We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gibbon Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipping
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We have been coming to The Gibbon Bridge Hotel as a couple for short breaks for a number of years to celebrate anniversaries or birthdays. It is a very special and unique place which can only be put down to Janet Simpson's daily personal involvement and her desire to ensure that all her guests have a special time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arran98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    69
    38
    22
    19
See reviews for
104
183
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed one night at the Gibbon Bridge. Our room was large and well appointed. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant and although we arrived late, wet and muddy we were made very welcome. The gardens were beautiful and we wished we could have spent more time there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weedkiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

we attended the wedding of our nephew in August & I must say it was absolutely Fabulous, the setting for the happy couple was beautiful,the grounds around the hotel were lovely, the food was excellent & the room we were stayed in was beautiful all in all a fantastic day for a fantastic couple Keeley looked stunning,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011


I have been to many hotel weddings and even a wedding in a lovely castle but this was by far the best venue I have ever been to. Everything about it was wonderful and even the weather (after being totally horrendous earlier in the day) behaved long enough for the wedding service to take place in and around the bandstand. The setting around the bandstand is gorgeous and perfect in every way for the purpose. Celebratory drinks were served outside to everyone after the service whilst the photographs were being taken - a great idea I think. Afterwards we went up to the wedding breakfast in the orangery and when you walked into the room it was stunning to say the least - beautifully laid tables with gorgeous flower arrangements and sparkling glasses, cutlery etc it was perfect as was the food. After the meal and speeches the tables were cleared and the transition to the evening reception was seamless - again all done very professionally. Later on an evening buffet was served again with excellent food. The staff were all really nice and couldn't do enough for you. We stayed overnight and the room was exceptional with a huge bedroom and bathroom with a wet room all spotlessly clean. If you are reading these reviews and trying to decide wether to use Gibbon Bridge as your wedding venue - then I would say - don't hesitate! As I'm sure you and your guests will have a wonderful time - we did!!! Everything was done so professionally from start to finish and the setting is absolutely perfect for a stunning wedding - well done and many thanks to all concerned at Gibbon Bridge!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank verywelltravelled58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greater manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We went to a family wedding at Gibbon Bridge recently, never having been there before, we were delighted at our first glimpse of the hotel.
After driving through the beautiful floral entrance,there was ample car parking facilities for all the guests.
The reception was easy to find, and the receptionist was very welcoming, and had our room cards and directions sorted efficiently.
We were delighted with the decor, space and cleanliness of the room.
Everyone met in the lounge bar for a pre wedding drink, the weather was kind, so the wedding was held in the bandstand. I find it hard to explain how fabulous this was, the grounds were a perfect backdrop to our beautiful bride, It was like a film set.
After the ceremony ,drinks, and photo's, the guests were escorted into the banqueting hall,it was breathtaking, every table looked beautiful.
After welcoming the bride and groom, the banquet began, the service was excellent and the food was brilliant, everyone on our table enjoyed every course, the wine was delicious, served chilled, and plenty of it .
We retired to our room to prepare for the evenings entertainment, again the service and courtesy from the staff was exceptional, the evening buffet was excellent.
After a very good sleep in our lovely room, we breakfasted in the same room as the wedding, that again was faultless,lovely service with a smile.
This was a very special day for the bride and groom, family and friends and will never be forgotten.
We are planning to go for lunch there in the very near future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank winifred b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

The hotel was a wonderful place for a weding, the gardens and the bandstand provided a beautiful backdrop for the ceremony itself and this alone made the day memorable, but top this off with the fantastic food, beautiful decor and excellent service, I think this is perhaps the best wedding of the year, move aside Kate and Will as you've been upstaged. The rooms were lovely and good value for money and the breakfast the day after was brilliant as well. All in all we had a wonderful weekend here and think that it is the start of a wonderful marriage!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomBlackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

What a fantastic venue Gibbon Bridge turned out to be for our sons wedding day! The beautifull gardens and countryside setting was lovely. The bandstand made it so special and a little different for the happy couple and guests. The hotel, food, rooms and staff were absolutely excellent (faultless). All our guests seem to love it as much as us and we would recmmend it highlyto everyone !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping
6.4 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
11.4 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
18.8 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 11 in Morecambe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
13.1 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibbon Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibbon Bridge Hotel

Property: Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Address: Green Lane | Forest of Bowland, Chipping PR3 2TQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chipping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gibbon Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star award winning country hotel with beautiful gardens set amongst the rolling fells and farmland of the Ribble Valley. Breakfast is included within the price and there is ample secure car parking. The restaurant provides fresh locally sourced dishes daily and is one of Lancashire's premier wedding venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Gibbon Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibbon Bridge Preston
Hotel Gibbon Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing