We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Terrible
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Riddlecombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Terrible - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura B
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Absolutely disgusting”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Purchased this holiday through Sykes cottages. Payed £930 for a week. It was for a disabled lady who has one holiday a year. Firstly if you want internet it does not work at ALL (all you get from the owner is well there is local Internet cafes near by) it’s advertised with internet it isn’t advertised as has internet but because of location may not work, therefore there should be working internet. Secondly the place was absolutely filthy, we got up on our first morning to have to clean the grill from the previous people. There was dead flies over every single window and the dust was awful. (See Pictures) cobwebs everywhere. (Response from owner was they can’t be held responsible for flies that would be true if the flies came towards the end of the holiday but they was there when we arrived) the dust was so thick under the beds you could see it as you walked in the room. The downstairs shower was broke therefore needing to use it for a disabled person was not good, (owner was aware said it was be too big of a job to repair) so there solution while we was there was to attach a bungee rope to keep the shower head up so the disabled person can use it, there attitude was the property never stated it was for disabled people (I’m sorry but anybody that wants a shower needs to be able to have one comfortable regardless of weather there disabled or not. You couldn’t see the views when you sat in the lounge through the dirty windows. The toilet downstairs didn’t flush. The intire properly needs a complete look at, the attitude from the owner after we made a complaint has been appalling they don’t answer there phone. They have not apologised and feel they are offering a fantastic property they need a reality check and need to have some respect for the people that are paying money to go to there property. Which they are happy to take. Would not recommend going to this property, unless u like dirty dusty places. The hot tub was absolutely lush so 10/10 for the hot tub.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dodhead
birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Devestated”
Reviewed April 12, 2018 for a stay in September 2017

Our holiday was completly runied the place was filthy the furniture was old broken and uncomfortable the bed linen stained as were the matresses the kitchen was dirty as was the cooker there was a fly trap on the window sill that hadnt been emptied for weeks
The hot tub the very reason for booking was filthy not maintained the water was coveted in a scum and was not checked the whole time we were there it was unuseable the outside area was unkept with beer cans and cigarette ends everywhere.
We were heartbroken having spent over £800 for a holiday to spend precious time with my Mom receiving palliative care for cancer it was completly ruined and we actually left and returned home 2 days early.
Avoid this place it needs a complete deep clean and refurb.
Despite complaining on our return they didnt even have the courtesy to respond.........shame on you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

I am sorry to hear you have been left disappointed with your experience. I can see you have recently been in contact with us directly, however we have received no previous correspondence from you.

We would have loved the opportunity to assist you with any issues you may have experienced should they have been brought to our attention. Regrettably we will be unable to assist in pursuing with a complaint as any grievances would need to be raised with us within 6 months of your booking date.

Kind Regards,

The Customer Service Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita R
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do NOT book this cottage”
Reviewed March 23, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is dirty and unsafe. There were cobwebs everywhere, mattresses stained, dirty floors, filthy cooker, hot tub had no chlorine and pH off the scale. Outdoor furniture dilapidated and broken chairs discarded in long grass. Electric wiring cover outdoors broken and on the floor. No fire guard... holiday ruined.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

I am sorry to hear you feel disappointed with your chosen property. I can see we have been in contact with you directly since the start of your booking, and regrettably were unable to gain access to the property to try and assist with any issues you may have been experiencing.

A gesture has been offered in relation to your stay, which is currently being discussed with you directly.

We kindly ask that you contact us directly on 01244 345700 should you wish to discuss this further.

Kind Regards,
The Customer Service Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing