We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GUEST HOUSE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Croft Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Starcross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Croft Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Starcross B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“GUEST HOUSE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had two nights at the Croft. Plenty of easy parking although with a narrow entrance on a busy road. Handy bus stop outside. Large bedroom en-suite shower room, with lovely views over cockwood harbour and river Ex. Colin and Kenny went to great lengths to make our stay enjoyable. Good choice for breakfast freshly cooked for us.

Room Tip: Harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clyreen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Many thanks for your review much appreciated. It was lovely to meet you both and glad you enjoyed your stay for the 2 nights.
Sorry to hear that you found the entrance narrow.

The Entrance is actually 12 feet in width at the narrowest point.

Our regular Trade fair guests with Transit vans & Camper vans drive in very easily and its never been a problem, so sorry to hear you had difficulty.

Best wishes and thanks for staying at The Croft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
78
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Took my partner to the croft for a birthday treat and must say she was very very happy with everything from the minute we got there to the minute we left! location,owners,room,view,food,service,etc all out of this world.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments. So pleased to know that you both had a good stay and partner had a lovely birthday. Its always so very nice to meet genuine polite and fun loving guests as yourself and wish you both all the very best, maybe well see you again in the future. Until then stay well sfae and always happy.
best wishes The Croft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Travel to the South West quite a lot with my business, was absolutely "Overwhelmed" by the Generosity" shown and provided by these guys.
My car broke down and I was told if I hung on I would be collected, which I was, booked in at The Croft with ease and joviality.
My room was a double bed (Normally I have to pay double fees at many other places Ive stayed - Not here!)
My Vat was included in the full cost, breakfast was delicious and I did enjoy the Anchor Inn pub opposite too.
I just thought what a difference in places and the No add on costs.
Picking me up from my broken down vehicle even telephoneing the RAC and arranging assistance - At no charge! - I didn't think places like this existed any longer.
My business will be definately here with you guys on my next visit to the South West.
A pleasurable and most enjoyable brief stay.

Room Tip: My room was overlooking the back gardens nice and cool with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Many thanks for your kind polite comments much appreciated.
It was very nice meeting you also, glad that your stay was so likeable.

Hope the car is going along ok and no more troubles.

Youre always welcome to stay, as is anyone who enjoys a good laugh, nothing worse than feeling uncomfortable with grumpy guests, lifes far too short.

You know the number and where we are should you wish to return.
Glad your business is doing well also.
All the very best, Stay well safe & happy.
The Croft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Croft Guesthouse is a fantastic stay with brilliant staff and management I’ve never felt so welcome. I’ve stayed in a few establishments over many years and I can honestly say this by far has been the best experience. I've never laughed so much on a holiday its a must to visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your review much appreciated.
It was so nice to meet you and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Had some great laughs with you and your friends.
Youre always welcome back - as with all our many repeat bookings were getting a real family of guests, whom now are more friends.
All the very best looking forward to seeing you again in November, its all in the diary !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here! Very warm and friendly in a stunning location. Lovely people, delicious breakfast and very clean, comfortable rooms! I would definitely recommend The Croft to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMPGMC_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Many thanks for your review much appreciated.

Glad you enjoyed your stay here and were comfortable.
It was a pleasure meeting you and always nice to meet genuine, friendly clean guests that appreciate their accommodation.
Hope alls good with you and this response finds you safe well hapopy.

Best wishes and youre always welcome back or if youre passing by pop in and say hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

we stayed at the Croft Guest House for one night whilst visiting family in Devon. There is a car park and you are greeted on arrival by Colin, one of the owners. Very friendly and the rooms were spotless. Could not fault the rooms - spacious, with hairdrier, tea/coffee making facilities, tv - very comfortable. The breakfast was great - a very traditional english breakfast and I loved the attention to detail; ie tea and coffee served in pots (instead of a mug - made a nice change) and plenty of choice for jams/cereals etc. Really nice B & B and we will definately be using the Croft again as a bolt hole when visiting the family.

Room Tip: Try and get a twin room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lewislining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Many thanks for your review much appreciated.

It was also nice to meet you and glad you had a nice stay.

Glad the gilrs were fine in their room and you enjoyed the harbour view.
Breakfast was a laugh too pleased that you liked the girlies eggs (Lady Gaga I think or was it Kissing Harriot lol)

Hope this response finds you safe well happy and best wishes you know where we are now when youre next down in this area.

All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Can't praise this place enough.really beautiful setting.lovely high ceilings in spacious room,with modern en-suite.colin is a legend,really nice guy!and the breakfast is amazing.best b and b I've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Instabarnez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Many thanks for your kind compliments, Much appreciated.

It was such a pleasure to meet you both, just a shame we didnt get to drink with you at the bar, and have a few laughs, maybe next time if youre ever passing by or if you do stay again.

Im glad you found your room, etc comfortable and enjoyed the breakfast.

Hope this reply finds you well and happy, glad your journey back home safe.
Until the next time stay well safe happy and keep smiling - its alsways so lovely to meet and associate with genuine,friendly guests(friends)
Best wishes from us here - Oh and the pets too!

Gaga layed your eggs, hope your not there humming any of her tunes (smile)
All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Starcross
1.4 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
2.0 mi away
Mill Farm
Mill Farm
#18 of 74 in Exeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 1 in Kenton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft Guest House

Property: The Croft Guest House
Address: Cockwood Harbour | Starcross, Starcross EX6 8QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Starcross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Starcross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed,beverage making facilities,Showers & en Suite facilities.All rooms with wall mounted TV’s & Free Wi-Ficonnection available.Welcome folder information on surrounding areas & the local amenities.Breakfast menu of varied choices served in spaciousDining room overlooking private gardens.Safe off road free private car parking for both cars & boats.Comfortable lounge with fully Licensed bar, where you canRelax & enjoy large screen TV screen or browseInformation leaflets & plan your days.A 5 minute walk to two of Devon’s finest pub/restaurantsThe Anchor Inn & The Ship Inn, where you can sample Local seafood for which the area is renowned.10% Discount on all meals (Guests of Croft)Your own keyNo Restrictions - Friendly well behaved pets welcome ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing