We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #1 of 2 Doddington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stayed at the Old Vicarage last Saturday with my wife and two good friends of ours. The owners, Nick and Claire, were very hospitable and helpful. The Old Vicarage has a worm atmosphere, spacious and very clean. The breakfast was of the highest standard and the seating area was very relaxing, overlooking the green countryside. I am looking forward to stay there again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George_GD_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 132 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

The best breakfast in the world, exceptional high standards of cleanliness.

Very well equiped

Room Tip: all rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilko50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed at the Old Vicarage early this month with my Mother.
Our host's Claire and Nick were wonderfull and made us feel welcome into their home. Our room was perfect and beautifull views of the gardens and countryside .
The breakfast was superb and the best I have ever had in a B & B.
We sat at a table were we could see the lovely gardens.
I would highly recommend the Old Vicarge .
Thank You Claire and Nick

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The Old Vicarage is excellent. The rooms are big, comfortable and airy. The owners are friendly and couldn't have been more helpful and the breakfast of the highest quality. The view from the dining room is over a small valley and from the front the church just across the road.

The Old Vicarage is fairly isolated and a reasonable walk from the villages of Doddington and Newnham down unlit lanes, so it is very very peaceful and tranquil - but remember to take a torch!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orreryBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We just returned from a trip to UK: stayed first in 4-star hotel in London, and then for 2 nights in Old Vicarage in Kent --and the latter was definately the more memorable and lovely of the two. Clair & Nick were very friendly and helpful throughout the stay, and their three dogs (apparently one added since previous reviews!) were equally welcoming.
Our party consisted of my parents, my husband & I, and Clair suggested the Coach House for us. This was a brilliant choice, as there are two bedrooms on opposite ends of the building, each with its own spacious bathroom, and a shared kitchen and sitting room in the middle. The place was spotlessly clean and well equipped (e.g. washer, hair dryers, cable TV, coffee, tea & milk in the fridge, lovely fluffy big towels, bath robes, state-of-the-art shower cabinets etc etc). The views from the Coach House do not match those from the Main House bedrooms (that I've seen in pictures) but the privacy and comfort make up for that.
We would warmly recommend the Old Vicarage for anyone looking for a wonderful B&B, and its Coach House for any company of friends, two couples, or perhaps a family who prefer the prefer the "apartemento" type freedom and privacy. The Coach House is right next to the main building, so that the walk to breakfast is less than two minutes.

Room Tip: Coach House if you travel in a small group
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaikkuT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed here for a 1 night break and couldn't have found a better place if we'd searched for a year. The hosts (including the dogs!!) are so welcoming you feel at home the minute you walk through the door, the location and view are out of this world and the rooms large and comfortable.
Breakfast was wonderful, lots of delicious fresh fruit as well as cereal, toast and a lovely cooked breakfast, all ate looking out over the garden and valley beyond.
I honestly could not fault a thing and cannot recommend highly enough, the best B&B we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephw72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I have just returned from a wonderful two night stay with my partner, at The Old Vicarage, Doddington. I chose this lovely guest house because (a) it had great reviews on Trip Advisor and (b) it is a 3 minute walk to The Hawking Centre at Doddington Place where I had also booked a Falconry Insight day on the Saturday.

I was not in the least bit disappointed. The hosts, Claire & Nick were really friendly and made us very welcome indeed. Their website is very informative and accurately represent the rooms, in fact the photos probably don't do the place justice. We stayed in The Church Room, which was immaculate, spacious, comfortable and quiet. It had an en-suite shower room which was again, spotless and the shower itself powerful and very large.

Breakfast was to die for, a work of art and served in their very grand dining room with stunning views. The attention to detail was superb.

The location is picturesque and peaceful. That being said, there is plenty to do locally and we were spoilt for choice in terms of local eatery's and drinking holes which are either a 10 minute walk or a few minutes drive away. We ate at the George Inn, Newnham and also The Red Lion at Milstead, both recommended on the Old Vicarage website. We were pleased with our choices and wish we were able to stay longer to try out some of their other recommendations!

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending The Old Vicarage and suggest you also combine it with the fantastic Falconry Experience Day at Doddington Place for a truly memorable stay.

My partner and I felt truly pampered indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fea3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: Church Lane, Doddington ME9 0BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Doddington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Doddington
Price Range: $120 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Vicarage 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vicarage provides high quality bed and breakfast accommodation and is located on the edge of the village of Doddington in a designated area of outstanding natural beauty on the North Downs. The Grade II listed property has been recently renovated to a high modern standard, while retaining core period features which date back to 1656. Locally sourced produce is used for our full English breakfast whenever available. Other dietary options can be catered for on request. Children over the age of three are welcome and we have a non-smoking policy. Our two golden retrievers may be on hand to welcome you! Ample off road parking for all our guests. The Coach House is available on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing