We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Time again at the Croft”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Starcross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Croft Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Starcross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Well Colin/Ken we visited your beautiful home for the second time over the New Year. This time we came with four of our friends and also The Maca Stanlie and Nellie.. We had the best ever New Year party hosted by the resident compare "Maisy" It was a fantastic stay and everyone in our party had a really great time and did not want to leave. Your hospitalty was second to none ( AGAIN) and you made our stay brilliant. We really cannot praise you both enough and also thank you both for the beautiful time you provided. We look forward to returning very soon for happy times. You really are the best B&B Hosts in the world, We love you both. xxxx

Room Tip: All rooms are brilliant and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Hello and Many many thanks for your review, so much appreciated.
Youre just like family now lol and Im glad everyone enjoyed the New Year Eve & Day celebrations. Youre input was wonderful and we thank you for that too.

Best wishes to Stanley Nellie and of course Maca

Looking forward to when you next come up this way and youll always be very welcome, Thank you for your continued support and also for keeping such a nice clean tidy room, so nice to open a door and find it well taken care of - you can tell your home must be the same all nice tidy and well looked after.
Best wishes to everyone and look forward to seeing you here again - A brilliant beginning to 2013.

Youre pals
Col n Ken (Oh and the hens and our Ellie & Badger) smile
xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 150 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were invited here for New Year by friends, "Part of the DiamondDebs" group. I can only agree with Debs comments, this was definitely the most welcoming Guest House in Britain. The owners Ken and Colin are such guenuinely nice guys who provided the friendliest and warmest hospitality during our stay at the Croft. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left nothing was to much trouble. Our special thanks goes to "Maisie" for the New Years Eve entertainment which was "truly unforgettable". Many Thanks Pete and Julia

Room Tip: We had a Garden View room which was very nice, but having seen the Harbour view rooms, thats the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteandJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Thank you Julia & Pete for your much appreciated comments.

It was so very nice to meet you both as part of the Diamond Debs & Pauline Glenn group lol

Having met so many lovely honest, friendly fun loving guests over the New Year it was certainly our favourite New Year ever !

Shame we didnt get to play that quiz game but next time Ill have my spectacles on and pencil at the ready lol

The photographs were lovely and thank you for downloading to my computer we shall ALWAYS look back on them with fond memories.

Its always so nice to have real down to earth guests whom appreciate everything we try and do it does go a long way in building ones confidence.

Definately a Harbour room for you next time - Oh and "Maisie" says a big Hellooo to you both lol !

xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My Husband and I were bought a 3 night stop at The Croft for a Xmas present my my parents who had stopped with their dog previously.

From the minute we walked in we were made to feel welcome and at home - shown around but a friendly and attentive owner! The rooms were comfortable, large and with all mod cons.We visited to two DELIGHTFUL local pubs which were a hop and a skip across the bridge the saw the new year in with Colin, Kenny and the other fabulous guests - great entertainment!!

Do not be put of by what may sound like a party house - The owners were very concientious with nothing disturbing other guests that may have retired before 3am whilst keeping us die hards competely happy

LOVELY place - Tif and Daz

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just_Tiffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Many thanks Tif & Daz for your lovely comments much appreciated.

It was certainly a REAL PLEASURE to have your company over the New Year (Im glad you mentioned were not a party house - thank you for that I think people will get the jist that it was New Year hopefully lol)

It was certainly a wonderful 3 days and nights we spent with you both and then to see your mam & dad again was so lovely - Thank you for the bottle of red wine it went down a treat x

Youre always welcome back at anytime and with guests like yourselves and the other guests we shared our home with over the New Year - you couldnt have asked for more - Genuine, Friendly and so clean within your rooms all muchly appreciated.
Have a wonderful 2013 and look forward to seeing you again when the suns out maybe!
xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Myself and my husband along with 2 other couples and one of them's Dad & 2 small dogs stayed at The Croft for 2 nights over New Years Eve. We had planned a quiet night watching the new year on the telly with a few glasses of champagne and some games. But OH NO it was nothing like that ........ Colin and Ken had laid on a buffet and music the other guests staying at the B&B joined in with us and we partied until 3:00am IT WAS ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC an unforgettable and thoroughly enjoyable New Years Eve............ One of the best NYE's we have had in a long time. We entered as strangers and left as friends......
The harbour view rooms are great as the view is amazing across the river. There are 2 charming pubs across the harbour both serving great food with 10% off the bill if staying at The Croft. The breakfast in the morning is cooked to order and is amazing with a great choice of cereals fruit etc. NOTHING IS TOO MUCH TROUBLE xxxxx

Room Tip: Definately choose the harbour view rooms. Although the road is busy - during the night its very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamonddebs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Many many thanks for your kind words, Much appreciated.

It was so lovely to meet yourself and Mike and so glad you enjoyed your stay.

You so much added to the highlights of both New Years Eve & Day - was lovely to do a little Cabaret Chicago too and glad you joined in - quite a mover too!

All of the other guests so enjoyed your company and laughter and dancing we shared.

Shame we didnt get to play that quiz game which Julia & Pete brought but maybe next time.
Glad you had a nice time it really made our New Years celebrations so memorable - so many thank for your participation.

Wishing you all the very best for 2013 stay well safe happy always.
Lots of good wishes - our new friends
xx
P.S. May be a full Cabaret show next year I think I have the buzz now !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Fun, friendly, nothing too much trouble. Even the dog was treated like a princess! The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. The breakfast was cooked to order in its entirety, hot and fresh, excellent vegetarian option. Service was personal and personable. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassieandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you Cassie Karen & Aggie for your lovely and much appreciated kind words.
It was so lovely to meet you and glad that you enjoyed the New Year Eve & New Years day celebrations.
Lovely to see all the guests join in and be just like a family of newly made friends.

Youre always welcome back anytime and hope that the New Year 2013 goes well and wish you everything you may wish for yourselves.
Thank you for staying here and we feel we have met two genuine and very sincere, friendly and wonderful people (And of course Aggie!)

Thank you for making our New Year special too - laughter and fun all the way.
xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have been staying at the croft for over6 six years three times a year on business and have also stayed for pleasure with my husband I was so impressed!!!Colin and Ken run a great B and B they are friendly ,professional and treat all their guests as individuals learning every ones names even on a short stay.they are full of local knowledge and suggestion for days out and places to
Eat.Both the local pubs ( within walking distance give 10 per cent discount to Croft guests!!)The upstairs rooms have great views over the estuary and are large and spacious.Breakfast is cooked to order and plentiful.
both guys are great fun and can't do enough to make your stay truly special, it's always a pleasure and home from home !!!!

Room Tip: Upstairs with view of estuary !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singleladyguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Its been 6 years now weve known yourself & our group, always such fun to see you here.
It makes work just that more of an enjoyable experience knowing you have guests whom are FRIENDS just as much.

As guests (and friends) your all so full of life and fun, Never any words of critisism and always APPRECIATIVE of everything we do.

IMMACULATE within your rooms, POLITE and WELL MANNERED at breakfast.

Inviting other guests to join us at the bar and sharing a glass, even FREE entrance tickets to your events at the castle.

Youre a super bunch of people and life is all the richer for knowing you all.

Until we see you in February 2013 - Stay well safe & happy always

Have a great Christmas and wishing you all the very best for the coming New Year.

Colin n Kenny & the pets & hens lol xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had two nights at the Croft. Plenty of easy parking although with a narrow entrance on a busy road. Handy bus stop outside. Large bedroom en-suite shower room, with lovely views over cockwood harbour and river Ex. Colin and Kenny went to great lengths to make our stay enjoyable. Good choice for breakfast freshly cooked for us.

Room Tip: Harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clyreen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Many thanks for your review much appreciated. It was lovely to meet you both and glad you enjoyed your stay for the 2 nights.
Sorry to hear that you found the entrance narrow.

The Entrance is actually 12 feet in width at the narrowest point.

Our regular Trade fair guests with Transit vans & Camper vans drive in very easily and its never been a problem, so sorry to hear you had difficulty.

Best wishes and thanks for staying at The Croft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Croft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft Guest House

Address: Cockwood Harbour | Starcross, Starcross EX6 8QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Starcross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Starcross
Price Range: $46 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed,beverage making facilities,Showers & en Suite facilities.All rooms with wall mounted TV’s & Free Wi-Ficonnection available.Welcome folder information on surrounding areas & the local amenities.Breakfast menu of varied choices served in spaciousDining room overlooking private gardens.Safe off road free private car parking for both cars & boats.Comfortable lounge with fully Licensed bar, where you canRelax & enjoy large screen TV screen or browseInformation leaflets & plan your days.A 5 minute walk to two of Devon’s finest pub/restaurantsThe Anchor Inn & The Ship Inn, where you can sample Local seafood for which the area is renowned.10% Discount on all meals (Guests of Croft)Your own keyNo Restrictions - Friendly well behaved pets welcome ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing