We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Question kitchen staff serving food.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Hart

White Hart
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Godstone
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Question kitchen staff serving food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I went to this restaurant on a busy Saturday , the food was good. But one question I have is why are kitchen staff serving food.
I have worked in kitchens and it was against all regulations to leave the Kitchen in Kitchen uniform.
Don't think environmental health would be to impressed.
This is down to the management who were fully aware as when I questioned it the waitress about kitchen staff serving meals they advised the manager tells them to do this..
Otherwise the food was ok but restaurant needs updating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    67
    49
    30
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
171 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Had to complain to get any service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

For a family meal this is a convenient meeting location for us so not the first time we have been there. Food is fine - good range to choose from (important with largish group with different tastes!) and everyone seemed to enjoy their choices. Reasonable value for money (especially with a discount card one of my family has)

However the service was very poor. Drinks order taken for first group to arrive took >30 minutes to arrive even after being chased. Waitress seemed out if her depth - missed out one of the party when taking drinks order and didn't return to see if drinks had arrived and if we were ready to order food. In the end a complaint - and a request for a different person to serve us - to the manager was acted on and we ended up with the brilliant Mollie. From then on nothing was too much trouble and the evening was a lot smoother.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Onlynamefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Basic but good with friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a beefeater so you should know what to expect. It is the usual fare but done well, at a reasonable price and with friendly service. It is a long way from fine dining but so are the prices - good value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cader99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

As always great food excellent service and a fair price. Perfectly cooked steak . I asked for salad and plain potatoes and they were delivered without question .

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula4594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just about right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

A busy Sunday lunchtime and we arrived without a reservation. We were lucky and seated immediately. The place was full and there was a buzz about the building. It was clear that the staff knew a lot of the customers and they must be regulars which we took as a positive. Whilst this is a simple Beefeater restaurant, the staff were busy but effective. Our youngish waitress was very helpful and attentive. The normal Beefeater fare was delivered promptly and was piping hot. A lunchtime meal that did not cost a fortune and "hit the spot"

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Hart also viewed

 

Been to White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing