We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised it is no. 1 in Hughtown” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schooners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Schooners Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hugh Town
Certificate of Excellence
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surprised it is no. 1 in Hughtown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Not the easiest entrance to find, hidden down a passage but a good welcome when we got there. Sorry we hadn't booked a sea view but room was adequate. Bathroom too: not large but very clean. Breakfast pretty good and plent of it. The lounge on the top floor was lovely but the staircases were steep and quite narrow, not for the less mobile.

Room Tip: Sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WAC188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    36
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
107
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived after stormy crossing to a very warm welcome at Schooners. Staff so friendly and the service and food excellent. A hearty breakfast of any composition was available and all residents spoke and engaged with each other if they wanted to share tips on where to go or what they had been doing that day. The lounge 'on top of the world' with panoramic views of the harbour was a wonderful place to relax after a long day out. I enjoyed the puzzle I started but unfortunately did not get time to finish it! Perhaps next time!! We will be back I'm sure.

Room Tip: Top floor room has a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 450Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived on Saturday 14th September, I was really looking forward to this break and on reading other reviews thought Schooners was the perfect place to stay even though it was only 2 star. Booked in without a hitch and was shown to room 8 with sea view. I can honestly say it is the smallest room I have ever stayed in, The bed faced the window with barely a foot around it,,so it was easier to climb over than walk round. 2 chairs were facing the other direction overlooking the door to the very small en suite and wardrobe, not quite what I had in mind. The wardrobe could not fit in all our clothes as it was so small, no door just a manky curtain. There was a draft from both the windows which was hardly surprising as the draught excluder was hanging off and from the main door and the wardrobe. The gap under the main door was so big you did not need a light on at night as it shone through the bottom. I had nowhere to put the wash bag except on top of the loo or in the sink and quite honestly I would not put anything on the revolting wooden shelf in the shower it really was quite horrible. To get dressed it was easier if one of us sat on the bed as you really did not have the room to swing a cat. The coffee and tea I thought looked plentiful and it was but no-one had the sense to see how long some of those teas had been in there and on closer inspection I removed what looked to be the freshest ones so they were not in the filthy pot. Breakfast the first morning was poor, warm bread not toast, very weak coffee and scrambled egg on the soggiest toast known to man, totally inedible. 2nd morning was excellent my only guess was Sunday is the chefs day off. The staff were polite and friendly, this hotel was of great disappointment to us especially as other reviews praised it over and over again. The only thing going for it is the view it most certainly does not warrant a price tag of £160 per night. It has not put us off the Scilly's, next time we will go self catering and stay a week for roughly the same price.

Room Tip: not room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank piplie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alresford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay in this cosy and comfortable hotel. The staff are all very friendly ensuring high levels of cleanliness and service. The food is excellent with a hearty breakfast providing a good start to each day and excellent evening meals are very good value for such high calibre food.
Our sea view from a very wide window in our room was the highlight of our stay.
The central location of Schooners is very convenient.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is a must. Spectacular vista and so private you are able to leave the curtain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated near the town, beach and quay yet not on the main drag. It is peaceful with epic views across the harbour from the lovely upstairs open tea room area and also from the bar. Rooms and comfortable with homemade woodwork showing the care that has been taken. Manager is always on hand to give advice and make anything better.

Breakfast is delicious (I saw a certificate saying they had a "breakfast award" and you can see why) with everything personalised the way you like it.

Dinner if you choose to eat in was surprisingly some of the best food we had on the island. Pick the menu in the morning and relax in your hotel with your meal in the evening.

Situated very close to the beautiful Rat Bag shop for quality canvas products that we fell in love with.

The stay could not have been better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this beachside Hotel on the Isles of Scilly and enjoyed lovely views of the harbour. Our room was excellent, very tastefully appointed with plentiful towels and crisp linen, line dried in the sea breeze. Our hosts were most helpful and the coffee machine in the lounge was a lovely touch.

Room Tip: Top floor, you can hear the seagulls quite early in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doyogadaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you're visiting the Isles of Scilly and are looking for somewhere to stay - look no further! The location is first class and every member of staff is both helpful and friendly.
One further point - the food. Paul, the chef is first rate and produces a different menu each day. £15 per head for 3 courses!! I cannot understand why people wander the streets looking for somewhere to eat when Schooners is right under their noses.
Alright, the single room I had was a little compact - but it had everything I needed and what a view!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view - whatever it costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hugh Town
0.1 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Mary's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Schooners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooners Hotel

Property: Schooners Hotel
Address: Thorofare | Town Beach, Hugh Town TR21 0LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's > Hugh Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hugh Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Schooners Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Hotel in the heart of Hugh Town, close to shops, restaurants, Beach and boating. We are a small warm and friendly hotel owned by Island born sailers Carol & Keith Buchanan.We take pride in our exellent reputation for good food and service. Book direct for best possible prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Schooners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooners Hotel St Marys
Schooners Hotel Hugh Town, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing