We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“second time here to Beech Tree Cottage coming back again soon!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wolfen Mill Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wolfen Mill Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
west sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“second time here to Beech Tree Cottage coming back again soon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is our second time staying at Beech Tree Cottage, with 4 adults and 2 children. A welcoming tray of teas and coffees and biscuits on our arrival- much needed! Lovely fluffy bathrobes and linen. Beautiful scenery with the BBQ used most nights. Very peaceful and very relaxing quiet environment even with children who were so excited about returning!. Fantastic kitchen with all that you could need including microwave and dishwasher, with tablets included!, bathrooms with lovely toiletries and loads of hot water, hairdryers to each bedroom and a welcoming chocolate too!. A relaxing tranquil place with a gorgeous sun dappled lake, easy access to local village. We didn't want to come home, our daughters were very sad to leave Beech Tree Cottage!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    13
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
73
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had a lovely two night break here and am really struggling to find anything to complain about. Lovely kitchen and living area, nice bedroom and a wonderful bathroom. Very much enjoyed the welcome pack with walks and local information (recommend The Sun Inn, great food)

Overall, it was very clean, modern and comfortable, who can complain about that??

Date of travel was end of June and please know that the pics were taken just as we were getting ready to leave, not as we arrived!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marky_P87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

An amazing place.
Beautiful area, fantastic scenery and hotel quality rooms but with all the joys of self catering.
I can't believe how well equipped our little cottage was, toiletries, robes, fluffy towels even a little chocolate on the bed.
Even little things like dishwasher tablets and a first aid kit had been thought of. There was a folder full of useful local information, walks, drives, days out, pubs and even takeaways that would deliver.
It was so well situated for a holiday, we seemed to be only an hour tops from everywhere.
I would visit again in a heart beat and will be telling all ky friends and family to go.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 20Hotellover20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Had a mid-week visit to Wolfen Mill and loved the accommodation (v romantic). Everything you need for your stay is provided (including walks of varying lengths and difficulty straight from the mill).

The nearby village of Chipping and whole Trough area were just very special somehow... Quite unexpected how unspoilt / remote the area felt.

Would definitely recommend this to people who like beautiful places, good local ale (Bowland Gold) and great places to eat and explore. Enjoy...

And if Wolfen Mill is anything to go by, we can't wait to try the owners' other property, Staffield Hall Country Retreats, in the Eden Valley (Cumbria), just outside the Lake District.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_yes_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This place is a real 'retreat' !
It's remotely located in a valley about one mile outside the village of Chipping. Not much seems to go on in the local village but the locals are very friendly and accommodating. If you enjoy peace, solitude, beautuful scenery and walking you do not get better than this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoltanbobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

it's a nice place, however the internet is almost unusable - which may be fine for most people, but I wanted to get some work done whilst I was there. Another bad point is lack of clean towels - one each for the week, I think you're expected to either bring your own, or wash them yourself.
And the 50 quid charge for cleaning will ensure that you spend your last day cleaning instead of relaxing. All in all It's a pretty place, but the basic services are all worse than you will have in your own home, which makes for a less relaxing break than it otherwise would be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfenmill, Owner at Wolfen Mill Cottages, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We're really sorry for any inconvenience about the internet and feel as though this is the main cause for your comments about us. However this matter was completely out of our hands at the time but has continued to work once more without trouble. Its a free service we provide but technology can be fickle.

We provided two luxury thick towels per guest and during your stay replaced we one set which you ruined with hair dye. We did not charge £50 for cleaning and never have done to date. Our beautiful accommodation is Five Star accredited, to get this we have to match high standards of both service and facilites with HD LCD TVs, DVD players,granite topped kitchen, smeg appliances and other mod cons I'm not sure how much more we could offer for a home from home experience.

We're really pleased that you found Wolfen Mill a nice place to stay and hope to see your family return again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dukinfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was looking for somewhere to stay for a long weekend and was initially looking in the Lake District - we wanted somewhere where we could take our dog. It was my husband that found us the deal at Wolfen Mill on Trip Advisor. It sounded perfect, "a secret hideaway" in a beautiful part of the country, a cosy comfortable cottage that allows dogs - how could we go wrong !!!
We are regulars to the Forest of Bowland however we have never come across Wolfen Mill before, we consider this our loss. We found the place easily following the directions on the website, we also used our satnav and it got us there without any issues or getting lost. Our first impression - we were blown away and it was just how we imagined it to be.We had received an email a couple of days before we arrived with the codes that would allow us access to our cottage - we had booked "Millers Den". We found our cottage to be very clean, cosy, comfortable, warm - what more can we say. The kitchen "area" was well stocked with the basis utensils/pots/plates/pans etc - lovely units with marble tops. The living area has a comfortable sofa and again was very cosy. The bedroom was large with ample storage - the bed was even larger and was comfortable and the units first class and very fitting with the whole style of the cottage. The bathroom was modern, clean and had quality fitments also. Overall , I would agree this cottage was worthy of the 5 stars ***** it advertised - we cannot wait until for our next visit which will be very soon.

Room Tip: Millers Den is perfect !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kikimac31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping
1.9 mi away
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chipping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
8.3 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre
8.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
7.3 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolfen Mill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfen Mill Cottages

Property: Wolfen Mill Cottages
Address: Wolfen Mill Cottage Fishponds Lane, Chipping PR3 2GR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chipping
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chipping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wolfen Mill Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wolfen Mill Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing