We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Straightforward pub grub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chequers Inn

The Chequers Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Doddington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A listed coaching inn set in the heart of the Kent countryside. The Chequers oozes history and charm with its oak timbers, mullion windows and inglenook fireplace. A fine selection of real ales and wines. The home cooked food is excellent, locally sourced and good value for money. There is a large outside seating area, with a family garden to the rear. The Chequers has recently been refurbished and we look forward to welcoming you. Open: Monday 5-11. (No food) Tue-fri 12-3 5-11(Food 12-2.30 and 6-9) Saturday 12-11 (Food until 9) Sunday. 12-8 (Food until 6)
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Straightforward pub grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Lovely little old pub with no airs and graces. Two bars. One for darts, bar billiards etc and one, with restaurant area attached, for conversation and a log fire. Beer garden. Well kept Shepherd Neame beer. Freshly cooked good pub grub often with excellent local produce. Well behaved children and dogs appear to be welcome.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josie G, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. It's exactly that. Simple, honest good pub grub. Appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    30
    2
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good value pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

A nice village pub with friendly bar staff and good service. Food was simple but tasty and very good value.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Polkadotdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josie G, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Once again, a happy customer. Thanks so much for taking to time to post a review it means a lot to us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, Great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We visited Doddington last week for a camping holiday and popped into the Chequers inn several times. We always recieved a lovely welcome and the staff were very friendly (as was Polly the pub dog!). We ate in there a couple of times and the food was really good (Steak and kidney pudding was great!!). There is a swing and slide set in the nice garden which the children loved playing on and one evening one of the bar staff (who wasn't even working) played with the children while we ate our food (now THAT's service!!!) Will definately come back again and would recommend the Chequers Inn to anyone visiting the area!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Woollywally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josie G, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks for your lovely comments. We do try. Have shared your review with the staff, our customers really do matter to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice Food, Nice Beer, Nice People!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed in the local area for four nights and went to the Chequers twice for food.
The staff were great and created a very friendly atmosphere.
I cant remeber the name of the beer I drank (a good sign?) but it was cracking!
The food was good value home cooked pub grub!
We will be going back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ozzyreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“Great British Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Have just spent 2 weeks staying in Doddington and regularly visited the Chequers Inn. I have so enjoyed the welcome from Josie and others. The stories, the laughs, the drink and great food....recommend the ham, eggs and chips!!!

Thanks for the warm welcome. I'll be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chequers Inn also viewed

 
Stalisfield, Faversham
 

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing