We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groupon 2 away days”
Review of Whitsand Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portwrinkle
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Groupon 2 away days”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

3 star hotel. 5 star Staff, Food, and facilities. didn't play golf so no comment. Ideal for the coast path walk. Nice and quiet for a relaxing stay. Swimming sauna and steam room very nice. Close to Plymouth but not good for public transport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAVMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    187
    50
    39
    25
See reviews for
143
244
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Visiting Whitsand Bay has now become an annual visit. Not only is the location wonderful but the welcome we get is second to none. It's a family run hotel and when you visit you actually feel part of the family. The rooms are very spacious and many of them have sea views. There is also an indoor pool, sauna, steam room and gym. You could even try your hand at golf on the golf course, which has some wonderful views. Whatever the weather you will find something to do. An afternoon playing games and eating cream teas looking across the bay is a great tonic. If you are looking for a high quality hotel with fabulous food and a very warm welcome look no further. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 12 has a four poster bed and sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilly999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked a Bistro special on a Friday night and we were pleased to see the restaurant and hotel full !! This is a real boost for the small local business. Have lived most of our lives in the area and never visited here before so this was a first for us.
The service was excellent, wine list variable and exceptional value for money. The menu was wide and varied and proved to be good value, tasty and well presented. The food was definitely home cooked, my husband had the lambs liver and bacon and commented he could have eaten a second plate of it as it was so tender and tasty. I had the slow cooked pork belly which was succulent, moist and very tasty. Tea and coffee afterwards included in the price was taken in the lounge.
We are looking forward to visiting here more often as it is not often you can eat out in a restaurant with great service, includes bread and butter with your starter.
Thanks for a great night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent meal with us. It's an added pleasure when we receive such rewarding feedback from local people who have dined with us for the very 1st time (our sunday lunches are also extremely popular with many locals too). Hope to see you both again. Kindest regards from Tracey, Paul and all of the Phillips family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel using a groupon voucher. We arrived on a extremely cold friday afternoon but were given a very warm welcome at reception. Our room was on the second floor and as soon as we opened the door the room was somewhat cooler than we would consider comfortable, we asked at reception if they had another room free but unfortunately the answer was no, they did offer a portable heater which was brought up very promptly and within 30 mins the room was warm and comfortable, it was also very clean.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night of our stay, the food was pleasant and the waiters were friendly.
Breakfast was very nice a good selection of fruits etc, a nice Cornish cooked breakfast and quick and friendly service.
We never used the pool area, but did have a look and it seemed to be clean and user friendly.
All in all it was a very nice friendly place to spend the weekend and I would not hesitate in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LARTER1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is our second stay at this hotel and this time we brought our children and 6 friends with us! The children had a fantastic time in the pool, in the games room and playing board games in the lounge-not to mention playing on the beach. The three males in our group and the 4 children all played golf and loved it. One of us had a very relaxing massage and one of us walked the coastal path to Downderry. There was definitely something for everyone.
The food and service were excellent and the hotel has a lovely relaxed feel. Views and general location are stunning and basically we didn't want to leave!
(We're thinking of getting married there next and bringing a few more people!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hermy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praze-An-Beeble, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Even though we have been to this hotel before it was a very enjoyable return. All staff were friendly and cheerful. Food was good and room was very clean. We upgraded to a seaview room which was great as the weather was not too kind to us so we could sit in our room and have a great view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverSurfer4960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I booked this hotel through an offer with Groupon. It was my partners birthday and we took our 5 year old daughter along with friends and their son for a long weekend. We pulled up on a stormy Friday night and was given a very warm welcome by the staff. We sat in the bar to wait for our friends and the staff were extremely friendly and fun. The hotel in owned and run by 3 generations and this alone made the experience a very personal and top notch service as they were eager to please. Our daughter made friends with the grand children who took her under their wing and played hide and seek in this lovely old building. You would normally expect a stuffy and formal atmosphere with a building like this, but it was quite the opposite and children were very welcomed by the owners. The leisure area was very clean with a lovely sauna and steam room. Our daughter spent many hours in here with her new friends. The location is stunning with easy access to the coastal path either way. The food was also good and being a fussy vegetarian this this is a rarity.
Excellent value and service - can't fault it. We've had many weekends away around the South West and this was one of the best. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We had a see view room - very nice to watch the sun rise. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VuOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portwrinkle
19.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,561 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
8.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
489 reviews
7.6 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
14.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsand Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsand Bay Hotel

Property: Whitsand Bay Hotel
Address: Portwrinkle PL 11 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portwrinkle
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portwrinkle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whitsand Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the rugged Cornish coastline stands the magnificent Whitsand Bay Hotel. An easy 20-minute drive from the busy maritime city of Plymouth, this spectacular venue is steeped in history and tradition. A welcoming, family run 32 bedroom hotel, the Whitsand Bay offers you the perfect setting to enjoy golf, leisure, fine dinning and a retreat to which you can escape from the stresses and strains of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Whitsand Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Whitsand Bay
Whitsand Bay Torpoint
Whitsand Bay Hotel Portwrinkle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing