We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at the croft cockwood devon”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Starcross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Croft Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Starcross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“stay at the croft cockwood devon”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

croft is excellent ken and colin make youre stay a real home from home holiday you can expect a very warm welcome at the croft food is five star the local area is great to explore the croft also give pets the warmest of welcomes i wll be returning to devon and will stay at the croft ecellent value for money

Room Tip: any all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review much appreciated.

It was also very nice to meet you all and so glad that you had a nice home from home stay.

Thank you for your card and gifts too all very much appreciated.

Look forward to seeing you again when youre next on a break from working, it may be another room as Ken will be starting to alter the Retro room, as we like to call it, sometime at the end of this year, but we will have other pet friendly rooms so will be nice to welcome you all back at some time.

Until then stay well safe and happy always

Best wishes
Colin Kenny Ellee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
84
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were made to feel very welcome by Colin and Kenny. The room was very spacious and an excellent standard and the hosts were very friendly and welcoming. Good value for money and we would recommend to anyone visiting the area. The breakfast was brilliant and we enjoyed the banter from our host. The Croft deserves the title of No 1 B&B in Starcross and in our opinion the South of England.

Thank you for having us Colin and Kenny
From Kirk and Clare

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Many many thanks for your kind review, Much appreciated.

It was so nice to meet you both and of course your mam whom we chatted and laughed with making your booking in person.

Glad that all was nice for you both and hope that we see you again sometime.
Its always so nice havning cheery chatty and genuine guests it makes for a happier atmosphere generally and lovely for all the other guests too.

All the very best to you both and stay well safe and happy

Best wishes
Colin n Kenny Oh and Elle Badger and the hens - Hope the photo turned out of Lady Gaga and her crew lol

Thank you once again for the kind review & much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Well what can I say........
From the call of booking the room to the moment we left it was lovely.
Such a fab little Gem, is such a lovely Harbour, would recommend this to a anyone and everyone.
Ken and Colin made us feel so welcome, the attention to detail was great. Our sausage dogs are already wanting to return just for the treats left in the room for them, the breakfast was lovely and the chit chat with Ken and Colin at breakfast made us feel very welcome and laugh well it is good to have such great hosts.

Don't delay book today!

There that should get me a free night ;o) thanks boys it was fab x x x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review much appreciated.

Glad all was to your liking and glad the sausages did the trick for Elsie & Edna and made their stay enjoyable too.

So nice to have met you both and hope we do see you again - youre always welcome and maybe have longer banter times, maybe at the bar next time lol

Best wishes to you both and a special hello to the girlies!

Stay well safe and happy always

Best wishes and many thanks once again for your kind review, Much appreciated.
PS Like the slogan at the bottom of your review sounds quirky lol!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, Surrey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying in this lovely guest house. Ken and Colin run a very welcoming and friendly place. The rooms are spacious and immaculately clean and made more homely by the little touches Colin puts into the rooms. Towels are beautifully folded and there is everything you need for a relaxing stay on the coast. The breakfast is really tasty, especially the eggs from their own chickens! I would certainly make this my place of choice to stay if I needed to go to Exeter on business or for a weekend break as the station is 2 minutes drive away and only 3 stops at £4 return into the city centre. This is a real gem of a place, with great views over the sea, and a bargain too. One not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Consultant4481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review much appreciated.

So glad you have enjoyed your stays with us which to date are quite a few now.
Thank you for your kind comments, and glad that you have enjoyed our company,equally as we have with yourself and your lovely wife, to whom we pass on our appreciation and regards too.
Looking forward to your visits as a neighbour soon too, when you are in your new home in this area.

It has been such a pleasure in havning you to stay as guests, and thank you for all your kind compliments.

Best wishes always

The Crofters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just returned feeling refreshed after another lovely weekend stay at the Croft. Colin and Ken are wonderful hosts and always so welcoming and friendly. The rooms are lovely and clean and have everything you need, but if theres anything you extra you want you only have to ask and Colins on it!
Great breakfast with eggs provided by the crofts own chickens
The Croft is in a great position for geting out and about in the Exeter area with two excellent pubs that do great food just across the road
We will definately be back soon for another weekend escape from the daily grind.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but Room 1 has lovely veiws over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Many many thanks for your kind review Tracy.

It was so nice to see you both again and glad you had a good relaxing time here and discovering Exeter quayside etc.
All the hens seem to be doing overtime now laying, especially Gaga seems to be the top producer lol
Glad the weather was so nice too for you both as it does make a big difference, and many many thanks for keeping your room so lovely and tidy thats much appreciated and very thoughtful of you both.
Look forward to seeing you both again when your next on a away relaxation weekend from work.

Hope your journey went well and this reply finds you both safe well and happy.

Best wishes always and many more thanks for your kind review - Its really much appreciated - Thanks
Col n Kenny & the hens Ellee and Badger too!
xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just returned from our fifth stay at The Croft and would recommend it to anyone. Excellent location, clean rooms, great breakfast and service and attention that is second to none. My parents stayed for a week, were given a lift to the station for their journey home, bought newspapers and given half a dozen of The Crofts own free range eggs, all free of charge - you wouldn't get that at a Premier Inn. Well done Colin and Ken, you deserve all the good reviews you receive - see you next year

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerseatGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Many thanks for your complimentary review, Much appreciated.

It is always so nice to have the company of Joan & Harry, & so much looking forward to their special anniversary next year, hopefully making yet another stay memorable for them both.

The journey to the station in 'Ringo' was a fun ride chatting all the way, its always quite sad to say bye at the railway platform but glad they returned home all safe and sound.

It was also lovely to see both yourself and Margaret and please send my best wishes to "Ethelpenny" a very cute addition to your family.
Thank you once again for your review and see you all next year.

Stay well safe and happy always

Best wishes

Col Kenny and the pets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great place to stay for out and about in Devon. A warm welcome when we arrived by friendly staff nothing to much trouble, our room was big and cosy with a great view of the harbour and topped off with an amazing cooked to order breakfast ...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review and much appreciated comments.

So glad that you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast too, its always such a pleasure to meet new and friendly guests as yourselves.

Youre always welcome back to stay, and if ever passing, to pop in and see how were getting on with the new garden layout or a water stop etc.

The harbour is filling up now with lots of boats in for the summer anchorings and does look nice from the front rooms, glad all was to your liking and many thanks again for coming to stay.

Best wishes and stay well safe and happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Starcross
5.2 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
516 reviews
1.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
700 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
5.9 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,066 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft Guest House

Property: The Croft Guest House
Address: Cockwood Harbour | Starcross, Starcross EX6 8QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Starcross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Starcross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed,beverage making facilities,Showers & en Suite facilities.All rooms with wall mounted TV’s & Free Wi-Ficonnection available.Welcome folder information on surrounding areas & the local amenities.Breakfast menu of varied choices served in spaciousDining room overlooking private gardens.Safe off road free private car parking for both cars & boats.Comfortable lounge with fully Licensed bar, where you canRelax & enjoy large screen TV screen or browseInformation leaflets & plan your days.A 5 minute walk to two of Devon’s finest pub/restaurantsThe Anchor Inn & The Ship Inn, where you can sample Local seafood for which the area is renowned.10% Discount on all meals (Guests of Croft)Your own keyNo Restrictions - Friendly well behaved pets welcome ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing