We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A local pub with good grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hare & Hounds

Hare & Hounds
Ranked #8 of 11 Restaurants in Godstone
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Pub centrally located in Godstone village, Surrey. Wide range of bar snacks and pub grub restaurant food
Westerham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A local pub with good grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Situated right in the middle of Godstone, the Hare and Hounds is a delight. It retains all the atmosphere of a village pub, with a strong local regular customer base, whilst providing a welcoming respite to the weary traveller. Food is locally sourced and freshly cooked. It's on our list to re-visit soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Godstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Proper pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This is the only "proper" pub in Godstone village.
The food is mostly homemade and generous portions are given. The menu has a good range & caters for all tastes. There is also a children's menu. Also the prices are very reasonable.
There are tables outside overlooking the green & in the warmer months cricket can be watched whist supping an ale.
There is a large screen to watch sport, but this is in the upper area & does not affect quiet dining in the restaurant area.
It is child & dog friendly.
I would highly recommend this pub for either a drink or a meal - or both!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KIMCOOKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good old pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Met with some friends here recently. The barman was very friendly, welcoming and looked after us all very well. The menu was reasonably good with a specials board. We all enjoyed our meals and thought they were well cooked and good value. This is how you might remember a good old village pub. Long may it continue.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diam0nd_Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy and welcoming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a quick drink and ended up staying over an hr
They were so friendly and a customer even wrote a recipe down for me for homemade baileys! Pool table and games machine. Its what it should be

Helpful?
Thank Clare1980Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Proper Village Local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I have very recently moved into the village and have been made extremely welcome here. I think the landlord and landlady are lovely and the atmosphere is friendly. In the past I have enjoyed sitting outside and watching whatever is happening on Godstone Green be it the cricket, the summer village fete or the fair in the Spring. The other pubs in the village are fine but, for the genuine article, it has to be The Hare and Hounds.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallynewtonjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hare & Hounds also viewed

 

Been to Hare & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing