We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Garden”
Review of Great Comp Garden

Great Comp Garden
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Platt
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A garden paradise. A hidden gem. Fabulous, folly-filled garden and home to one of the finest collections of Salvias in the country. Great Comp Garden, near Sevenoaks, has built up an enviable reputation over the years as being one of Kent's finest gardens to visit. Come and explore our wonderfully quirky garden showcasing 7 acres of beautiful and rare plants surrounding a 17th century manor house. This hidden gem of a garden is home to an Italian Garden, romantic ruins, enchanting woodland walks and the Old Dairy Tearooms. In Spring this tranquil garden erupts into bloom with numerous Magnolias, Azaleas and Rhododendrons, underplanted with large drifts of Helebores and bulbs while summer brings warmth and extravagance from one of the most comprehensive and exciting collections of Salvias in Europe. Ornamental grasses in great variety punctuate the colourful borders and combine beautifully with the myriad colours of late autumn. The garden is the delightful creation of Roderick and Joy Cameron who moved to Great Comp in 1957. They opened the garden to the public for charity in the early 1960s. The gardens are now run by the Curator William Dyson. This year's programme of special events include: Spring Fling Plant Fair Sunday 13th April 2014 Great Comp Summer Show 9th & 10th August 2014 Autumn Extravaganza Craft Fair 11th & 12th October 2014
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is no Hidcote (awesome), Great Dixter (admirable), or Sissinghurst (overrated), but it is my personal favourite among English gardens. I love its intimacy and the interplay between the flora and the hard landscape, mostly brickwork made to look like a ruined house. I can't say I would recommend it wholeheartedly, but every time I go here, I feel good inside.

Thank TFredWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 88 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

we particularly enjoyed the tea room, very friendly staff and very cute inside. Food was fine, although I'd have preferred to pay slightly more for a proper coffee.

Thank exHutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

A restful garden with beautiful drifts of colour. Meandering paths lead you round the garden giving a feeling of space. It's a plantsman's paradise.

The tea and cake were delicious. There was a lovely selection of crockery which we all found really special. Lunch was also good value for money and very tasty.

Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Visited Great Comp on a lovely May day, this garden is a mini paradise, beautiful natural looking borders, not too regimented, but interwoven with buttercups and bluebells, fabulous woodland walks full of colour from the azaleas and rhododendrons and late magnolias, birdsong and fantastic tree planting, water feature and great café - what more could you want!

Thank Rosco1613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We have been visiting this garden for 20 years and our recent Easter Monday visit was the best we 've seen it. It was well maintained and weeded and the beds looked planned rather than self seeded. The food, a sandwich for lunch was fine and nice to be able to eat outside. the plants, follies and the pathways leading you to some interesting corners all make this garden a must see.

Thank Plattypuss52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Comp Garden also viewed

Ightham, Sevenoaks
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Great Comp Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing