We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Holiday 2017”
other travelers have booked this property
The Annexe with private garden area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Annexe with private garden area
Views of the farmland Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The Annexe with private garden area
Views of the farmland
Enter a caption for your photo
Lounge with log burner
Well equipped kitchen
large lounge where you can relax
The large kingsized bedroom with some lovely views
The master double bedroom
Kitchen with dining table
Lrrge shower cubicle
Master bathroom with spa bath and shower cubicle
Private garden
Some of the cattle on the farm
Barn
Farm buildings
Some friendly cattle
Lovely views all around
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Large convertable lounge with french doors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bodle Street Green, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Stephen S
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Family Holiday 2017”
Reviewed June 17, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

After staying at Woodlands Farm for our holiday in 2016 it was the obvious place to return for our annual holiday on the south coast in 2017.

Hazel and Chris are so very welcoming and always ensure that the place is ready for our arrival, with fresh eggs from the farms hens and a bottle of wine waiting in the kitchen on our arrival.

The beds were freshly made and clean towels were waiting, meaning all we had to do was unpack our stuff into the massive wardrobes and make ourselves at home.

An amazing location and everything you could possibly need for a home from home made our stay at Woodlands Farm very enjoyable, especially the outdoor kitchen with its built in "man-cooker".

We were able to entertain our family and have a lovely barbecue, with wall-to-wall sunshine and the massive garden making it a roaring success.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Woodlands Farm and will most definitely be back again in 2018 for our annual family holiday in East Sussex.

This place deserves a rating of 10 however for now 5/5 will have to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2017
Thank you for spending the time to do a review on the cottage. It was lovely to see you and your family again this year and so glad you enjoyed another stay. We look forward to seeing you sometime in 2018 and thank you for your lovely comments about Woodlands Farm.

Regards

Hazel & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FellowTra...
1 review
“Gorgeous cottage in a peaceful location”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage was beautifully decorated, has all amenities you could need and is very homely. There is also a lovely garden for kids to play in and country wide views, a beautiful tranquil setting. Chris and Hazel (the owners) were there if we needed anything and gave us some free range eggs from their hens and a bottle of wine on arrival which was a lovely touch. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to do a review of our cottage. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here and would love to see you all again. As you say the garden is a lovely size for the children to run around and may I say they were very well behaved.

Regards

Hazel and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gopes
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage with very peaceful location”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely cottage, ideal for a small family with plenty of room to play around outside / take a stroll. Perfect location for exploring the East Sussex coast and countryside.

Cottage is well equiped, and was clean and tidy when we arrived. Hostly were very friendly and helpful.

Recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Woodlands Farm. We would love to see you all again one day if you decide to come back this way.

Kind Regards

Hazel and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Family holiday 2016”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We regularly visit East Sussex and in particular the Herstmonceux area, so when we discovered this place on the internet it fitted all our criteria for size and location.

When we arrived we were greeted by Hazel and Chris and shown around this very spacious and elegant property.

The spacious open plan downstairs includes a large living room and a diner kitchen. Two large leather recliner settee's complement the living space brilliantly and the mix of old and contemporary has just the right balance. A large flat screen tv adorns the wall with sky tv, so if you want to sit and just relax watching tv you can. This is complemented by a hifi system with radio cassette and CD player, and there is also a DVD player.

The kitchen is well equipped with all modern appliances, a double oven, under counter fridge with freezer compartment, microwave, kettle, toaster and built in washing machine.

Upstairs the 3 bedrooms are all nicely decorated with the master being of a generous size with 2 massive wardrobes giving plenty of storage space. The other 2 bedrooms, 1 single, 1 twin are also well decorated and homely.

The large bathroom has a whirlpool bath, large double shower cubicle, sink and toilet. There is always plenty of hot water so a bath is always an option, without leaving anyone else disappointed.

The outside space is amazing too, with a great brick barbecue which we took advantage of on 2 separate occasions, entertaining our family who live in the local area.

This is a beautiful mixture of vintage and modern property and we can't wait to return again next year to pick up where we left off this year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to review our holiday cottage. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to seeing you again next year. Your comments are very useful to other people thinking of staying here as you have described it very well. Many thanks Hazel and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidineu...
Eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a beuatiful location”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My wife and I had a great relaxing stay at Woodlands Farm for a week in August. The accommodation is very well catered for and there is a lovely garden and patio for sitting out in. We were hoping to use the log burner as the hosts Hazel and Chris had supplied some free logs but it was too warm that we didn't need to so gives us the perfect excuse to return in the winter. It was very well decorated with plenty of space and parking.

Being on a working farm was great to see the cows and chickens and we even were able to sample some free range eggs for breakfast! Thanks to the hosts for a lovely week we will see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the kitchen window!
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Woodlands Farm and for the lovely comments you made. It would be nice to see you again some time and thank you for the time to write a review. Many thanks Hazel and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRoffel
Roderesch, The Netherlands
1 review
“wonderful holiday in Woodlands Farm”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We (family of five) had a wonderful time at Woodlands Farm. Thank you so much, Chris and Hazel! Very welcoming and kind. Your cottage felt like home from home. Nice garden with grass so the children could play ball and spacious patio with large table with parasol and enough chairs (with cushions!) There are lots of things to see and do in the surroundings, like Herstmonceux Castle and garden, Eastbourne with shopping and sea, Seven Sisters coastline not far and National Trust properties all around. We're looking forward to our next stay at Woodlands Farm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view!
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to do a review. It is lovely to know how much you enjoy staying at the farm and as you say there are lots of things to do in the area.

It will be lovely to see you all again in August and are so glad you are so comfortable here and it feels like home from home.

Kind regards

Hazel and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam20181
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing accommodation in a beautiful setting!”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I was on a training course in Crowborough and decided I couldn't bare to leave the children for 5 days so I searched for something big enough for us all!

Hazel responded immediately to my message and we booked straight away.

On arrival (we admittedly did get lost sat nav advised we had arrived at our destination a bit further down the road) we were met my Hazel and Chris who were very welcoming, they showed us round the house which was beautiful and well equipped. There were fresh eggs and tomatoes and wine for us and biscuits for the children. Such a lovely welcome.

The bedrooms were comfortable and Hazel and Chris had erected stair gates, travel cot and high chair for the baby. In our 3 year olds bedroom it had been decorated with owl bed covers and a big teddy bear. So lovely. She didn't want to come home!

It took me around 35 mins to drive to Crowborough each day, whilst the hubby and the children went on many day trips. Beach, Science Museum, Adventure parks and more!

I would not hesitate to recommend the Annexe to anyone, and we would definitely love to return.

Thank you again Hazel and Chris x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2016
Many thanks for your kind comments. Our sole aim is to ensure our guests enjoy their stay so it's always pleasing to hear we've achieved our objective. We're very fortunate to live where we do and enjoy sharing it with others.

You have a lovely well behaved family and it would be nice to meet you again sometime.

Hazel and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing