We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food in a lovely environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: If you’re looking for a friendly independent pub restaurant in the picturesque Faversham area, then look no further. Local beers, wines & ciders and a choice from the constantly changing selection of unique homemade dishes from our blackboard come as standard in our family-run country pub. Tucked away in an area of outstanding natural beauty between the historical towns of Maidstone, Ashford and Faversham, The Plough inhabits a unique space amongst Kent’s rolling hills and lush farmland. Our unspoilt surroundings in ‘The Garden of England’ create the perfect setting for enjoying the fresh, locally-sourced meals we serve here. Just come and see for yourself.There’s plenty to see and do nearby, and we’re a great stop-off for walkers and cyclists alike. A short drive from Faversham is medieval Leeds Castle, the home of Catherine of Aragon in the sixteenth century, with parts dating back to the early 1100’s. We also enjoy stunning views out to Herne Bay, a popular Victorian seaside town known for its pier, pretty shingle beach and pastel-coloured huts along the seafront. Other local attractions are Farming World in Faversham for a day of family fun, and some of Kent’s leading vineyards for those who are young at heart. Whether you’re looking for somewhere to enjoy a warm and lazy afternoon taking in the stunning views from our gardens or seeking the unbeatable cosiness of an open log fire in the winter, we look forward to welcoming you to The Plough Inn.
Lenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing food in a lovely environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We went to the Plough this weekend and again had the most delicious meal. The menu specialises in local Kent produce and there is a good range of real ales, local lager and even some English wine. It's an eating pub mainly but does also have a nice garden and is situated in beautiful, peaceful countryside. All in all, the Plough is a favourite of ours. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul-in-Lenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Plough Inn. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed you meal with us again and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Marianne & Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    67
    23
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Serves up very good beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were in the area cycling and had checked out pubs in the area. Didn't stay for Sunday lunch as they were only just opening but had a couple of hand pulled beer - very good too.
The food on the menu was very appealing!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Plough Inn. Glad we were at an appropriate stop off point during your cycle ride for refreshments. Hope that next time you might be able to tie it in with a bite of lunch too! See you soon Marianne & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not As Good As It Used To Be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was the first time we had been to The Plough since it changed hands.

We had a reservation for 7:30pm on a Friday evening but on arrival we found we hadn't needed to reserve as it was only about 25% full and remained so throughout the evening.

The concept and style of food on offer was very similar to that under the previous owners but it was not well executed. I don't doubt the chef is good but it felt like this wasn't his choice of menu, and he was cooking things that were not really his style.

A couple of examples, I had whitebait to start with which came with a very nicely balanced tartare sauce but the whitebait was served in a cast iron pot so that it steamed and went soggy instead of remaining crisp. My husband's main course was monkfish which was so dreadfully overcooked it was dry and like rubber. The dessert menu was really disappointing and this is the first time I can ever remember my husband not having a pudding, normally his favourite part of the meal. On the other hand, the crab tian and the confit duck were both good.

This place should have been packed on a Friday evening. I really think it needs to find it's own style. As it is, I would not rush back which is a shame.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FavershamHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank for you taking the time to post a review. It’s disappointing to hear that only one of you enjoyed your meal with us. Whilst we have spoken to you briefly regarding your experience when we called back on several occasions to discuss this further as agreed, we were unable to get hold of you. We are passionate about people’s experiences being positive ones and are disappointed that we did not meet your husband’s expectations. As you can see from the majority of our reviews this is not typical of other people’s experience of the pub. As we have emphasised on previous reviews if something is mentioned at the time we would appreciate the opportunity to turn things around for you during your meal; this is Marianne’s forte with her experience of 15 years in customer service and for which she has even won awards. Kind regards Marianne & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a big group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I had my stag do here the other day (a grown up, non-rowdy one) and the staff couldn't have been more relaxed and helpful. There were 23 of us and they sat us in a separate section, were very patient with people forgetting their orders and just let us get on with it. Food was prompt and excellent and the management were very helpful and flexible in the planning of the whole thing. We also camped in their field, which was great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzrightear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank for you taking the time to review the Plough Inn. It was lovely to be a part of your weekend celebrations and we are pleased that we met your expectations. Looking forward to seeing the wedding pictures next time you are in. Kind regards Marianne & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Superb Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Whilst holidaying in Kent we chose the Plough for a meal because of its great reviews and we were not disappointed. Finding the pub in the picturesque lanes of Kent was the first joy (your sat nav takes you straight there if you put the post code in) then you get a cheery welcome as soon as you walk through the door and the staff achieve just the right balance of service and friendliness. The menu is varied and imaginative with a lovely selection of specials but we chose from the main menu and I can highly recommend the pork which was tender and delicious but the stand out dish for me was the Crab Tian starter, I have rarely enjoyed a starter so much anywhere, another tip try the homemade ice creams and sorbets they are delicious. Superb food, lovely staff, lively friendly atmosphere and all at reasonable prices, the owners have got it just right.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Plough Inn. It was a delight to meet you both and it is lovely to hear again about how much you enjoyed your meal with us. We have received many comments about the Crab Tian since it arrived on the menu, it is going to be a tough one to replace when the time comes! Hope to see you again next time you are in our neck of the woods. Marianne & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

 
Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing