We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good return visit”
Review of Stables Groomsport

Stables Groomsport
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Groomsport
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good return visit”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

hadn't been here for a considerable time and as wife did not have any dinner made tonight decided to nip down to groomsport.There were three of us and we were seated promptly and drinks ordered as soon as we were given menues.Two of us decided to order from the two course specials and the third being a fussy eater requested something that was not on the menu and was accommodated with no fuss.Our starters and mains were served very promptly and were of excellent value and taste.Overall a pleasant experience with good food,great service and no hassle.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    86
    35
    44
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Won't be back for a long time. ”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Went a few nights ago and it was all a disappointment. The salted chilli chicken wasn't, it was grilled/fried with sweet chilli sauce, a pet hate of mine. The liver was very overdone and everywhere I looked needed a clean.
Pity as our last visit was very very good.

Helpful?
5 Thank Hatandgloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Chose to visit the stables on Mother's Day as their advertised menu sounded very good. There were sixteen adults and a three old in our party. We expected it to be busy, so booked our table in advance for 6pm, despite being reassured three times our table would be ready in five minutes, we weren't being seated until 7pm!! Waiting in the cramped bar area with a hungry child is definitely not a good start to the meal! The trio of fish was delicious but the Turkey, Luke warm (as was the vegetable soup starter) and not very palatable. The broccoli was too hard although other veg ok and the champ (minus the scallions) average! Dessert was mainly enjoyed by everyone. The waitresses and waiter pleasant, although the man serving behind the bar was obviously having a bad day. Won't be in any hurry back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Feel it's slipping a bit”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This used to be the place to go when owned by Mr Carmichael owned it before he bought it back, last time I was in it it was still under lease.
Food is average but it seems to have list it's atmosphere and I had to take back two pints of Guinness and I've been drinking Guinness for over 37 yrs and it's not right.
Sorry stables but there is more places about to spend my money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank malcolm1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“very enjoyable experience”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Staying in Holywood for the weekend, my sister & I decided to go for a drive along the coast . We stopped by chance at the Stables and were delighted to be made to feel very welcome , even though it was a Friday evening & we hadn't booked . The staff were very pleasant & attentive . The Spring/Summer offer of a 2 course meal was great value for money and very tasty . We had the melon starter followed by Silverside with champ & veg - melt in your mouth !! To add to our enjoyment we were entertained by a two piece swing jazz group - we could have sat there all night ! All in all a very pleasant evening which I would recommend to anyone travelling in the area

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roisin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stables Groomsport also viewed

Donaghadee, County Down
Groomsport, County Down
 

Been to Stables Groomsport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing