We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Piece of Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Comp Garden

Great Comp Garden
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Platt
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A garden paradise. A hidden gem. Fabulous, folly-filled garden and home to one of the finest collections of Salvias in the country. Great Comp Garden, near Sevenoaks, has built up an enviable reputation over the years as being one of Kent's finest gardens to visit. Come and explore our wonderfully quirky garden showcasing 7 acres of beautiful and rare plants surrounding a 17th century manor house. This hidden gem of a garden is home to an Italian Garden, romantic ruins, enchanting woodland walks and the Old Dairy Tearooms. In Spring this tranquil garden erupts into bloom with numerous Magnolias, Azaleas and Rhododendrons, underplanted with large drifts of Helebores and bulbs while summer brings warmth and extravagance from one of the most comprehensive and exciting collections of Salvias in Europe. Ornamental grasses in great variety punctuate the colourful borders and combine beautifully with the myriad colours of late autumn. The garden is the delightful creation of Roderick and Joy Cameron who moved to Great Comp in 1957. They opened the garden to the public for charity in the early 1960s. The gardens are now run by the Curator William Dyson. This year's programme of special events include: Spring Fling Plant Fair Sunday 13th April 2014 Great Comp Summer Show 9th & 10th August 2014 Autumn Extravaganza Craft Fair 11th & 12th October 2014
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We have visited this little patch of paradise several times over the last few years. There is always plenty to see and the planting is colourful and very well kept. The ground once full of huge blocks of stone has been beautifully landscaped and the stones utilised to create a range of ruins or follies. Refreshments are available in The Old Dairy Tearooms, I had an excellent salad and my husband a panini both generous portions. Excellent cakes available too! The nursery, small but well stocked and we bought another two hardy salvias - we never come home empty handed!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    25
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Coulourful gardens and cute tearoom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

A lovely mixture of wonderful colourful gardens and woodland walks. Interesting 'ruins' or perhaps follies(?) make it fun to walk around. Lots of paths to follow and for once a map that actually works!
Tea room would be worth a visit on it's own (you have to pay for the garden to get to the tea room). Cute but a good cup of tea and the coffee (multi choice machine) wasn't bad either.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RMJ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Secret Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is no Hidcote (awesome), Great Dixter (admirable), or Sissinghurst (overrated), but it is my personal favourite among English gardens. I love its intimacy and the interplay between the flora and the hard landscape, mostly brickwork made to look like a ruined house. I can't say I would recommend it wholeheartedly, but every time I go here, I feel good inside.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TFredWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“lovely afternoon out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

we particularly enjoyed the tea room, very friendly staff and very cute inside. Food was fine, although I'd have preferred to pay slightly more for a proper coffee.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank exHutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Haven of Calm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

A restful garden with beautiful drifts of colour. Meandering paths lead you round the garden giving a feeling of space. It's a plantsman's paradise.

The tea and cake were delicious. There was a lovely selection of crockery which we all found really special. Lunch was also good value for money and very tasty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Comp Garden also viewed

Ightham, Sevenoaks
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 
Penshurst, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Great Comp Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing