We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pitchup.com
View Deal
The Galleon Inn(Starcross)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
149
10
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
10
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanchor innoverlooking harbourroom was spaciousvisiting friendscolin kencooked breakfastb and bnothing is too much troublebreakfast was excellentfantastic hostswonderful stayone night stayfull englishlounge arealovely locationpubsdevon
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 162 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Myself and my husband along with 2 other couples and one of them's Dad & 2 small dogs stayed at The Croft for 2 nights over New Years Eve. We had planned a quiet night watching the new year on the telly with a few glasses of champagne and some games. But OH NO it was nothing like that ........ Colin and Ken had laid on a buffet and music the other guests staying at the B&B joined in with us and we partied until 3:00am IT WAS ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC an unforgettable and thoroughly enjoyable New Years Eve............ One of the best NYE's we have had in a long time. We entered as strangers and left as friends......
The harbour view rooms are great as the view is amazing across the river. There are 2 charming pubs across the harbour both serving great food with 10% off the bill if staying at The Croft. The breakfast in the morning is cooked to order and is amazing with a great choice of cereals fruit etc. NOTHING IS TOO MUCH TROUBLE xxxxx

Room Tip: Definately choose the harbour view rooms. Although the road is busy - during the night its very quiet with very little traffic.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamonddebs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Many many thanks for your kind words, Much appreciated.

It was so lovely to meet yourself and Mike and so glad you enjoyed your stay.

You so much added to the highlights of both New Years Eve & Day - was lovely to do a little Cabaret Chicago too and glad you joined in - quite a mover too!

All of the other guests so enjoyed your company and laughter and dancing we shared.

Shame we didnt get to play that quiz game which Julia & Pete brought but maybe next time.
Glad you had a nice time it really made our New Years celebrations so memorable - so many thank for your participation.

Wishing you all the very best for 2013 stay well safe happy always.
Lots of good wishes - our new friends
xx
P.S. May be a full Cabaret show next year I think I have the buzz now !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Fun, friendly, nothing too much trouble. Even the dog was treated like a princess! The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. The breakfast was cooked to order in its entirety, hot and fresh, excellent vegetarian option. Service was personal and personable. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassieandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you Cassie Karen & Aggie for your lovely and much appreciated kind words.
It was so lovely to meet you and glad that you enjoyed the New Year Eve & New Years day celebrations.
Lovely to see all the guests join in and be just like a family of newly made friends.

Youre always welcome back anytime and hope that the New Year 2013 goes well and wish you everything you may wish for yourselves.
Thank you for staying here and we feel we have met two genuine and very sincere, friendly and wonderful people (And of course Aggie!)

Thank you for making our New Year special too - laughter and fun all the way.
xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have been staying at the croft for over6 six years three times a year on business and have also stayed for pleasure with my husband I was so impressed!!!Colin and Ken run a great B and B they are friendly ,professional and treat all their guests as individuals learning every ones names even on a short stay.they are full of local knowledge and suggestion for days out and places to
Eat.Both the local pubs ( within walking distance give 10 per cent discount to Croft guests!!)The upstairs rooms have great views over the estuary and are large and spacious.Breakfast is cooked to order and plentiful.
both guys are great fun and can't do enough to make your stay truly special, it's always a pleasure and home from home !!!!

Room Tip: Upstairs with view of estuary !!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singleladyguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Its been 6 years now weve known yourself & our group, always such fun to see you here.
It makes work just that more of an enjoyable experience knowing you have guests whom are FRIENDS just as much.

As guests (and friends) your all so full of life and fun, Never any words of critisism and always APPRECIATIVE of everything we do.

IMMACULATE within your rooms, POLITE and WELL MANNERED at breakfast.

Inviting other guests to join us at the bar and sharing a glass, even FREE entrance tickets to your events at the castle.

Youre a super bunch of people and life is all the richer for knowing you all.

Until we see you in February 2013 - Stay well safe & happy always

Have a great Christmas and wishing you all the very best for the coming New Year.

Colin n Kenny & the pets & hens lol xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had two nights at the Croft. Plenty of easy parking although with a narrow entrance on a busy road. Handy bus stop outside. Large bedroom en-suite shower room, with lovely views over cockwood harbour and river Ex. Colin and Kenny went to great lengths to make our stay enjoyable. Good choice for breakfast freshly cooked for us.

Room Tip: Harbour view room
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clyreen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Many thanks for your review much appreciated. It was lovely to meet you both and glad you enjoyed your stay for the 2 nights.
Sorry to hear that you found the entrance narrow.

The Entrance is actually 12 feet in width at the narrowest point.

Our regular Trade fair guests with Transit vans & Camper vans drive in very easily and its never been a problem, so sorry to hear you had difficulty.

Best wishes and thanks for staying at The Croft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Took my partner to the croft for a birthday treat and must say she was very very happy with everything from the minute we got there to the minute we left! location,owners,room,view,food,service,etc all out of this world.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments. So pleased to know that you both had a good stay and partner had a lovely birthday. Its always so very nice to meet genuine polite and fun loving guests as yourself and wish you both all the very best, maybe well see you again in the future. Until then stay well sfae and always happy.
best wishes The Croft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews