We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again”
Review of Mymos Goa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carmona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mymos Goa
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We returned to India for a 3 week trip ending with another stay at Mymos - Casa de Calata, a very comfortable and relaxing location near to the Sal River where we were immediately made to feel at home. There are some lovely local walks to the river, villages and beaches. The local people are very friendly. Denis who is a mine of information is a great chef, you can order your dinner in the morning and he will buy all the ingredients fresh from the market and cook at a time that suits you.
If your stay coincides with a Sal River boat trip book yourselves in as the scenery, food and drink are great and it's very good value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 29 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday, this guest house is very clean and you are well looked after, everything is in walking distance, in a nice peaceful location.we will definitely book again

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Staying at Mymos was lovely. Not least the comfortable bed with sprung mattress, spacious bedroom and bathroom with constant hot water supply. Our stay was so relaxing and Denis, the host, looked after us brilliantly - nothing was too much trouble. Can't wait until our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are very well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

As seasoned travellers, it's rare that my wife and I find a spot we want to stay at for more than a few days. Our experience of Mymos has given us that one special place we can just stop and relax in. So much so that we have be revisiting for over four years now - we see it as our place to have a proper holiday, rather than the sometimes hectic lifestyle of constant travelling.

Denis and Karen have always made us feel like royalty. Their hospitality and kindness seems to know no bounds and their knowledge of the local area and people has enabled us to find good friends and places to visit.

Their style and grace is reflected beautifully in their wonderful home; tastefully decorated interiors with that subtle touch of luxury coupled with the marvellous landscaped gardens often makes us wonder why they don't charge double!

A great Chef; Denis often made us the most delicious meals and on our last night he gave us a surprise barbeque and invited over some of his friends he thought we might get along with... it turns out he's also a fantastic judge of character as we made some really good friendships.

The area is quiet and peaceful and at the time we were there numerous birds kept my spotter wife intrigued from the comfort of the verandah, cold glass of Madera Rose in one hand, binoculars in the other. Just far enough away from the noisy 5 star hotels, but just a five minute scooter ride from the beach this perfectly positioned accomodation would suit the Solo traveller, couples, families, groups of friends or indeed the business traveller looking for a bit of respite from the daily grind.

The large, cool and airy marble floored ensuite rooms downstairs and the self contained flat upstairs are all finished to the same high standards and I can see why Mymos is so often revisited by previous guests.

My Advice? BOOK EARLY TO AVOID DISAPPOINTMENT!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, We preferred to stay on the west side at the front as it looks out onto th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CBR-Photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We loved the look of this place so much, we moved out of the apartment we were staying in and spent the last 3 weeks of our holiday there. Can not wait until Dec 3rd when we're back again. This time for 3 months.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndrewandGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at Casa de Calata in January 2012. The villa is luxurious and finished to a very high standard, marble and Burma Teak everywhere. It's located a few minutes lovely walk away from the Carmona - Cavelossim road in Salcete, South Goa, The garden is beautiful which links to the terrace along one side of the villa, from here you have direct access to the River Sal which is a excellent short walk away. Denis is a charming host and accomplished chef, he looked after us as if we were part of his family, he is a great source of information and is very knowledgeable when it comes to the Goan rich flora and fauna which surrounds the villa. Bicycles, scooters or motorbikes can be hired. We explored by walking, buses and trains. Life's too short without experiencing a stay here. Go! Just like the other reviewers to date, will be returning. Suzie & Kevin

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We have just visited and booked for 9 weeks for next winter. Lovely welcome from even lovlier hosts . We were recommended this property by close friends and we can't thank them enough. We are so looking forward to coming back to Goa to stay in this fabulous typically Goan property with such great hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank AndrewandGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mymos Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mymos Goa

Address: Casa de Calata, Carmona 403717, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette > Carmona
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Carmona
Price Range: $39 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Villa/Guesthouse set in beautifully, landscaped gardens in the beachside resort of Carmona, South Goa.Carmona is nestled between Cavelossim and Varca. It has the beach to the west side of the village and the spectacular River Sal to the east of the village.Our Villa/Guesthouse is located on the east side of the village just a 2 minute walk from the banks of the River Sal and a 30 minute walk/10 minute cycle ride/5 minute drive to the beach. Scooter and bicycle hire can be arranged.It is in the perfect location for experiencing true Goan village life, bird watching, riverside walks, village walks along flat country lanes, beach walks, boat trips, cycle rides (cycle tours of the locality can be arranged), shopping trips or just relaxing on the terrace with a good book! The pace of life can be as fast or slow as you like.The ground floor of our Villa sleeps a maximum of 8 persons and can be rented on an exclusive basis and includes daily housekeeping and breakfast. The minimum rental period is one week. Alternatively, our large, airy bedrooms which sleep 2 persons can be booked on an individual Guesthouse basis which also include daily housekeeping and breakfast. There is also a luxury one bedroom apartment available to rent on a weekly basis which comprises a bedroom, en suite bathroom, kitchen, lounge and balcony. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing