We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea”
Review of Whitsand Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portwrinkle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

a small party of us visited this hotel for afternoon tea recently. Everyone had scones and jam and 2 people had the full cream tea. We were told there was no discount if the cream was not required. o.k. However the scones were obviously not fresh as they came to us completely cold, not what we expected. We did not have any sugar for the tea and the tea itself was brought in a small pot with no extra hot water! Considering this is not a cheap priced establishment we would have expected better. We did request the scones were warmed and this was done and we also asked for hot water and this was provided. As we are fairly regular customers for lunch (which are always good value) this visit was definitely not in that class.

Whilst we appreciate people like the quirky aspect of this hotel we would suggest a little attention to the toilets i.e. the soap dispensers are very old and need replacing, most hotels now have the pump soap and hand cream. The toilets in our opinion are ready for a much needed refurbishment..

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank marvincornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

We are always delighted to see the friendly faces of guests and local customers who regularly visit for a spot of lunch, a round of golf, or simply a relaxing break to enjoy our spectacular sea-views. It is therefore reassuring to read that you also regularly enjoy visiting us to enjoy a ‘Good Value’ lunch – thank you. It is our normal practice to serve delicious ‘warmed’ scones with our cream teas, along with extra hot water for ‘topping up’. Our scones are always, always fresh and carefully warmed-to-order. We apologise that this aspect was overlooked - and as you say, we immediately rectified as soon as we realised. Individual ‘cream teas’ enjoyed with some of the most spectacular views are competitively priced at £7.95. We will look to replace our soap dispensers as part of the programme of investments and refurbishments currently underway, and hope our little mistake will not prevent you from visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 623 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

Popped in for a coffee prior to golf on a wet & rather cold Saturday in May & received a very warm welcome from John & the crew. This hotel is so quaint and full of character. It is not soul-less & modernised to the hilt - that would spoil it. The 18 hole golf course is superb & challenging too; the local golfers have always been charming and full of conversation too. Can't wait for our next visit combined with golf and overnight stays knowing that we will have a great experience , quality service and delightful food.

Room Tip: Full of character
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience and recommendation. Delighted to read that you enjoy visiting us and playing on our coastal golf course. We will pass on your kind comments directly onto our team and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I clicked on this site to get the hotel's phone number, as we frequently visit for lunch or evening meals. I was shocked to see the recent negative feedback.
What this hotel is NOT is modern pristine magnolia box. It is however a quirky character establishment in THE most stunning location.
I enjoyed a perfect birthday celebration some months ago where the staff went out of their way to accommodate my family. The grandchildren enjoyed running about in the grounds and we relaxed indoors.

After enjoying our meal we often sit for too long in the relaxing lounge to drink tea or coffee. We have never felt uncomfortable even when we once left without paying the bill!!!! (We did ring and pay when we realised later!)

I do concede that the bar drinks are a tad expensive, but believe the golfers have a discount.

I feel obliged to give my positive experiences but secretly hope not too many people visit this little gem as it is so perfect as it is.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank plymouthian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience and offering feedback. We are always pleased to see the friendly faces of returning guests and delighted that you enjoy your time with us. We look forward to extending a genuinely warm welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have visited this hotel; twice over the last couple of months and whilst we have enjoyed the food, we have been alarmed at being told that the bill is more than we were quoted, when booking. the first time we went as a family, we phoned up and booked a Sunday Roast for 5 people and were given a price. Then after having a nice meal were asked to pay £1.00/ head extra and told that they have had a price increase. The next time it was for a birthday lunch. again we were quoted a price and when we came to pay another £1.00/head price increase!!! Then to make things worse I had set up a tab for some drinks and were charged £150.00 with no itemised invoice!! During the meal we asked if we could have some champagne for the toast and were told that they only had two bottles, so they then told us that they can do 3 bottles, so the glasses turned up on the table with no bottles brought for us to taste or shown to the table as proof, which I find very alarming these days, not wanting to make a fuss on a special occasion, we let it go, but I was then told by my wife that they had tried to charge her for cutting a cake at the rate of £1.00. slice, to which she said no way!!! So people be aware this place is not what they promise and we will not return!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robin867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

It is very sad for us to read your comments, as you all enjoyed your food and we also enjoyed and appreciated a 2nd visit from you. We feel it’s fair to add some balance to a few of your points: the bar bill of £150 included 3 x bottles of champagne at just under £40 per bottle (£120) plus additional drinks for your party of 24 people. To suggest that this was an alarming amount is perhaps miss-leading. For cutting and serving a party of 24 guests with a cake brought by you as a replacement desert course, we do apply a nominal £1 charge. This simply covers costs for the plates, napkins & cutlery, the cutting, serving, and then clearing afterwards for all guests. It’s no different to bringing your own drinks and being charged ‘Corkage’. When bookings are made so many months in advance, we do say prices may be subject to increase and this did apply to the set menu you chose. Although we have failed in our attempts to please you, please be assured of our very best intentions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We just returned from a 3 night stay as part of a bigger trip with friends for a wedding at the nearby Polhawn Fort.

The location is fantastic, with lovely views out towards the sea. The hotel as a whole was somewhat disappointing however, for the following reasons:

- while our room was reasonably sized, it was right at the back of the hotel, up several flights of stairs with no lift;
- the mattress was very thin and squeaky ... not conducive to a good night's sleep!;
- the room itself was quite dated and had not been modernised in any way;
- the communal areas were in quite a bad state in parts and you would expect for a hotel of this size to fix big holes in the plaster, peeling wallpaper etc;
- some of our friends who paid the same amount as us for a standard room were given much smaller rooms on the first floor which they said were very limited in size (it seems room allocation is quite hit and miss).

On the plus side, the staff were quite friendly and very helpful with booking transport to and from the Fort for getting us to the wedding. The food was also quite varied and reasonable in quality in price. Don't bank on eating past about 7.30/7.45pm though - last orders are very early!

If you like golf, the hotel also has a fantastic 18 hole course moments away, with some breathtaking views.

We didn't use the spa but some of our friends did and said it was good.

If they spent some money taking care of the communal areas and updating the rooms this could be a decent 4* hotel, but currently it's quite an average 3* hotel relying on its fantastic location and golf course.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnH1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. We receive much praise from guests about our stunning location, indoor pool & spa, 18 hole coastal golf course and the breath-taking views. Our food offering and ‘friendly & helpful’ staff also receive much praise so on balance, we are delighted that you also enjoyed these aspects of your stay. As a family run business, we are working as fast as possible to repair areas damaged by the severe storms which many coastal properties endured in Cornwall. We appreciate all of your feedback and hope to extend a genuinely warm and friendly welcome to you next time you visit Cornwall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

What a wonderful place for a golfing break. A challenging course with superb views which was in good condition with tricky greens. A characterful hotel full of attentive staff, nothing was too much trouble. Very nice spa, warm pool and steam room to unwind in after your round golf, and the food was consistently excellent, There were 15 of us and we were all served at the same time, and we all enjoyed it.
Our room was warm and comfortable with a large window overlooking the bay and a large comfy bed. The shower room was a bit small but it served it's purpose.
Plenty of comfortable seating in the lounge which also had stunning views as did the well maintained garden in front of the hotel. I'll be back.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different sizes, you may have to pay more for a larger room at the front, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pabezzant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I have just spent the weekend at Whitsand Bay Hotel with my friends and family and had to share our experience. This pamper break was every woman's dream, it included fabulous treatments at half the normal price and wall to wall scrummy food. We were looked after by all the staff at this superb hotel, but spoilt rotten by the lovely Jenny, Joyce and Pat, nothing was too much trouble. The biggest decision we had to make was whether to have a swim first or go for a walk and enjoy the stunning view. I haven't stopped smiling since my return, this break was just what the doctor ordered. We would like to say a huge thank you to you all at WBH. This is a lovely hotel made extra special because of the hardworking owners and staff. We can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brianscross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portwrinkle
7.6 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
19.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,615 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#3 of 4 in Saltash
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
540 reviews
5.8 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
8.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsand Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsand Bay Hotel

Address: Portwrinkle PL 11 3BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portwrinkle
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portwrinkle
Price Range: $77 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whitsand Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the rugged Cornish coastline stands the magnificent Whitsand Bay Hotel. An easy 20-minute drive from the busy maritime city of Plymouth, this spectacular venue is steeped in history and tradition. A welcoming, family run 32 bedroom hotel, the Whitsand Bay offers you the perfect setting to enjoy golf, leisure, fine dinning and a retreat to which you can escape from the stresses and strains of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Whitsand Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Whitsand Bay
Whitsand Bay Torpoint
Whitsand Bay Hotel Portwrinkle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing