We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent place to stay with first class hosts.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Starcross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Croft Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Starcross B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An excellent place to stay with first class hosts.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Croft was recommended to me by relations who live in the area. From the moment I spoke to Colin on the phone when booking I knew it was going to be a good stay and we were not disappointed. First class in everything and what beautiful food. It was an absolute pleasure to stay there and both Colin and Ken deserve all the praise they get. Just wish we could have stayed longer. It was our first stay but certainly won't be our last....my mum is already planning her next visit! When we go back it will feel like we will be visiting friends.
See you soon. Love Julie and Barbara
P.s please say hello to Don!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jshepps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much Julie & Barbara for your thoughtful and kind appreciative review.

As you mentioned your words, from the minute we spoke over the telephone we knew we would have a good stay - it was the same for me so easy to chat naturally from the off and booking was a real pleasure.
When we did meet you it was an added bonus, we also thank you for your lovely company whilst you were both here.

It will be so nice to meet you again on your next trip down this way and we can have more chats and laughs.

Glad everything was to your liking and I did pass on your regards to Don whom also says a very big hello to you both.
Don visits us every Tuesday and Saturday so maybe hopefully your next intened visit will include either days so you can see him again for yet more laughter.

Hope this response finds you both safe well and happy - Lots of good wishes
Col n Kenny and the pets - Oh and Don of course
xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
81
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were there for one night after a mistake at another place. The room was spacious comfy and clean. The breakfast was excellent and Colin and Ken were attentive hosts. What more could we want. Easy access to the back road to Dawlish Warren and the pubs and Restaurants in Cockwood

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NortonKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review much appreciated.
It was also very nice to meet you both and really enjoyed our animal chats - Glad you enjoyed your stay and glad we could bridge a gap during your stay in the area.
Hope this finds you both safe well and happy
Best wishes always and if youre ever passing by again then your more than welcome to pop in and say hi.

Thank you once again

Col n Ken and our pets lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was so lucky that my partner found and booked this place, Colin and Ken are the dogs danglys as hosts and we enjoyed our stay at the Croft and will back to visit the area again hopefully with more time to experience them, their stories and the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review, Much appreciated.

It was also so nice to meet you both and was great fun with all the stories and past and present experiences of the Guest House, and more to follow.

Glad you enjoyed your stay and so much look forward to seeing you here again one day, even if youre just passing by.

As I say all of the time in my replies it is always so nice meeting guests that are so friendly and enjoy the comapny held here.
Youre always welcome back anytime - were open all year as you know.

Stay well safe and happy always best wishes all round.

Col n Kenny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Croft is a friendly place. We had comfy and spacious rooms.
The owners made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was great with a choice of fruit, cereals, toast and a cooked breakfast. You had no need to leave hungry!
Parking is excellent and the location, despite being on a road, was quiet, despite being a bank holiday weekend. The Croft is well-situated for the sea and Dartmoor is not very far away.

Room Tip: A good size groundfloor room (9) if required. Other rooms are on the first floor. Nice views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonGDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review much appreciated.

Glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us.
It is always so nice to meet genuine friendly guests as yourselves.

Nice to know that you liked the choices for breakfast and found the private off road car parking to your requirements.

Thank you for leaving such a thoughtful tidy room, it looked as if no one had even stayed!

Best wishes always and hope your journey home was a safe and plesant one.

Col n Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Have just returned from our 1st visit to the Croft, We only had two nights there and wished it could have been more! Ken and Colin are so friendly and welcoming. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The breakfast was the best we have ever had. We are already planning our next stay! It will really be like visiting old friends! Ben is also looking forward to seeing Colin for his doggy massage!! See you soon, Sue, Carl and Ben x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susank863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Many thanks Sue & Carl for your kind review, much appreciated.

It was also nice to meet you both and the lovely Ben, whom I think I have got a lovely rapport with now lol!
Just a shame you couldnt stay longer, but so glad that you will be coming back, maybe for your special anniversary.
Glad you enjoyed your stay, and Kens breakfasts.

So nice to chat and relax in the bar lounge too and let Ben have a special massage which I know he enjoyed thoroughly, theres more awaiting him lol and plenty of chit chat and laughs for us too.

Stay well safe and happy - Best wishes always

Colin n Kenny.
xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Croft was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there last year and have booked again for this year. We were not disappointed. Our room was clean and comfortable with a lovely view. Colin & Ken were wonderful hosts who couldn't do enough for us. The breakfasts were the best we have ever had anywhere - compliments to Ken (and of course Lulu). The lovely Colin kept us entertained at breakfast and chatted at length about his beloved Sunderland and put up with our Villa chat. 3 nights was not long enough. We would not hesitate to book next year and look forward to seeing Colin & Ken again (and the gorgeous Ellie).
Margaret & Alan

Room Tip: Front facing first floor rooms have lovely view of harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Many thanks Margaret & Alan for your kind review much appreciated.

It was so nice to have met you, As your pals (The WBA) fans were saying that they were going to recommend us to you, and did just so - and we finally met you both.

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay, it was equally lovely having relaxed and genuine guests once again with us - thank you.
( It is also the reason we dont do online bookings, as we find we can chat to the guests prior to their intended stay and become more helpful with any requests or general information)

Hope to see you again sometime & Thank you once again for your kind review
Thank you also from Lulu and Ellee too lol
Col n Kenny

PS Have a great season Premierwise!
xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Colin and Ken run The Croft in a really homely friendly way. Nothing is too much and the breakfast is brilliant ! We took out dog with us and were given a lovely large room on the ground floor, which stayed cool despite the warm weather.

Lovely friendly people who look after you. Would not hesitate visiting again or recommending The Croft to any one who wants a lovely, clean, well run holiday in a lovely part of the world :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review much appreciated.
It was lovely to meet you both and "Jack"
Glad to know you had a relaxing time here and enjoyed your breakfasts.
With the weather being so warm the room is perfect for pets keeping them cooler aswell as easy access for walkies!

Look forward to seeing you all again should you be around this particular area again, until then stay well safe happy always

Best wishes
Col n Kenny and Ellee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Starcross
1.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
634 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
2.4 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
2.0 mi away
Mill Farm
Mill Farm
#18 of 74 in Exeter
61 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lyme Bay House
Lyme Bay House
#4 of 12 in Dawlish
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft Guest House

Property: The Croft Guest House
Address: Cockwood Harbour | Starcross, Starcross EX6 8QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Starcross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Starcross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed,beverage making facilities,Showers & en Suite facilities.All rooms with wall mounted TV’s & Free Wi-Ficonnection available.Welcome folder information on surrounding areas & the local amenities.Breakfast menu of varied choices served in spaciousDining room overlooking private gardens.Safe off road free private car parking for both cars & boats.Comfortable lounge with fully Licensed bar, where you canRelax & enjoy large screen TV screen or browseInformation leaflets & plan your days.A 5 minute walk to two of Devon’s finest pub/restaurantsThe Anchor Inn & The Ship Inn, where you can sample Local seafood for which the area is renowned.10% Discount on all meals (Guests of Croft)Your own keyNo Restrictions - Friendly well behaved pets welcome ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing