We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just the simple things... and they were lacking.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Paid for a 3 night stay, could have gone abroad for the price but wanted something a little special and was happy to pay.

Staff were lovely but at times could be a bit... rare.

Bread with breakfast was advertised as freshly baked in the on-site bakery every morning. In that case how did we get mouldy bread? Brought it to the staff's attention but an apology wasn't forthcoming until the evening and wasn't reflected in the bill. Absolutely no excuse!

Only got biscuits with the tea and coffee in the room on the first night, was told it wasn't policy to refresh daily. Same for hot chocolate. How tight!?
A bottle of house wine was a ridiculous £21 a bottle.
Yet there were lots of magazines lying around showing how rich the owner is and how many classic cars she owns. Almost felt like rubbing your nose in it.

Room was amazing and beautiful.

Just felt a couple of things were slightly lacking. Wrote to hotel but 4 weeks on no reply forthcoming. Won't be booking for the wedding. :(

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris0241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 459 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding. Our twin levelled room was ace. Priced a bit more than we might normally pay? The food was great:- tomato soup tasted of...tomatoes! The pork & the veg was good, really good. I didn't want the pudding, but couldn't even buy a cheese option! The Chardonnay was good & too prevalent. Would go again, staff nice, not over fussy. The breakfast next day...ace.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank SirBillTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed for 1 night in late July as part of a Travelzoo offer (before the offer expired) - we opted to upgrade our room to a luxury suite - the ultimate decision was a garden view room (more later)

The hotel is situated in a lovely unspoilt rural area - plenty of parking - check in was fine - and we went to the room on the first floor ( ? room 11 - pennine suite/room) - there is a lift fortunately, as carrying a full size case up the stairs could be tricky

first impressions, clean, bright, and airy, a room layout like no other we've ever stayed in (except in Canada) - king size bed and ensuite bathroom on the 'ground' level and steep stairs to the next level where the TV and sofa and single bed were located (they seem steeper than the brochure shows) - if you have any mobility problems or young children - take care, the stairs are steep and feel quite high - no biscuits with the tea and coffee making facilities (apparently it isn't the policy my wife was told) - which seemed a tad cheap given the room prices - reception when requested were more than happy to provide some biscuits (shortbread) and fresh milk (can't stand UHT for tea)

the view was slightly disappointing in that it was a garden view but over the significant lead flashing covering I think the restaurant - not quite what I was expecting with a 'garden view room'

My wife (a keen gardener) set off to explore the gardens and apparently the main garden area was very floral and colourful - an excellent setting for a quiet drink or wedding etc in a beautiful setting - she explored further (as is her wont) and found other interesting gardening areas and the helicopter landing pad (if you need one)

And so off to dinner - the usual pre dinner drink and order (the friendliest staff person was the bartender) before being taken through to the restaurant - I don't know if it was that we were on the Travelzoo offer but we were seated at the far right of the restaurant the end table just before the doors the serving staff were using - slightly distracting with the constant serving traffic and I would say the worst table at that sitting

the food was ok and that was for both of us (a vegequarian and a meat eater) - we were expecting a slightly higher standard (based on other reviews but perhaps it was an off night) - serving staff were pleasant, service was fine-ish

What I did find unacceptable was that as the diners finished around us - the serving staff instead of just clearing the tables - set them up for breakfast service (never had that in a restaurant) - if it had been for later diners it would be more than acceptable but it wasn't - it makes it quicker for them but it just not the done practice

Comfortable bed, great bathroom - shower was fine - and one of my wife's favourite bathrobes

Breakfast was very good - buffet service, plenty of choice - no allocated tables so we managed to get one by the window - very pleasant outlook - very friendly, pleasant and efficient staff and great bread for toast

No mobile phone signal (vodafone), free wifi available which worked fine

My / our impression is that it is a hotel that caters for a client base of returning guests and functions - I just felt slightly if you were a regular you may have an overall better experience

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avro10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

As I have mentioned before, this is our family go to for all occasions for 25 years!. We were here on a gorgeous day in July and had a lovely meal. The consistency is wonderful. The duck was delicious!
We had our coffee/ tea outside and were left to sit and enjoy for as long as we wanted.
It is expensive, but the food, and atmosphere and service are worth it. Looking forward to our next trip!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We went here to eat in the Restaurant for a Birthday celebration. From start to finish the entire evening was EXCELLENT. The staff were attentive and very well trained. As for the food, each course (and we had 3- something we never do normally) was cooked to perfection. If you want a place to go for a special treat or celebration, then this is the spot. Keep up the good work. We'll be back.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Bosco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. Situated in Bowland, amidst beautiful gently rolling country, and having a wonderfully landscaped garden, this hotel is a great peaceful haven for a holiday. The owner has obviously made this hotel a labour of love. She runs a tight ship and everything is organized to the last detail. She is to be seen actively helping out in serving and taking orders, which makes for the essential personal touch an owner should have with the guests. The staff are friendly and attentive, the food is excellent and the rooms very well appointed with comfortable beds and modern bathroom; ours had an iron +board built-in. Rooms overlooking the garden are best. Attention to detail is everywhere - for example many hotels merely pile up cold plates for breakfast. Not here - there is a plate warmer to ensure your food remains hot. Selection at breakfast is excellent, the dinner menu excels and the wine list is comprehensive. The hotel concentrates strongly on weddings, so weekends are more difficult to book. One suggestion from a "wet shaver". The room we had had no light over the bathroom mirror so a bit of imaginative shaving had to take place. Otherwise, a great experience, to be repeated.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thewheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Our daughter got married at the Gibbon Bridge Hotel yesterday. The venue was booked for the whole day and evening with members of family and friends staying there. I would like to say a big "thank you" to the owner and also all the members of staff who made it perfect. I would highly recommend Gibbon Bridge our day could not have been happier. Although the sun didn't shine it did not ruin the day. Our daughter married in the orangery. The reception food was exceptional and evening was just as good. The garden and surrounding area is stunning. ALL members of staff were attentive and helpful. ALL rooms I must say were of the best standard and decor as you would expect to be. THANK YOU SO MUCH !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping
11.4 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
791 reviews
6.4 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,121 reviews
8.2 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#4 of 15 in Preston
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
249 reviews
7.8 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibbon Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibbon Bridge Hotel

Address: Green Lane | Forest of Bowland, Chipping PR3 2TQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chipping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipping
Price Range: $155 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gibbon Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star award winning country hotel with beautiful gardens set amongst the rolling fells and farmland of the Ribble Valley. Breakfast is included within the price and there is ample secure car parking. The restaurant provides fresh locally sourced dishes daily and is one of Lancashire's premier wedding venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gibbon Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibbon Bridge Preston
Hotel Gibbon Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing