazing views”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

This house is so welcoming, relaxing and easy to settle in to. The group room has beautiful energy . It is in easy reach of different terrains - mountain, loch, town, beach, but is nestled peacefully into the landscape. I was in a B&B just up the road where I was warmly welcomed and fed! This is a very special place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2018
thank you Gypsymeg. So pleased the house provided a relaxing and enriching space to stay. we hope to see you again, Candy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merigoad
Cupar, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderfully warm welcome to such a peaceful place!”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Fantastically warm welcome from Candy and Robin! The place exudes peace and harmony and gave my group the perfect break they needed. We made wonderful music with Candy leading us so sensitively in a range of beautiful songs. From paddling in the sea on our first afternoon, to exploring Glenveagh National Park and listening to local musicians in the pub, we had so many experiences, and bonded so closely, that our four-night stay felt like a much longer holiday! Thank you, Candy and Robin, for caring for us so well and making it such a special time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2018
Meri thank you for such a wonderful review. I'm thrilled that all our preliminary work together paid off and your group had such a great time. I hope to welcome you again one day. all good wishes Candy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birgitber...
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“What a warm welcome and nice house with nice people inside!!! Feeling home”
Reviewed May 1, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The very very nice and awesome landscape, the kindness and friendlyness of the people, the "cometogether" in the house! Thank you for a wonderfull week, full of inspireing moments and evenings!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2018
Thank you Birgit. So nice to have you join us, and for your contributions to the singing holiday. Hope to see you again, all best Candy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Magical !”
Reviewed April 26, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Iv'e just spent a few days in this amazing place. The Song House is warm and inviting with fantastic views of mountains and open countryside. Candy and Robin have found a little gem ... Beautiful beaches are just a few minutes from the house and the little town of Falcarragh is charming and unspoilt , Everyone is so friendly and welcoming, This is a very special place which invites you to return again and again. I will be back !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2018
Thank you Barbara for your excellent review. I'm thrilled you like it so much and look forward to hosting you and your friends again. all best Candy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuGra1970
Wurzburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful week with magic moments”
Reviewed April 20, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Many thanks to Candy and Robin for a wonderful week at your songhouse in Falcarragh. Thanks for the warm welcome, the sharing of your home, the care you gave us, all the little extras, the harmony we all felt. I enjoyed singing a wide variety of music from different nations and I especially loved the song "When the Ice came". You are a wonderful teacher, Candy, who encouraged us to let our emotions flow and our heart speak through the music. It was a week full of laughter and joy and harmony between all of us. I'm looking forward very much to coming again to a Singing Holiday at Teach na nAmhrán, to the beauty of the wild landscape, to the wide sandy beaches and the azure blue sea sparkling like diamonds in the sun.
Love Susanne

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2018
Fantastic review Susanne, thanks so much. And thrilled that you loved the holiday so much. We look forward to your future visit. all best Candy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyneth E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable cottage in great location”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The Song House is well placed for a holiday in Donegal. Our party a choir of ten enjoyed a stay here in April. There was a great space in which to sing, a wonderful kitchen in which to cook and chat and a library of books, guided walks and maps to help us plan out time. Candy, the owner told us the best pub to visit for traditional music sessions, we went along and were invited to sing, an honour.
By day we walked from the house to the sea and to view amazing sunsets. Nearby too were great beaches and pretty towns with art galleries and artisan food,
The peat fueled fire was a joy to sit around and chat.
The garden space too is well stocked with herbs and flowers a joy to see and sit in.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2018
Many thanks Gwyneth for your kind words. It was a joy having you and your choir to stay. You were well received in the pub too, I heard on the grapevine! Candy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitedove...
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a gem”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Great place to stay to explore this gorgeous part of the world.
Our choir stayed here. We sang, walked, shared meals in the warm well- equipped kitchen. Highly recommend for self-catering groups.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2018
Many thanks Sian for your kind words. It was special having you here. I'm so glad you enjoyed it so much. Come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing