We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”
Review of Whitsand Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portwrinkle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on a groupon deal with our dog (very dog friendly place). We had a great break - very peaceful, warm and welcoming hosts and staff, great food and drink at reasonable prices and really good service. This place really is a hidden gem and has great charm which I think is mainly to do with how it is run. We will definitely be returning. Thank you - Mat & Joan

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firemanmatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 623 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have just returned from a most relaxing break at this hotel.
We needed to 'get away' in search of peace and quiet and this hotel certainly looked after our every need. The hotel is in a beautiful location overlooking the sea. After a walk along the beach we enjoyed a cream tea which was 'to die for' with home made warm fruited scones.
The 'Cornish breakfast' was cooked to perfection and dinner in the hotel was both reasonably priced with plenty of choice and very tasty.
There are also great leisure facilities including a gym, sauna,steam room and swimming pool
We plan to return as soon as we can and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough
Thank you so much to the Phillips family and their caring helpful staff for a fantastic break

Room Tip: Due to the style and layout of the accommodation it may be worth requesting a 1st floor room if u ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allnxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel which we discovered through the Groupon site.We had a wonderful experience.The building is bursting with character and we felt transported back in time to a more elegant and genteel age.The views over the sea were stunning.Despite the grandeur the atmosphere was warm and welcoming due,in the main, to the attitude of the owners' family and staff.Helen, on reception, has to be singled out for particular praise. We dined at the hotel on both evenings and the food was both delicious and reasonable;the service attentive but not intrusive.The breakfast exceeded both our expectations.Despite the chilly weather our room was consistently warm and inviting.We were both tempted to use the swimming pool and found it modern, clean and warm.The sauna and steam room added to our feeling of well-being.Well worth a visit if you relish peace and quiet or long to play golf on the beautifully maintained course.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank nigelbeere46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked to stay at whitsandbay hotel through groupon! Our room was a good size and all we needed as we weren't going to be spending much time in the room. The pool was a good size and it was a good temperature too. It wasn't ever very busy either which was a bonus! They had two saunas! Which were great too! Small gym and games room too which was nice go in, in the evenings! The food at the hotel was excellent and the waiters & waitress' were really attentive! Reasonably priced too! Short walk down to the beach which is nice for the summer. There is poor phone signal in the hotel but we did have a telephone in our room which they provide you with a number and tarrif in the guest book! Only downside of this hotel was the bed, very squeaky, just moving about whilst sleeping made so much noise which kept us awake and found it hard to sleep. The overal atmosphere of the hotel was love and it felt like one big family home, especially with the Labrador roaming around the house too! Would recommend to couples who want a relaxing weekend away :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmawally26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your relaxing break away together. Thank you for your lovely comments and feedback. We have fixed the 'Squeaky' bed frame and would encourage all guests to let us know if anything needs our attention as soon as possible. This way we can rectify and resolve in a far timelier manner for you. Our kindest regards to you both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

3 star hotel, with 18 hole golf course and cottages to rent. We stayed in the hotel, location is quiet with nothing more than sea and coastal walks. The Hotel appears quite austre from the outside but inside it has beautifully polished wood, quiet lounges, bar, bistro, restaraunt, indoor swimming pool, sauna. Bedrooms are "creaky" but clean and many have a sea view, we were on the 2nd floor which involved lots of steps to be climbed, sadly no lift so not really accessible to people who rely upon a wheelchair for mobility or for those people who are unsteady on their feet. Overall the staff were welcoming, check in was eventually efficient. On this occasion we stayed bed and breakfast tariff which was very reasonable (look out for offers) the breakfast was well cooked and ample for the biggest of appetites. The evening meal was superb lots to choose from, and served efficiently. The owners (family owned hotel) were courteous and engaged all the residents in conversation. The lounge area was cosy (just like being at home) and if you were unable to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet there are board games and loads of books to borrow. Drinks were reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room - its worth paying a little extra. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annjam03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. It’s extremely rewarding for us all to see so many guests like yourself returning to stay with us and noticing the range of improvements that we are making each year. As a family run, independent hotel, these things all take time to achieve. We are committed to continually investing in our business and as a result, we’ve been receiving some lovely comments. (Just a small point, we don’t’ offer cottages to rent). Our warmest regards, from all of the Phillips family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

3 star hotel. 5 star Staff, Food, and facilities. didn't play golf so no comment. Ideal for the coast path walk. Nice and quiet for a relaxing stay. Swimming sauna and steam room very nice. Close to Plymouth but not good for public transport.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrAVMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Visiting Whitsand Bay has now become an annual visit. Not only is the location wonderful but the welcome we get is second to none. It's a family run hotel and when you visit you actually feel part of the family. The rooms are very spacious and many of them have sea views. There is also an indoor pool, sauna, steam room and gym. You could even try your hand at golf on the golf course, which has some wonderful views. Whatever the weather you will find something to do. An afternoon playing games and eating cream teas looking across the bay is a great tonic. If you are looking for a high quality hotel with fabulous food and a very warm welcome look no further. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 12 has a four poster bed and sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilly999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portwrinkle
7.6 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
19.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,615 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#3 of 4 in Saltash
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
539 reviews
5.8 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
8.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsand Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsand Bay Hotel

Address: Portwrinkle PL 11 3BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portwrinkle
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portwrinkle
Price Range: $77 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whitsand Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the rugged Cornish coastline stands the magnificent Whitsand Bay Hotel. An easy 20-minute drive from the busy maritime city of Plymouth, this spectacular venue is steeped in history and tradition. A welcoming, family run 32 bedroom hotel, the Whitsand Bay offers you the perfect setting to enjoy golf, leisure, fine dinning and a retreat to which you can escape from the stresses and strains of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Whitsand Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Whitsand Bay
Whitsand Bay Torpoint
Whitsand Bay Hotel Portwrinkle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing