We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal Kent Hideaway”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Crampton Cottage

Exterior of Crampton Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of Crampton Cottage
Cottage Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Exterior of Crampton Cottage
Cottage
Cottage
Exterior of Crampton House (foreground) The cottage is to the rear of Crampton House.
Twin room. Beds can be zipped to make a double.
Twin room
Twin room
Double room
Landing
Shower
Bathroom
Kitchen
Living room
Living room
Living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Staplehurst, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
walt3r01
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal Kent Hideaway”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just as advertised. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Extremely we'll equipped, even to things like salad servers, toast rack and thermos flask.We would certainly stay here again if we visit this area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact it is so well equipped
Liked least: Tricky parking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2015
Ideal is high praise indeed! Always happy to know we met your requirements. Perhaps we'll see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia L
1 review
“quite and situated in ideal position for exploring kent and sussex and 50mins on train to london”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Excellent well presented accmodation .
Ideal touring spot close to shops sissinghurst castle great to vist hop farms maidstone 15mins away 50 mins to london by train bodium castle leeds castle well catered house everything you need
Close to local shops in staplehurst
Situated behind main house and quite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quite
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2015
Thanks so much for your glowing review. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anngreenw...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great homely base for visiting Kent”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were using this accommodation as a base to visit Sissisinghurst and Leeds Castle it was ideal and we had a great time. Owners were so helpful and obliging. It was like home from home. We improved our reversing skills as the parking is down a lane at the back of the property but if this is a problem there is on street parking at the front. We enjoyed a visit to the Union Windmill at Cranbrook which was manned by enthusiastic volunteers on the Saturday. We had a lovely afternoon in Rye looking in the bric a brac shops and going up the cobbled slope to the church. We had an amazing home made cream tea at Beals Barn Gardens TN5 6HJ under a veranda overlooking Bewl lake, well worth seeking out. It was lovely to be able to have our dog at the property and the owners have a pack of suggested walks from the property which was helpful. Also up the road to Cranbrook there is a layby on the left and a circular walk in the woods which our dog loved. I would thoroughly recommend this property and think it is great value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely comfy clean accommodation
Liked least: Reversing into car parking space but there was convenient on road car parking
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2014
Thank-you so much for your kind review. Most pleased that you had a good time. Perhaps we'll see you again one day. Best regards. John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmine D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Private, comfortable and extremely clean accomodation with great hosts.”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Excellent service. Sally and her husband were always available if needed. On arrival, we were picked up at the train station, a goodwill gesture, which provided ease as we were not knowledgeable of the village. Cottage is situated within easy reach of shops, restaurants, post office, pharmacy and a bank. The local bus runs directly in front of the main house, (cottage located behind the house) and takes you directly to main locations including Maidstone shopping center.

One member of our party, (Josef) had flown in directly from Washington USA, and was particularly impressed. We hope to return to Crompton Cottage on our next break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heated floors, Power shower, Essentials provided.
Liked least: Unable to use my mobile phone due to poor Internet provision in the area overall.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sillypape...
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet area”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Lovely cottage, modern and all you need. Very private and tucked away. There is parking but quite tight if you have a large car. Enjoyed our stay here and would use again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday accommodation”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Lovely cottage, ideally suited for touring Kent. Very clean and comfortable,very well equipped, shared garden with owners, car space for one car. Highly recommended. Not suitable for disabled or older people who have difficulties with stairs or shower in the bath.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped and spotlessly clean
Liked least: No wi fi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HML16
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2018 for a stay in September 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing