We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipping
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed in a Junior Suite this weekend. Hotel immaculately clean and location superb for scenery, walking etc.

Ate in restaurant and food very good but not terribly good value, but you are paying a premium for eating and staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComaGranFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    75
    39
    22
    20
See reviews for
114
191
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a very well run hotel and restaurant in a beautiful setting in the fells of the Ribble Valley,in Lancashire. Anyone from down South stay here to learn that it is not all grim up north, it isnt quite as nice as the Cotswolds but runs it a good second.
Whilst pricey , it is quality , superb food , wine and even real ale. The post wedding champagne taken in the lovely grounds was a delight.
But it is definately, run to a set of rules, the bar shuts at 12 and it is clear you are expected to go to bed straight away. I bought real ale beer at the restaurant bar as it wasnt available in the wedding party room , but I wasnt allowed to carry it myself from one room to another, when I said it wasnt necessary to trouble someone to act as my porter, I was told in no uncertain terms it was not allowed for guests to carry drinks from one room to another .
The bedrooms had an upstairs lounge, and breakfast was lovely . Fabulous place, a bit pricey but worth it if you want a bit more for your money.
Owners please relax a bit and realise some people want to have fun, not everyone turns into a hotel monster after midnight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redroserambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hotel - clean, good quality furnishing, fixtures and fittings. The location is good for exploring the beautiful Trough of Bowland
Room - large, clean and comfortable with tasty biscuits, good hairdryer and comfy bed. The shower was a bit drippy and towels felt a bit old.
Staff - friendly, warm and helpful - their uniforms were a bit washed out
Food - just ok / husband thought dinner was very good
Wine - good selection
Gardens/grounds - well maintained and interesting to wander around

It has all the ingredients of a really good place to stay, but it lacked some magic essence.

The hotel has no soul - it was just too bright and it felt very geared up to being a residential home.

Some dimmer switches could have created pools of intimacy, but it was full on. Chairs were positioned all around the periphery of the lounge, so people in groups couldn't get comfy. That sounds a bit mean, It just lacked atmosphere.

During dinner there was a piano player who was foreground rather than background music - even when we moved it was still very much in the forefront.

Breakfast was chaos. There was a buffet, but it kept running out of food so people were hovering around with half empty plates, then being served at their table with an egg or some ingredient whilst others were stood about with half empty cooling congealing plates. Table service would have been the answer. It felt like this was the first time they had ever done breakfast, which I'm sure was not the case.

The staff were very nice, polite and helpful. If you're a member of a wedding party, then it would be fine, but we weren't

Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms will be of equal quality. Although my husband states that the mark of a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We, my wife and I and my 90 year old mother, have stayed regularly at over the years at The Gibbon Bridge. Yet again it was excellent, understated but really comfortable and superb service. There can be very few places that maintain such high standards over such a prolonged period.

Everything was spotlessly clean and well presented and of course the location in the middle of glorious countryside is marvellous.

We stayed one night and had dinner, breakfast, and Sunday lunch. Dinner was pretty well faultless - on my subjective scoring system I gave it 9.75 out of 10 - and probably only knocked off a quarter point because perfection isn't attainable on this earth! The meal included for me wild duck and for my wife the vegetarian option of lightly spiced potato cakes, both superb. My apple pie was mainly apple and the pastry lovely. Also, the home made bread on the table at the start of the meal is gorgeous. (I'm now running out of my small stock of adjectives!)

Our only slight quibble is with the breakfasts, where the hot food comes in hot plates. But the ingredients are top quality and the plates are replenished frequently. And there is a good selection of fresh fruit and home made jams.

The locally brewed cask Chipping Steamer beer was kept in perfect condition.

Overall, a really relaxing and

Room Tip: We prefer a room in the main block, overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BassettHound33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I have been visiting the Gibbon Bridge as our weekend hideaway for many years. Our most recent trip was to one of their annual autumn wine tasting evenings. We had been twice before and knew that the format was very informal, friendly and no expectation to buy. The evening is hosted by Adrian from Tanner's in Shrewsbury who supplies the hotel with their wines and his knowledge, wit and relaxed manner set the tone for the evening. Each course of the meal is accompanied by a pair of contrasting wines to try. By the end of the evening you'll have consumed a prodigious quantity of top quality wine!

The restaurant focuses on home produced and locally sourced products presented simply. In ten years we are yet to have a disappointing meal although some might consider the menu a little conservative compared to some more fashionable establishments. Excellent local cheeses, home baked bread and home made chutneys all add to the details that make for delicious dining. Breakfast is a self service affair and is up to the same standard of the formal restaurant dining. Homemade marmalade and jams accompany the bread and the classic English breakfast is superb (being a Lancashire hotel, the black pudding is delicious). The only slight gripe from me is that the coffee is filter coffee (it's very nice) but I prefer an espresso first thing.

We stayed in a room in the annexe (added to the hotel a few years after it started). These rooms are huge, split level affairs, with superb beds and and large bathrooms. They are clean and very quiet but are starting to feel a little tired and dated.

The outstanding feature of the Gibbon Bridge is the setting. It is situated in the heart of the extremely picturesque Trough of Bolton about a mile from Chipping, a lovely stone Lancashire village. Light pollution and traffic are minimal so makes a superb hideaway for a romantic break. The gardens surrounding the hotel are stunning and so it's no surprise that the hotel is a very popular wedding venue. We tend to prefer to visit in the autumn when the gardens and trees are resplendent in their autumn glory, but spring is also a great time to visit as they always have a great bulb display.

We will keep going back to the Gibbon Bridge as we always enjoy dining here. The hotel does need a little modernisation, no wifi in the annexe (there is in the main building) might be an issue for some and the rooms could do with a little modern designer makeover, however it is one of the most relaxing escapes from the 21st Century that you could possible expect to find and so perhaps a night or two of no wifi or mobile phone signal is a price worth paying.

Room Tip: The rooms in the old part of the hotel are smaller but have more character than those in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I and my wife recently celebrated our wedding anniversary at this beautifully appointed hotel.Upon trying to book online it seemed it was fully booked but as it had been highly recommended to me by a reliable friend,i contacted them by phone and the lady on reception was very helpful and friendly and rang me back promptly offering me a selection of rooms and suites,one of which was the"Staple Oak" bridal suite,which sounded befitting of our special occasion.We were not dissapointed as it was absolutely superb down to every last detail.It was like having the use of a penthouse apartment with it's own private garden and was "pristine" from top to bottom.The bar area with cosy log fire and comfy seating,soft music,drinks and delicious a fresh sandwiches followed by a peaceful hour spent in the splendidly mature gardens which are "pure romance" and utterly picturesque.The evening meal in the restaraunt was served by helpful but not intrusive staff...was piping hot and refreshingly traditional British fare and plenty of it..... at a very reasonable price.The breakfast was excellent and the entire hotel and grounds down to every last detail such as the monogrammed carpets,decor and fresh linen napkins are of impeccably good taste and a credit and testament to the mother and daughter who must have been "inspired" to create such a fantastic haven amidst this lovely part of rural Lancashire.Anybody wishing to find the ideal wedding venue or special occasion should look no further than the Gibbon Bridge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bescoby23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I visited this wonderful place for my nephews wedding yesterday and from the moment we arrived to moment we left today our stay was absolutely outstanding.
The Gibbon Bridge rooms was out of this world (especially the whirlpool bath )oh what a joy when you have enjoyed the night before.
The staff was pleasent,attentive and overall 5 star service the food was very good and well presented, all in all was value for money.
Will definately be staying again in the future.

Room Tip: What ever room you are in you will enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping
6.4 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,048 reviews
7.8 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
11.4 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
629 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibbon Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibbon Bridge Hotel

Property: Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Address: Green Lane | Forest of Bowland, Chipping PR3 2TQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chipping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gibbon Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star award winning country hotel with beautiful gardens set amongst the rolling fells and farmland of the Ribble Valley. Breakfast is included within the price and there is ample secure car parking. The restaurant provides fresh locally sourced dishes daily and is one of Lancashire's premier wedding venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Gibbon Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibbon Bridge Preston
Hotel Gibbon Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing